Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'16 | R2 | Sat | SOU 48-6 NEW | ANZ

R2: Rabbitohs v Knights

Pete Cash

Yep, complete coincidence that you can sign players since Ricky managed to manufacture some TPAs.

I'm sure that has nothing to do with it, it's just that early 20s blokes want to live in Canberra.

People hate on Stuart but he has made the raiders able to somewhat compete. We have had a lot of knockbacks though.

Like signing Hodgson was an inspired move after Ennis knocked us back. Stuart has mostly signed players on the outer or unknowns. Paulo is probably the first time we've signed a player an nrl team wanted to keep. Maybe tapine but you can do that with youngsters just by bidding more.

macavity

That explains some loss of quality in attack. But it doesn't explain him consistently not putting in enough effort in defense.

He has always had terrible positioning in defence, difference being he used to be quick enough to make up for it sometimes, instead of never.

eagles4eva

Not missing much its seems... 7-1 penalty count & 62% possession... Knights must be gifting this one to the bunnies

Really feel for knights fans, a lot of us have been there. Just can't think of any positives for them. I just looked at their team and I reckon there's only 4 of their 17 who other clubs would think of signing.

Pete Cash

That's a recent thing though. Wasn't long ago we were having to pay overs to keep our guys as well, which locked us out of the market. I think we've figured out the TPA rorts as well, which the Knights cant do as the NRL control them.

No I agree but the best signings Stuart has made was Hodgson from England, Austin on the outer at tigers and sezer after DCE signed for the titans.

It's not necessarily about going after big names I guess.

The system is a complete joke mind

macavity

People hate on Stuart but he has made the raiders able to somewhat compete. We have had a lot of knockbacks though.

Like signing Hodgson was an inspired move after Ennis knocked us back. Stuart has mostly signed players on the outer or unknowns. Paulo is probably the first time we've signed a player an nrl team wanted to keep. Maybe tapine but you can do that with youngsters just by bidding more.

Sezer, Tapine, Leilua, Paulo... And then keeping players that would have been in demand.

I would strongly suggest that Canberra are now leveraging their leagues clubs the way the Roosters, Eels and to a lesser extent Sharks do. See a theme there?

Pete Cash

Sezer, Tapine, Leilua, Paulo... And then keeping players that would have been in demand.

I would strongly suggest that Canberra are now leveraging their leagues clubs the way the Roosters, Eels and to a lesser extent Sharks do. See a theme there?

You guys wanted to get rid of BJ you were hardly trying to keep him. He was obese and unmotivated so I don't blame you.

Mate I do agree the system is unfair. It's a farce frankly. If the nrl did the right thing and published all registered tpas by clubs we could see what was going on.

macavity

Really feel for knights fans, a lot of us have been there. Just can't think of any positives for them. I just looked at their team and I reckon there's only 4 of their 17 who other clubs would think of signing.

Unless something drastic changes, there literally are no positives.

We are developing players, yes - but we will lose them to richer clubs when they become worth poaching.

We are a club heavily reliant on sponsorship and gate takings - in other words, we need to win to be a chance of breaking even. We aren't winning much unless the TPA rules change or we work out how to get in on the rort (pretty much impossible in a town where every large company is already a sponsor). We aren't attractive to a buyer in our current state either.