Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Crowd Watch

big hit!

Except not really, West Coast and Fremantle have a brand new stadium and still haven't had a single sell out, comparatively Origin in Perth for next year has already sold out.

GWS cracked 25,000 members this year and their crowd average dropped from 13,000 to 11,000. Gold Coast Suns membership has decreased to 11,500 when three years ago they were bordering on 14,000. Their attendance looks to be about 11,000 average.

The Brisbane Lions crowds and member numbers have dwindled significantly over the past decade, currently at 20,000 members from a franchise high of 30,000 in 2004 and average attendance of 16,000.

The only non-heartland team making inroads is the Swans and they've had decades of leg ups from the AFL to establish them. They existed in a single product market for 30+ years with no direct competitor. I have no idea how valid claims that a lot of mid-90s Bears fans became Swans fans, but former ARU boss John O'Neil was in the Herald last week saying he gave up on Union and started following AFL along with a bunch of other Waratahs/Union diehards who gave up over how shit the Wallabies are and started following the fumble game.

AFL membership numbers aren't all ticketed members. it's just the amount of emails sponsors have access too which is attractive to corporates.

and yes, I'd say much of the swans support has drifted over from union. it's not like the NRL has done anything to get the north shore onto rugby league's side, both with a team and a decent venue to play out of. but it's an extra 30-40k each fortnight that could have been attending an NRL match, and they have the money to do so.

Yes, but the NRL is making no advances in non-heartland states, they are not even trying as there is no particular support for the Storm at headquarters and only one game a year in Adelaide and Perth.

The NRL don't even seem to understand that they need to evolve the game out of the heartland hence all they do is get attacked by the AFL and they don't have a plan or a system to hit back.

footy75

Like I said, AFL is making leaps and bounds in crowd numbers and memberships. Thus they are financially flush with millions and millions with interest in heartland team and non-heartland teams flurishing.

The Rugby Union sect have seen the light and denounced their old game and even the Rugby Union schools now play more AFL than Rugby Union.

AFL crowds in Queensland have dropped off big time since the lions became shit. AFL in Qld is in trouble.

Also juniors playing AFL is declining with kids going to soccer. Amateur clubs are dwindling.

But you are right about one thing, Victorians getting to sporting events.

Like I said, AFL is making leaps and bounds in crowd numbers and memberships. Thus they are financially flush with millions and millions with interest in heartland team and non-heartland teams flurishing.

The Rugby Union sect have seen the light and denounced their old game and even the Rugby Union schools now play more AFL than Rugby Union.
Lol
There's figures
Then there's AFL figures
Pet memberships .....1 game memberships
Lol next year carLTank are giving away. Yes giving away something like 56 k memberships ..
I'm sure theyll be counted in the rubbery figures .
Sellouts at grounds with 1000s & 1000s of empty seats ....I think they call it Catering tent round .
GWS figures that are laughable .
Participation numbers that are outright lies .
Let's not forget the women's propaganda .
SELL OUT ..SELL OUT ..lol free entry not a ticket SOLD .
Then there's the game at south pine in Bris .
Ground capacity 3K.
Afl crowd figure 5.5 k...lol
There were pics of the crowd ..lol you could have driven a Mack truck around & not run over anyone

Back to Vicderpia with you Weiners .

Panther_Daz

We will soon have modern, quality stadiums in Townsville, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sydney x 2, Melbourne.

The next stadium we need is Canberra. A roofed/indoor stadium is a must.

Never been to Mount Smart, looks OK on TV, but I’m sure an upgrade would be appreciated.

We’ll have reasonable regional stadiums in Newcastle/Wollongong.

Then we just need to solve the Sydney suburban issues and make better use of stadiums like Central Coast and NIB.

Ideally the Dogs move to WSS. Souths move to WSS or the new Allianz.

In 10 years time the Tigers and Panthers can share a stadium on the Northern Road close to the airport.

So crowds are generally flat, while memberships have shot through the roof the past couple of years. I guess from a revenue perspective that's fine for the clubs but I'd be interested to understand why people buy a membership and then don't bother attending many games.
"Memberships have shot through the roof" is probably overstating it a bit - there's constant growth and has been year-on-year since it became a focus around ten years ago.

For me memberships are just coming in to line with the supporter bases i.e. more regular attendees are members than 5 years ago.

