Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Rabbitohs Rumours, Signings and News

I think Knight might leave mate and we are losing Nicholls, we need another prop I think at the right price I’ve heard would be 250-300k a season for Taupau it’d be a solid signing. We need experience as well.

The change of clubs could do wonders as could Sammy Burgess revving him up as well.

Nafedogg

I think Knight might leave mate and we are losing Nicholls, we need another prop I think at the right price I’ve heard would be 250-300k a season for Taupau it’d be a solid signing. We need experience as well.

The change of clubs could do wonders as could Sammy Burgess revving him up as well.
I’ve often thought about Marty heading to south’s, he has a few errors in his game, but his runs are usually pretty brutal, get him cheap enough and I reckon it’d be a good thing.

callmack1

Stadium stoush - V'landys demands action on Perrottet's false promises: https://www.nrl.com/news/2022/08/04...s-demands-action-on-perrotets-false-promises/

NRL considers 'all options'... including shock MCG first amid ugly $800m stadium war: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/cdb29cf52f9036aab566e1c1c0069b5d

From Fox Sports, great to see we've kicked off negotiations with Trell and Cody,

SOUTHS MOVE TO KEEP LATRELL, CODY AT REDFERN

We told you last week how South Sydney had a delicate $6 million balancing act on their hands around the re-signings of superstar fullback Latrell Mitchell and star five-eighth Cody Walker.

We were told there was a big chance the two key position players would wait until after November 1 to re-commit to South Sydney.

The Rabbitohs have swiftly moved to try and nip the scenario in the bud by meeting with the star duo earlier this week.

Both Latrell and Cody are off-contract at the end of next season but with talks progressing positively there’s every chance they can soon re-commit to the Bunnies.

It will be a huge coup for the red and green club and also for CEO Blake Solly.

Also, from Zero Tackle,

South Sydney spine together since square one

Rugby league is a funny game. Built on narrative and drama, the game doubles as a soap opera some days with the twists and turns, the betrayal, the storylines it exudes, but every once in a while, it manages to intertwine something special.

For the average fan, March 6th, 2016 is just another day on the calendar, just any other Sunday. However, for South Sydney fans, it was the birth of what would become the playing group's core six short years later.

They say good things come in threes, and that was undeniably the case for the Rabbitohs as three future rep stars linked their careers on the same day - but that doesn't mean they all played together.

The Rabbitohs v Roosters clashes are usually reserved for that 7:55pm Friday time slot, rugby league's oldest rivalry suddenly shunted to a 4pm Sunday match for the opening round of the 2016 season.

The Rabbitohs had a host of new faces in their side, however, just two stick out - the duo wearing the 6 and the 14.

Having lost Luke Keary to suspension from the previous years Finals series, then-coach Michael Maguire handed 26 year-old five-eighth Cody Walker his debut jersey, something the future New South Welshman wouldn't squander.

Meanwhile, in the home sheds, Roosters coach Trent Robinson was handing over a maiden first-grade jersey to a much younger debutant, a kid from Taree by the name of Latrell Mitchell, named on the wing to kickstart his career.

The duo so close in the modern day, yet they debuted against one another six years ago.

Add in Damien Cook, who came off the bench to play his first match in a South Sydney jersey that afternoon, and suddenly an opening round 42-16 shellacking of the Sydney Roosters becomes a vital clash in their history.

Mitchell and Cook made their Origin and Kangaroos debuts together two short years later, while Walker would be forced to wait an extra 12 months to make his Blue debut.

Now, half a dozen years since that clubland clash, the trio are in talks for a combined $6 million extension in Redfern, and you can't help but wonder what the rugby league gods have in store for the three.

Perhaps last year was the trio's final opportunity to win a premiership together, foiled by a reckless Mitchell tackle, or possibly, the best is yet to come.

callmack1

NRL accused of soft stance on hip-drop tackles as Broncos revealed as worst offenders: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...d/news-story/021896c086d3534fc52152fa1305b351

Also, from Zero Tackle, does this mean we aren't allowed to move to the new SFS next year?

Roosters' new home still facing major issues before opening

The current revolving door of Sports Ministers in the NSW Government is having a detrimental effect on the final development of Sydney’s newest football stadium.

