Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023-2028 next tv deal discussion

Wb1234

Like Doc Brown stated could the NRL bring in a Perth team before the next deal and play the 9th game in a timeslot that doesn't compete with existing games say Sunday night and sell this 9th game to say Ten/Paramount if Fox and/or Nein won't stump up any extra cash?

Would create competitive tension years before the next deal and let the competitor get their act together on broadcasting a major sport and start to line up advertising for a big tilt at the next deal.
Excellent idea

The Australian Open is a global event. The TV rights would be massive with every country and region paying up. Then you would have hundreds of thousands of spectators through the gates. It would be worth a couple hundred million to TA. If go through every other event and nothing else as comparable
Amazed one event can make that much money!

Wb1234

Reactor one is a sports Bar now
You know what makes me laugh is people who have never visited these leagues clubs especially the bigger ones to realise they are almost as large as star city casino.

Panthers is massive and it’s not the only leagues club they own

Penrith will be a billion dollar footy club one day with the assets they own

Colk

Amazed one event can make that much money!

Every country plays tennis and every country will show it, so they would collect an absolute mountain of TV money from it.

It will be interesting to see how much the Rugby Union World Cup will bring to the coffers of the ARU.

The_Wookie

And yet 90 million dollars worse off from a profit and loss point of view

and yet nrl clubs receive record funding and afl still receive reduced funding due of covid

And yet nrl playets are to receive a bonus 38 million from the arlc to cover lost wages during covid whilst thier afl counterparts do not

Sounds like afl has wasted a lot of money on vanity projects whilst the arl has run a lean and efficient operation

Profit and loss is malleable over time, and really no one takes a one off COVID affected year as indicative of a larger problem. As long as its sustainable - and it very much is - then the occasional loss is fine.

AFL distributions to clubs were still more than the NRL distributed to its clubs. NRL clubs and players received 278m, AFL clubs and players received a record 361m (the club distros by themselves just 14m short of 2019).

That NRL player wage bonus is predicated on the fact that last years revenue was higher than predicted - and makes last years bottom line a lot leaner in that lense, and will affect this years bottom line because of it. AFL revenue wasnt higher - and the revised AFLPA CBA for 2020-22 took that into account.

AFL has taken risks that the NRL has not been able to afford to take. Not all of them pan out, but hey why take risks when you can go that Brisbane "expansion" amirite

Wb1234

Profit and loss is malleable over time, and really no one takes a one off COVID affected year as indicative of a larger problem. As long as its sustainable - and it very much is - then the occasional loss is fine.

AFL distributions to clubs were still more than the NRL distributed to its clubs. NRL clubs and players received 278m, AFL clubs and players received a record 361m (the club distros by themselves just 14m short of 2019).

That NRL player wage bonus is predicated on the fact that last years revenue was higher than predicted - and makes last years bottom line a lot leaner in that lense, and will affect this years bottom line because of it. AFL revenue wasnt higher - and the revised AFLPA CBA for 2020-22 took that into account.

AFL has taken risks that the NRL has not been able to afford to take. Not all of them pan out, but hey why take risks when you can go that Brisbane "expansion" amirite
Yeh the giants and suns have been a great success

as was playing games in China and Wellington

you provide a lot of excuses as to why afl isn’t making profits but it doesn’t change what I said at all

right now the afl needs an extra 150 million pa to be in the same kind of financial position as what vlandys has put the nrl into (making the same profits, having funding to clubs go to record levels)

but yeh the arlc profit was better than expected which is exactly what I’m talking about lol

The_Wookie

Yeh the giants and suns have been a great success

as was playing games in China and Wellington

you provide a lot of excuses as to why afl isn’t making profits but it doesn’t change what I said at all

right now the afl needs an extra 150 million pa to be in the same kind of financial position as what vlandys has put the nrl into (making the same profits, having funding to clubs go to record levels)

but yeh the arlc profit was better than expected which is exactly what I’m talking about lol

Im providing facts - the NRL and AFL make losses fairly regularly over the years. Both the ARLC and AFL arent charged with being profit generators, they are specifically non profit bodies that are supposed to distribute revenue back to their organisations or spend it on relevant matters to their sport. Its literally the AFLs consitutional responsibility, and I presume the ARLCs as well.

Ill note that the COVID reductions on revenue for both codes end this year, and record distributions are expected next year when the AFL gets a big bump in its broadcast rights.

