Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2008 Footy Show Chat Thread

Why is it a big deal?
I dont give a flying f**king tomato about the sport. I want to hear NRL talk, not Dive Ball. League bends over for all other codes!
As has been said...will Les Murray promote the League World cup on SBS? I dont think so

f**k soccer.

GCR

How could the promotion of soccer possibly help football? Last night's train wreck involving a couple of Pommy skirts only took time away from footy talk and lead to thousands of viewers turning off. People who watch shows devoted to rugby league don't want to see Harry Kool or whatever his name is. He's a wank.

The Tax Man

How could the promotion of soccer possibly help football? Last night's train wreck involving a couple of Pommy skirts only took time away from footy talk and lead to thousands of viewers turning off. People who watch shows devoted to rugby league don't want to see Harry Kool or whatever his name is. He's a wank.
You are entitled to that opinion, however I think you will find that your in the minority and to channel 9 that is all that matters.

Knight87

Harry Kewel looked like Elwood Blues....all that was need was Mark Riddell next to him to make it look like the Blues Brothers.
Soccer has NO place on the Footy Show.
f**king pathetic.

I agree.

Harry Kewell looks like the lead singer from Jamiroquai, Jay Kay:lol: But, what is annoying is when these so called Aussies start trying to talk in a pseudo-fake Pommie accent. ARGHHHH!:x Dunno why they feel the need to try and talk in English accents. I mean, you were born, raised, lived most of your life in Australia, and yet you feel the need to act like someone other than yourself. Reminds me of Greg Norman, everytime trying to talk like an American (besides the fact that he now permanently resides in the U.S., but only comes to Australia to milk more $$$ from us).

Knight87

Well, the AFL Footy Show a couple of weeks ago had Shane Warne on their show.

Knight87

Why is it a big deal?
I dont give a flying f**king tomato about the sport. I want to hear NRL talk, not Dive Ball. League bends over for all other codes!
As has been said...will Les Murray promote the League World cup on SBS? I dont think so

f**k soccer.

Well, good old Les is on the public wage at SBS afterall, so I guess that all of our taxpayers money goes to supporting ppl like him (getting to travel all over the globe to cover the Soccer).

GCR

You are entitled to that opinion, however I think you will find that your in the minority and to channel 9 that is all that matters.

You reckon that the majority of people tuning into a rugby league show would be happy that they opened with a 20 minute suck-up to a couple of foreign soccer players? Mate, you've got no idea.

I agree.

Harry Kewell looks like the lead singer from Jamiroquai, Jay Kay:lol: But, what is annoying is when these so called Aussies start trying to talk in a pseudo-fake Pommie accent. ARGHHHH!:x Dunno why they feel the need to try and talk in English accents. I mean, you were born, raised, lived most of your life in Australia, and yet you feel the need to act like someone other than yourself. Reminds me of Greg Norman, everytime trying to talk like an American (besides the fact that he now permanently resides in the U.S., but only comes to Australia to milk more $$$ from us).
:lol: Did it ever occur to you that because they spend their time surrounded by people with a different accent and have done so for many years that their accent changes without them being aware of or being able to control it? Exhibit A: myself, I sound much more like a bogan than I did before I moved to Newcastle 3 years ago.

pantherz9103

I try telling people Noone gives a flying f**k about league in most of the world :roll: but in NSW and QLD league is king so no real harm in promoting socceroos. Alot of league fans also like soccer, as can be seen on the sub forums. A bit odd having them as first on the show but Fatty has often said 'we like all codes'. Ok to interview socceroos occasionally as long as they don't give Yawnion and AFL any plugs.

sooperdooper

Why is it a big deal?

f**k soccer.

if you wanted footy talk you wouldnt watch it in the first place...as has been stated it is an 'entertainment show' not purely league.
Les Murray does not do 'entertainment programs'

sooperdooper

name calling just shows your lack of intelligence. How cant promoting soccer help league?
Soccer in Sydney is looking for a great new rectangular stadium...league is to isnt it?
The nrl could learn alot from the FFA

pantherz9103

Dunno why they feel the need to try and talk in English accents. I mean, you were born, raised, lived most of your life in Australia, and yet you feel the need to act like someone other than yourself. Reminds me of Greg Norman, everytime trying to talk like an American (besides the fact that he now permanently resides in the U.S., but only comes to Australia to milk more $$$ from us).

I'll excuse your ignorance. FYI its a natural thing that occurs when living in another country for a few years. My uncle lived in America for a while and he came back rolling his r's and ooing his u's.

But, what is annoying is when these so called Aussies start trying to talk in a pseudo-fake Pommie accent. ARGHHHH!:x Dunno why they feel the need to try and talk in English accents. I mean, you were born, raised, lived most of your life in Australia, and yet you feel the need to act like someone other than yourself. Reminds me of Greg Norman, everytime trying to talk like an American (besides the fact that he now permanently resides in the U.S., but only comes to Australia to milk more $$$ from us).

Darren Bennett (Former San Diego Chargers NFL player)
Luc Longley (NBA star - Suns, Bulls, etc....)

Two Aussie sporting stars who made it big overseas, yet managed to retain their aussie accents.

sooperdooper

I agree.

jealous much? harry was out on the TV yet again promoting AUSTRALIAN designers.... when he could have easily worn something from italy, france etc...
Trying to sound like pommies? he has been in england for around 12 to 13 years. Much like Schwarzer overseas too. YOu have NFI

GCR

name calling just shows your lack of intelligence. How cant promoting soccer help league?
Soccer in Sydney is looking for a great new rectangular stadium...league is to isnt it?
The nrl could learn alot from the FFA

Drawing a long bow there ya dopey bastard. A couple of appearances on The Footy Show isn't going to help pay for a new stadium :lol:

And if name calling shows my lack of intelligence then the fact you're a complete genius shows that, well, you're a complete genius.

sooperdooper

You reckon that the majority of people tuning into a rugby league show would be happy that they opened with a 20 minute suck-up to a couple of foreign soccer players? Mate, you've got no idea.

foreign? correct me if i am wrong but last time i checked they were Aussies! :)