The brand-new Allianz Stadium in Moore Park is set to be unveiled in just three weeks and The Daily Telegraph reports the NSW Government hasn’t signed off on the names of the grandstands, nor have they properly responded to the South Sydney Rabbitohs’ desire to move some of their home games to the stadium in the future.

The issues have become more pronounced after the resignation of NSW Sports Minister Stuart Ayers, following his alleged role in the current situation engulfing former Deputy Premier John Barilaro and his involvement in the farce that the suburban stadium project has become.

Ayers’ resignation means NSW has had six changes to the sports minister role in the past three-and-a-half years, proving a constant impediment to the funding plans for stadiums and suburban grounds – plans that seem to have largely fallen through.

The Rabbitohs requested the opportunity to play games at Allianz following the news that Accor Stadium in Homebush would not receive the refurbishment it had initially been promised, but they’ve been told by Venues NSW that they need to stay at the Olympic Park so it doesn’t become a ‘white elephant’, exposing the magnitude of a mess the stadium issue has become.

The situation has grown into a huge headache for Peter V’Landys and co, with clear friction between the NRL boss and NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet after the premier this week scrapped the redevelopment funds he had already promised Manly, Cronulla and Wests Tigers.

The decision was made to look even worse after footage came out this week showing a fence at Leichhardt Stadium collapsing under the weight of raucous support at a rugby match.

Though Perrottet has been supported in his decision to retain some of those funds for emergency recovery in flood-affected areas of NSW, he has also drawn significant criticism for being prepared to spend up to $450 million for the development of a new stadium for the Panthers – a stadium that would be used exclusively by the Penrith team just 12 times a year and would facilitate an entirely new stadium instead of an upgrade to facilities.

It’s widely believed Perrottet’s approval of the Penrith development has been part of an attempt to assure Ayers’ electoral prospects for the upcoming state election, after the Penrith area was one of the few in the area to retain a Federal Liberal member at the last national vote.

The brand-new Allianz stadium will host its first NRL contest when the Sydney Roosters play host to the Rabbitohs on Friday, September 2. The Round 25 will be both clubs’ final clash of the regular season, and its significance could be significantly boosted by both teams fighting for finals places.

callmack1

NRL's longest Season - The radical plan to start competition even earlier: https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/nr...competition-even-earlier-20220808-p5b84j.html

Also, from Sporting News,

NRL CEO Andrew Abdo weighs in on Stadium debate as Grand Final decision looms

NRL CEO Andrew Abdo has weighed in on the ongoing stadium debate, as a decision on this year's grand final remains up in the air.

After a disgruntled Peter V'landys took aim at the NSW Government last week over a backflip on suburban ground upgrades, there is now a chance the season decider could head to Brisbane for the second-straight year.

Dominic Perrottet and his government are instead looking to put funds into flood relief, despite originally agreeing to give multi-million-dollar upgrades to Shark Park, Brookvale Oval and Leichhardt Oval.

Speaking on 100% Footy on Monday night, Abdo said a decision was close to being finalised on the grand final.

“We’re working as hard as we can and we are trying to look at innovative ways which we can try and get a situation that is a win for everyone," he said.

"We are starting to run out of time – our fans are very excited and very keen to get their tickets.

"We completely understand that, so we are working as quickly as we can and respectfully as we can.

"We’ve got a good dialogue going with the NSW Government."

The home grounds of the Sharks, Sea Eagles and Tigers are in desperate need of upgraded facilities, with dozens of games played their each season.

To make matters worse, a collapsed fence at Leichhardt during a high school rugby union clash over the weekend painted a clear picture of a ground in need of some changes.

The latest drama surrounding funding has also fuelled the 'stadium vs suburban ground' debate.

With a brand-new 42,500-seat Allianz Stadium set to open in the coming weeks, and a new stadium at Penrith in the works, it begs the question whether the smaller grounds are going to be in use long-term.

But the NRL boss is adamant that suburban grounds, such as those mentioned earlier or the likes of Kogarah Oval and Campbelltown Stadium, still have a part to play in rugby league.

“If you look around the world, stadiums are actually getting smaller - even the large stadiums are getting smaller, because it is getting less about quantity and more about the actual experience," Abdo said.