The AFL does all sorts of crazy things because it can afford to in efforts to try and grow and expand the sport. Not all of them are gong to work.

Making big profits - that actually arent that big at all when you have to backpay players because of said big profits that will take away most of that big profit.

Right now, the AFL doesnt have to take any lessons from the NRL on growing revenue, The NRL has been playing catch up for 30 years - and still isnt there. That 163m revenue lead the AFL had last year certainly gives it a good headstart.

docbrown

There’s no way that they could sell a ninth game to a different party, that would be in the deal. Given dolphins havent even kicked off yet it would be highly unlikely we’d see a ninth game before 2026. In theory they could renogtitate the last 2 years with a ninth game IF fox is willing to pay for it.
9 and Foxtel only have a non-compete case for new content that clashes with their existing game timeslots that are established in the contract. So for example, no you can't create a 9th game and put it on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night timeslot. But to suggest that 9 and Foxtel have some right over any and all new NRL content created after the deal was made is to argue for a restriction in trade and is against anti-siphoning laws. It would get thrown out of court (not that I'm saying 9 or Foxtel would be even stupid enough to argue such a weak case). Any court would conclude that a 9th game in a non competing timeslot is valued at the price it gets in an open tender. Now whether or not the NRL do this is a different story. But having a 9th game put out to tender with 2 years to go in the existing contract is how you create competitive tension.

Iamback

You know what makes me laugh is people who have never visited these leagues clubs especially the bigger ones to realise they are almost as large as star city casino.

The land would be now but developers moved in and not the club, That said they bring in the rent from it. The conference Centre and 2nd Hotel will be all theirs

Wb1234

9 and Foxtel only have a non-compete case for new content that clashes with their existing game timeslots that are established in the contract. So for example, no you can't create a 9th game and put it on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night timeslot. But to suggest that 9 and Foxtel have some right over any and all new NRL content created after the deal was made is to argue for a restriction in trade and is against anti-siphoning laws. It would get thrown out of court (not that I'm saying 9 or Foxtel would be even stupid enough to argue such a weak case). Any court would conclude that a 9th game in a non competing timeslot is valued at the price it gets in an open tender. Now whether or not the NRL do this is a different story. But having a 9th game put out to tender with 2 years to go in the existing contract is how you create competitive tension.
Hey buddy I’d just like to say thanks for all the posts you used to make back in the day when smith was nrl boss your knowledge of tv deals was awesome

most of the analysis of the current tv deals is really poor quality and full of loads of afl propaganda

docbrown

Hey buddy I’d just like to say thanks for all the posts you used to make back in the day when smith was nrl boss your knowledge of tv deals was awesome

most of the analysis of the current tv deals is really poor quality and full of loads of afl propaganda
No worries. I had to actually stop posting on here for a while due to work reasons.

Wb1234

No worries. I had to actually stop posting on here for a while due to work reasons.
In hindsight Dave smith stuffed up royally and left the nrl hugely vulnerable to foxtel

I remember a comment you made that Rupert wanted smith and Greenberg to sit near the toilets at that news ltd lunch lmao

with the extra teams I think the nrl is finally in a position to overtake the afl tv deals

Iamback

Calm down.

A-League’s problem has been that the competition isn’t popular enough and never been popular enough to lock itself away on subscription TV. They didn’t gain the widespread popularity needed prior to going on to Paramount and people aren’t going to fork out the money to pay for that privilege (other than those diehards)

Rugby League has been primarily on cable based services for 20 odd years and it hasn’t affected the popularity at all. Prior to that we had gained the mass audience and the interest to move to such platforms. As we can see from Pay TV ratings, there are more than enough people who are willing to spend that money to get RL games.

Where does Australia rank in the World as far as internet speeds go?

Streaming Live Sport takes a lot more than watched a pre recorded show, I have and use Kayo an the difference between Kayo and Say Netflix is massive.

There a days when Chromecast is always buffering but put on Netflix and it is perfect, AFL mentioned this why they took less to stay with Fox.

A few years away, So hopefully the technology is better and it is viable

Iamback

People still have a 90s / early 2000s mindset. 70% of Australian use streaming and have subscription to 2-3 services. What you're going to see over the next 15 years is a consolidation of service to increase content libraries. Just like in the 80s/90s though, the most reliable viewer base and content hours generator is live sport. You just watch - a lot of services that are currently only movies and television will expand as the competition to survive the streaming wars takes place.

