Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2008 Footy Show Chat Thread

sooperdooper

Drawing a long bow there ya dopey bastard. A couple of appearances on The Footy Show isn't going to help pay for a new stadium :lol:

And if name calling shows my lack of intelligence then the fact you're a complete genius shows that, well, you're a complete genius.

name calling again... do you not have a better come back?
appearing on the footy show wont. but building a relationship will help the code of RL to survive.

pantherz9103

The kids who beat you up at school on a regular basis could tell you what 'football' is ;-)

I love rugby league and it was the game I played mostly when at school. Soccer or 'football' was just for a more casual kick around. I'm just saying that's what most of the world calls it, if you want to be off in your own little world then fine.

GCR

I love rugby league and it was the game I played mostly when at school. Soccer or 'football' was just for a more casual kick around. I'm just saying that's what most of the world calls it, if you want to be off in your own little world then fine.

I am off in my own little world. It's called Australia, and we don't call soccer 'football' around here.

if you wanted footy talk you wouldnt watch it in the first place...as has been stated it is an 'entertainment show' not purely league.
Les Murray does not do 'entertainment programs'

TFS has changed this yr. It is talking alot more football and has become more "serious".
I dont give a sh*t about soccer. Not on a league based show anyway.
If i want info about soccer i will watch The Back Page or the soccer shows.
No other f**king show cross promotes like league does.

The Tax Man

You reckon that the majority of people tuning into a rugby league show would be happy that they opened with a 20 minute suck-up to a couple of foreign soccer players? Mate, you've got no idea.
I don't reckon, I know for a fact.

Just one thing for you to consider is that soccer fans would of tuned into the footy show last night to see those two interviewed.

Secondly, soccer is very popular in Australia and as people have already said are not competing for fan base in Australia. The two seasons barely overlap. Most people are interested in Australian soccer, especially when we are qualifying for the World Cup.

For the record, I have plenty of idea, mate. Pull your head out of the sand.

pantherz9103

I am off in my own little world. It's called Australia, and we don't call soccer 'football' around here.

Football Federation Australia ring any bells? the sport is now officially called 'football' here anyway. I'm the bringer of facts, deal with it.

sooperdooper

TFS has changed this yr. It is talking alot more football and has become more "serious".

oh so serious this year... thats gold is such a serious section of the program!

fyi the back page is not a football based program...

sooperdooper

Just one thing for you to consider is that soccer fans would of tuned into the footy show last night to see those two interviewed.

Secondly, soccer is very popular in Australia and as people have already said are not competing for fan base in Australia. The two seasons barely overlap. Most people are interested in Australian soccer, especially when we are qualifying for the World Cup.

spot on... my sister does not watch the footy show. However when i gave her a call out and told her that harry and schwarzer were on she tuned in right away and watched the whole show.

oh so serious this year... thats gold is such a serious section of the program!

fyi the back page is not a football based program...

I know what the back page is all about dont worry.
Thats gold is thrown in @ 11pm...everyone is asleep.

GCR

If soccer fanatics were tuning in to see their diving heroes, wouldn't it be an idea to bury them in the middle of the show, thus exposing more effeminate viewers to the joys of rugby league?

And for the record, you don't have any idea mate. You're off with the pixies - or to be more precise, a bunch of soccer players.

GCR

Football Federation Australia ring any bells? the sport is now officially called 'football' here anyway. I'm the bringer of facts, deal with it.

The sport isn't officially called football, as that is a generic term. The governing body has simply incorporated the word football into their name.

The Tax Man

If soccer fanatics were tuning in to see their diving heroes, wouldn't it be an idea to bury them in the middle of the show, thus exposing more effeminate viewers to the joys of rugby league?

And for the record, you don't have any idea mate. You're off with the pixies - or to be more precise, a bunch of soccer players.
No, makes more sense to do the soccer piece first so you can run with league for the rest of the show. Rather than mix it up and make the show disjointed.

If you must know - I do have an idea. I audit TV ratings.

And I play rugby league.

Got anything else you want to throw my way? Hero.

Agree.

Next week we'll have friggin Barney Hall from the Swans on the league Footy Show.

We wonder why league crowds are down when The Footy Show tells us to Get out and watch the soccer on Sat night instead of a RL game!!

GCR

No, makes more sense to do the soccer piece first so you can run with league for the rest of the show. Rather than mix it up and make the show disjointed.

If you must know - I do have an idea. I audit TV ratings.

And I play rugby league.

Got anything else you want to throw my way? Hero.

You audit TV ratings AND you play rugby league AND you're a keyboard warrior? I'm assuming you do all three badly...