"Sydney is a city of villages and we are very tribal – having a local fortress as a community asset is obviously very attractive for a team. But equally, when you go to a significant major event, whether it be a grand final or State of Origin or a concert, you are going for the senses that go with all of that.

"You need both, is the answer – every major city in the world wants to attract major events and they need stadiums for that.

“The vision is, we want a great centre of excellence for each and every club, men’s and women’s teams. Then we want a great fortress, a home stadium that takes 80-90 per-cent of their games.

“Ultimately, it is a club decision. We’ve got nine clubs in Sydney and they each have their strategy.

"Each and every club, and we are working with them all, are coming out with where they want to play 80 per-cent of their home games, so you get to a situation where you have to be a member or you’re going to miss out.

"It doesn’t matter if you’re at Brookvale or whether you’re at a large stadium, you can feel the intensity of a full crowd."

callmack1

From Sporting News,

Andrew Abdo defends match review committee, referees following recent criticism

NRL CEO Andrew Abdo has defended the referees and match review committee, claiming that there will never be consistency between the two.

Following a slew of incidents in recent weeks, the heat has been firmly on the NRL to eradicate the perceived inconsistent nature of players being charged or not charged.

Back in Round 19, Dale Finucane wasn't penalised by the officials for his accidental head clash on Stephen Crichton, but was charged the next day by the match review committee and suspended for two weeks.

Storm enforcer Nelson Asofa-Solomona wasn't charged by the match review committee or penalised on the field, despite an ugly elbow that shattered the teeth of Wayde Egan in Round 20.

It has led to an abundance of criticism from fans, experts and former players surrounding the entire process - but according to Abdo, the two entities can't be compared.

“Rugby league sometimes focuses on what’s wrong and not what’s right," he told 100% Footy.

"If you look at the statistics, of course we can always improve and always get better – but how can you ever get consistency between what happens with referees and match review?

"By definition, they are different – referees are acting on things in front of them quickly. The match review committee is a panel that has the ability to spend 24 hours poring over the incident from different angles and then take a considered view.

"I know what fans are after, I know what everyone is after – a reasonable level of understanding."

Patrick Carrigan and Nathan Cleary have both been hit with huge suspensions heading into the finals, while Dragons forward Tariq Sims won't play again this year after a high shot on Connor Tracey despite only being sin-binned by the referees.

But across the board, foul play has been reduced since the NRL's crackdown in 2021, Abdo says.

“I think we’ve got some work to do, but I actually do think we’ve come a long way," he said.

"This is one of the cleanest seasons that we’ve had in years. Foul play is down overall, but we are still seeing some nasty incidents that we want to get out of the game.

"We are moving in the right direction. There are always going to be differences of opinion, but in the modern age we also need to take care.

"Players that are defending need to take necessary caution not to put themselves in a situation where they can result in something that is against the rules and results in a serious injury."

callmack1

This has to be one of the stupidest things I've ever heard and god it makes me angry!! The NSW Government is a shambles! So they're blocking our move and we're currently homeless for 2023 but there's no reason why it can't happen? What the hell?!!

As Solly said, this has to get sorted soon or the club could be in some trouble. Surely it goes ahead. Surely the NSW Government can't deny us from playing there?

South Sydney have no home ground as NSW Government refuses to accept stadium move | Daily Telegraph​

South Sydney – the Pride of the League – has been left stranded embarrassingly without a home ground for 2023 because the NSW Government refuses to make what the club claims is a “simple” decision.
It has triggered an increasing drama between an under-pressure Government and rugby league’s most famous club.

“We are extremely confused, frustrated and disappointed - we have bucket loads of uncertainty,” said angry Souths chief executive, Blake Solly.

The Rabbitohs have formally announced a decision to quit Accor Stadium at Sydney Olympic Park after 16 years for a historic return to the rebuilt Allianz Stadium, located in the club’s geographic heartland.

But the club’s hunger for a return to Moore Park and its $830m venue is being thwarted by the NSW Government, who is refusing to approve the move.

The Rabbitohs are currently without a home ground for 2023, as they wait on the NSW Government to approve a move to the rebuilt Allianz Stadium. Picture: Josh Woning.

Souths are predicting an ugly financial black hole if the club cannot start selling tickets, memberships, sponsorship and corporate hospitality for home games in 2023.

