Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2014 Origin - Game 1

jono

So what you're saying is that role of the halfback in this particular team is just a link man and kick goals?
I guess Brisbane won the 06 comp using that strategy
Not sure if this NSW pack can dominate to compensate for a non-elite halfback though

Noise

The halfbacks job in this team is to be that link man on the left hand side of the field, kick in general play and kick goals. Reynolds will be doing the same on the right but I think he will run more and kick less than hodko. Farrah will be doing most of the controlling of where the play heads.

If the forwards dominate the ruck our halves will have space and time to do their job. Hayne will do everything else :p

Hodkinson's combination with Williams and Morris on Canterbury's left side will have been a massive factor as well.

Like how Soward was picked with all those Dragons players a few years ago.

That's true. The five-eighth can't organise the backs unless the halfback steers the team around the park.

"Oi merkin, you're supposed to be on the left wing. And has any merkin seen the inside centre?"

#organising

spiderdan

funny thing about Hodkinson is that he is no better than he was last year when he was not even in the picture, yet his team is now on top of the ladder so he gets a look in
while that may be true I think Daley was looking for an in form combo as well as sending the message that no one is guaranteed their spot without being a dick about it to every player.

I thought it was pretty stupid previously that Daley would give allowances for Pearce to stay in the team regardless of whatever because he needed time to fill the role, even though the same allowance has never been given to carney, Mullen, campese, Wallace and to a much lesser extent, soward.

Hopefully it works and the players respond positively.

Noise

Hodkinson's combination with Williams and Morris on Canterbury's left side will have been a massive factor as well.

Like how Soward was picked with all those Dragons players a few years ago.

Pou, do you reckon morris will play left wing? Him and Tupou are both left wingers aren't they? I thought they might move morris to the right seeing he is more experienced and might form a better combination on the right with that bloke who looks heaps like him also called morris.

Jennings/Tupou play on the left for the Chooks but I'm wondering if they won't play on the right for NSW.

Hodkinson, Williams and Morris all play on the left for Canterbury, so there's a good chance they will play on the left for NSW (Williams off the bench, obviously). Plus Brett Morris plays on the left at club level.

Both wingers and both centres play on the left side at club level. I'm surprised they didn't pick two right side halves.

Gazzamatta

Re the many discussions concerning the current positionining of halfback / five eigths, why is there this constant preference to pick club halfs because of their club combination. Im sure there is a reason for this. Over to you Poo?

forward pass

Hayne leads the vote as the greatest NSW fullback ever, yet by my reckoning he's only started 3 out of 17 matches in that position.

The public are smarter than the coaches obviously.

telegraph_sport @telegraph_sport · 24m 2/4 At fullback: Jarryd Hayne leads the way with 1102 votes, Andrew Ettingshausen 2nd: 868, Garry Jack: 625 http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/nrl/state-of-origin/origin-squad ?

Interestingly - I don't recall ET ever playing fullback. Mind you it was looong time ago.....

Re the many discussions concerning the current positionining of halfback / five eigths, why is there this constant preference to pick club halfs because of their club combination. Im sure there is a reason for this. Over to you Poo?

I dunno mate. Hodkinson has as much a combination with Josh Morris (left side) as Maloney did with Jennings on the left last year. Plus obviously there is that combination with their halves 'partner' on long shifts and set plays.

Interestingly - I don't recall ET ever playing fullback. Mind you it was looong time ago.....

Played seven games for Australia at fullback, as well as seven games for NSW and 26 games for the Sharks (including most of his appearances in his debut season in 1983).

ET was one of those players who could not tackle to save his life early on.

At the end of the career however, he was a great defender.

He's luck y that he was a natural try scorer, as with D like that he would not ordinarily have lasted long at all.

Malabar Eel

ET was one of those players who could not tackle to save his life early on.

At the end of the career however, he was a great defender.

He's luck y that he was a natural try scorer, as with D like that he would not ordinarily have lasted long at all.

ET was selected on looks alone in the early days. Good looking Merkin.

Pearce has played 12 origin games and we have won 4 i think, even in game 1 last year he offered SFA. Time to give someone else a go, QLD have had his number his game just doesn't seem to suit origin.