Welcome back btw

On this we aren't talking downloading a movie on demand, We are talking trying to stream live Sport in some places sharing with several others

I don't think Australia as a whole has made the changes required, What's changed since Optus had that failed WC? That was a farce and I am not sure 500-600k people streaming a Live sporting event is possible yet

They paid for the content with the extra games the Dolphins bring in this contract period. If you added a ninth game and sold it to someone else then they would not get those extra 12 games a year they are paying for. Ergo you cant just sell the ninth game as you please.

Steel Saints

In hindsight Dave smith stuffed up royally and left the nrl hugely vulnerable to foxtel

I remember a comment you made that Rupert wanted smith and Greenberg to sit near the toilets at that news ltd lunch lmao

with the extra teams I think the nrl is finally in a position to overtake the afl tv deals
I've labelled PVL gullible for being played by Nine and Fox. He didn't had to extend Fox's contract in particular for five years at the height of Covid. He could've just said to Fox,
" how about we extend for another three years and all up we are together for another five years. In this situation we need to be fluid. Pandemic could end tomorrow". Or words to that effect.

Despite this, IMO what Smith did back in 2015 was worse for a couple of reasons. Firstly, without the pressure of a pandemic and in relative peactime, Smith decided to announce a FTA deal with Nine which included all of the key timeslots- Thurs night, Fri night, Sat night and Sun arvo. It left Fox with scraps.

And he didn't complete the deal. Where was the subscription side of it? Fox were peeved off and in the end, Smith lost his job. And because of Smith's mistake, the game didnt fully maximise its revenue potential of the 2018-2022 deal.

Secondly, if Smith and the NRL played their cards right card and maximised the 2018-2022 deal, then things could've been different.

Fast forward to 2020, the game is in lockdown due to the pandemic. If Smith did the right thing back in 2015, then who knows, the NRL might've had another $100 or $200 million in savings. In this situation, the NRL has more financial security to fend off a pandemic and could've had less pressure to get the game back on the field. And Nine and Fox would not have taken advantage of the game.

It's easy to point the finger at the current mob in charge. But the game's administrative predecessors should never be forgotten either for their triumphs or failures.

Wb1234

I've labelled PVL gullible for being played by Nine and Fox. He didn't had to extend Fox's contract in particular for five years at the height of Covid. He could've just said to Fox,
" how about we extend for another three years and all up we are together for another five years. In this situation we need to be fluid. Pandemic could end tomorrow". Or words to that effect.

Despite this, IMO what Smith did back in 2015 was worse for a couple of reasons. Firstly, without the pressure of a pandemic and in relative peactime, Smith decided to announce a FTA deal with Nine which included all of the key timeslots- Thurs night, Fri night, Sat night and Sun arvo. It left Fox with scraps.

And he didnt complete the deal. Where was the subscription side of it? Fox were peeved off and in the end, Smith lost his job. And because of Smith's mistake, the game didnt fully maximise its revenue potential of the 2018-2022 deal.

Secondly, if Smith and the NRL played their cards right card and maximised the 2018-2022 deal, then things could've been different.

Fast forward to 2020, the game is in lockdown due to the pandemic. If Smith did the right thing back in 2015, then who knows, the NRL might've had another $100 or $200 million in savings. In this situation, the NRL has more financial security to fend off a pandemic and could've had less pressure to get the game back on the field. And Nine and Fox would not have taken advantage of the game.

It's easy to point the finger at the current mob in charge. But the game's administrative predecessors should never be forgotten either for their triumphs or failures.
Pretty much

smith is a huge reason foxtel got even more control over the game

foxtel called his bluff and there were no other bidders

so out of spite they added the 6 pm Friday game whose sole purpose is to take ratings away from nines live Friday night football

have some patience with vlandys the guy is a proven winner

that afl deal is padded to the max

if it weren’t they would be saying how much each network paid

Where does Australia rank in the World as far as internet speeds go?

Streaming Live Sport takes a lot more than watched a pre recorded show, I have and use Kayo an the difference between Kayo and Say Netflix is massive.

There a days when Chromecast is always buffering but put on Netflix and it is perfect, AFL mentioned this why they took less to stay with Fox.

A few years away, So hopefully the technology is better and it is viable
Our wireless internet is amongst the best in the world, but we lag behind 30 or 40 countries for wired internet. Being a sparsely populated continent makes it expensive to have everyone wired.