I doubt there has been any net gain in support of the code.

Victorian and PROUD

Unlike you Sydney roof sitting island cooler drinking non watchers of NRL, I actually go to games and watch it.

We have the greatest NRL team in history down here in Melbourne and we love our team.

We ARE the Greatest

and it is amazing to go and watch US play.

The Storm get the best crowds in Australia.

We are blessed.
I have seen you use this "Sydney roof sitting island cooler drinking" line in an attempt at insulting people from Sydney. It is hilarious because the actual roof sitters were in Canberra far from Sydney you muppet.

Hank_Scorpio

Lol
There's figures
Then there's AFL figures
Pet memberships .....1 game memberships
Lol next year carLTank are giving away. Yes giving away something like 56 k memberships ..
I'm sure theyll be counted in the rubbery figures .
Sellouts at grounds with 1000s & 1000s of empty seats ....I think they call it Catering tent round .
GWS figures that are laughable .
Participation numbers that are outright lies .
Let's not forget the women's propaganda .
SELL OUT ..SELL OUT ..lol free entry not a ticket SOLD .
Then there's the game at south pine in Bris .
Ground capacity 3K.
Afl crowd figure 5.5 k...lol
There were pics of the crowd ..lol you could have driven a Mack truck around & not run over anyone

Back to Vicderpia with you Weiners .
Carlton are not giving any away, they are giving free upgrades to their 2018 members for next year as a reward for supporting a team who were worse than shit. Fair play to them I reckon.

The rest of your post is gibberish as usual

big hit!

Ideally the Dogs move to WSS. Souths move to WSS or the new Allianz.

In 10 years time the Tigers and Panthers can share a stadium on the Northern Road close to the airport.

With the 3 cities of Greater Sydney plan, Wests need to make the decision to make Campbelltown their full time home and dump Leichhardt and Olympic Stadium.

Otherwise, move to WSS with Parra and Canterbury.

Souths & Easts at Moore Park.

Penrith have the cash to fix Penrith Park. Instead they just waste it paying out sacked coaches.

Saints probably need to share a redevoped Woolooware with Cronulla as their Sydney venue considering Wollongong is a viable other home. No valid argument to keep updating Jubilee. Issue here is unlike Parra, Cronulla own their ground!

Manly need a redeveloped brookvale or other northern beaches home

Hank_Scorpio

For me memberships are just coming in to line with the supporter bases i.e. more regular attendees are members than 5 years ago.

I doubt there has been any net gain in support of the code.
Memberships are important in sustainability of clubs and ways to engage with supporters. The steady growth is important to maintain and over time we will see an improvement in crowds with the growth in memberships, especially with new/upgrades stadiums. Won’t happen overnight but heading in the right direction.

What Sydney lacks is a great stadium like the MCG, right in the middle surrounded by lush park land. Now this area includes AAMI Park and Rod Laver Arena so it is the epicentre of all activity in Melbourne.

Melbournians are trained from birth to flock to this area.

Whereas Sydney siders are trained from birth to flock to the Opera House or Habour Bridge.

So you can see why Melbournians are more sporting orientated than Sydneysiders.

It is in our DNA.

Hank_Scorpio

What Sydney lacks is a great stadium like the MCG, right in the middle surrounded by lush park land. Now this area includes AAMI Park and Rod Laver Arena so it is the epicentre of all activity in Melbourne.

Melbournians are trained from birth to flock to this area.

Whereas Sydney siders are trained from birth to flock to the Opera House or Habour Bridge.

So you can see why Melbournians are more sporting orientated than Sydneysiders.

It is in our DNA.
Sydney’s infrastructure is what it is. We hear about troubles in getting there and that may well be true. The game needs to grow its attraction to draw those people umming and ahhing into regular attendees. Melbourne is lucky to have central sports infrastructure so no need to gloat, Sydney unfortunately have to keep working harder to improve the attendance culture, with various good initiatives mentioned here regularly.

taipan

Is the goal of 20k average still a thing? I know it was set to reach that number by 2017 which didn’t happen but if the NRL are serious then I’d like to see what their plan is. If they are not, then why are they running this game?

Wasn't that PR's mate Smith,who raised that bar?

They'll get close to that average .once Parra,Nth Qld ,SFS and ANZ,are done and dusted.