Solly fears his club has been caught in the middle of a public dispute between the State Government and NRL over stadium funding.

Souths have told the Government, Venues NSW and NRL that the club wants to return to its traditional eastern suburbs heartland – but the relocation is being denied.

Solly is becoming increasingly exasperated given that, at this point, the club cannot tell fans where the team will play next season. If the shift back east is denied, Souths have several options but would likely be forced back to Accor Stadium.

“We are pleading for a fair go. We just want to be treated fairly,” said Solly. “The club has told the Government, NRL and Venues NSW we now want to play at Allianz. We’re struggling to understand why it’s so hard. Why this isn’t a quick decision? This needs to be approved as soon as possible.

Souths CEO Blake Solly claims the club has been dragged into the feud between the NRL and NSW Government. Picture: Lyndon Mechielsen.

“The Government has spent $800m improving Allianz Stadium so surely they want as many games, with as many people, using the venue to make a return on the taxpayer investment – to utilise it at full capacity.

“We have memberships going on sale in four weeks’ time and we still don’t know where we’re playing next season. We also have sponsorship, tickets and hospitality to sell - everything that comes with a home stadium.

“We need to go on sale with these options. This will cost us financial and commercial opportunities.

“Given there is no investment in Accor Stadium, we want the best experience for our members, fans and corporate partners so we can’t see why the Government won’t approve or allow our move to Moore Park to go ahead. They haven’t said yes or no and that’s the problem.”

The Rabbitohs are keen to move closer to their geographical heartland at the new Sydney Football Stadium. Picture: Supplied.

Solly claims the Government’s decision to renege on a further $250m investment in Brookvale Oval, Shark Park and Leichhardt Oval, causing much anger from within the NRL, could be behind the Government’s reluctance to agree on the move.

“It is an issue that has to be resolved between us, NRL and NSW Government,” Solly said. “It feels like we are a casualty of the dispute between the NRL and NSW Government on the (stadium funding) MOU.

“We understand one of the things being negotiated between the NRL and NSW Government was our move to Moore Park. It was part of the deal to keep the grand final in Sydney (until 2042) along with other stadium funding discussions.

“Ours is arguably the most simple part of the whole discussion, moving from one NSW Government-owned venue that they do not want to invest in, to another that they have spent $800m on.”

The Rabbitohs are expecting a financial black hole, with the club unable to sell tickets and memberships without a home ground. Picture: Getty Images.

NSW Sports Minister, Alister Henskens, claimed Souths only last year agreed to remain at Accor long-term.

“South Sydney have been an anchor home team at Accor Stadium since 2006 and in November 2021 reaffirmed that commitment until the end of the 2030 NRL season,” he said.

“I have discussed this matter with Mr (Peter) V’landys (ARLC chairman) and Mr (Andrew) Abdo (NRL CEO) this week and I look forward to further constructive conversations with them on this matter.”

Solly fired back, saying: “We signed a long-term agreement to play at Accor Stadium based upon an MOU between the NSW Government and the NRL that guaranteed significant investment in Accor Stadium. We have had a great partnership with (Stadium CEO) Daryl Kerry and his team at Accor – they are outstanding partners and people.

“But the Government last week confirmed that they do not want to invest in Accor Stadium – we understand that with the challenges they face it is not their priority.

“We get it and have been supportive of the NRL and Government on this issue. But it doesn’t look like our support is being reciprocated.”

Souths have maintained for the past Two-and-a-half years that the club should be permitted to move if the Government withdrew its funding for Accor Stadium. Once that was confirmed last week, Souths were on the move.

BotanyBorn&Bred

F..k this government, tbey are so corrupt, they are liars.
Boy Wonder f...ed up Xmas and New Years for everyone because he tried to look like a hero and ended looking like a jerk.
Strikes everywhere, refusing payrises even though inflation is exploding, but they setting themselves up with jobs for massive pay. VOTE THEM OUT!
Now, back to the footy......

I know it’s a Thursday but next Thursday against Penrith we should be getting 13-15k there this is a massive home game for us and the boys need our full support as we come to the business end of the season!

Don't you get paid to play at ANZ though? - Next Year the new ground will be unavailable for a period due to the FIFA Women's World Cup - 20th July to 20th August