Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game 2023 Crowd Watch

Yep, he’ll spend more time looking at the big screen than the actual game unless he brings binoculars. At some point one realises they’ve traveled to the footy only to watch the game on a big tele.

On that note I think we got it wrong with the central coast game this year. That dogs game would do well at SFS on the Sunday arvo and we could have moved the storm game up to central coast which is going to be played at SCG due to women's world cup. That would have meant just the one game at SCG (manly) out of necessity although I see logic in having that at central coast too and giving them 2 games.

Was hoping it might be a bit higher than 24.6k at this stage.

I know the game gets good walkups on the day, but perhaps thinking 35k might be a high watermark this year?

Theknightsrule7

Really hope we can get at least 20,000 in Newcastle. However the warriors aren't a big drawing card here in Newcastle. I'm thinking more 17, 18 thousand.

But it's meant to be good weather, knights have shown improvement and you have the public holiday the next day. Probably got the beat Sunday 6pm timeslot all season.

Warriors Fever

Really hope we can get at least 20,000 in Newcastle. However the warriors aren't a big drawing card here in Newcastle. I'm thinking more 17, 18 thousand.

But it's meant to be good weather, knights have shown improvement and you have the public holiday the next day. Probably got the beat Sunday 6pm timeslot all season.
I reckon a crowd similar to the dolphins is possible, I’m looking forward to making the trip up.

yakstorm

It's only Tuesday, so the 24.6K is really encouraging. Members are unlikely to be included in the tickets as well.

Cowboys v Dolphins is selling really strongly, not sure if there are lots of seats on hold, but looking at Ticketmaster there are only scatterings of seats in all areas. Definitely strongest selling game yet this year, I'd be surprised if it was less than 20K.

Nice seeing Broncos v Raiders selling into Level 6 at Suncorp. Not sure if Titans v Dragons is selling well or if just most of the ground isn't on sale, hopefully it is the former and the Dragons fans in South East Queensland are buying up.

yakstorm

Don't forget all Bulldogs AND Rabbitohs season ticket holders get access to the game.

Forgot about Rabbitohs members also having access, between the two sets, there is easily 15-20K worth of season ticket holders who could be attending as well.

BlueandGold

Forgot about Rabbitohs members also having access, between the two sets, there is easily 15-20K worth of season ticket holders who could be attending as well.

Do rabbitohs members get access to this game?

Thought that was only a thing for a couple of years, can anyone confirm?

If no access then only Dogs members not included in that number which means looking at a crowd of high 30's which is still very good.

yakstorm

Just checked, it lists this for all the ticketed membership packages:
Your Membership includes a ticket to every Rabbitohs NSW home game in the Diamond, Gold or Silver Reserved section, as well as our Good Friday reciprocal away game against the Bulldogs at Accor Stadium.

BlueandGold

NRL Crowd Predictions for Rnd 6

Thu 8pm Storm/Roosters 15k
Fri 4pm Bulldogs/Rabbitohs 41k
Fri 8pm Cowboys/Dolphins 23k
Sat 5.30pm Panthers/Manly 18k
Sat 7.30pm Broncos/Raiders 30k (Could be larger, not sure on Broncos crowds atm.)
Sun 4pm Titans/Dragons 14k
Sun 6.15pm Knights/Warriors 17k (Could easily be over 20k)
Mon 4pm Tigers/Eels 24k (Went very conservative due to both teams form. Eels fans might outnumber tigers here.)

Total 182k. Average 22.7k

beave

NQ v Dolphins has a low availability warning coming up on Ticketmaster. Having a look at the interactive map it's down to sporadic singles, there's only a couple of bays with 2-3 seats next to one another available so it should be 22k+ (season tickets and corporates will be a big factor if they're headed away for the long weekend)

SouthsCountry

If you look at the attendances from the last ten years (excluding the significantly COVID-impacted 2020-21), here's a breakdown of the attendances by club:

View attachment 72091

The "Big 4" Sydney clubs (based on attendances only) are:
1. Bulldogs (not a small feat, considering how average they have been for the better part of a decade)
2. Rabbitohs (boosted significantly by big crowds 2012-2014)
3. Eels (new stadium has been central to improved crowds in 2019 and 2022)
4. Roosters (contrary to popular opinion)
Wests and St George Illawarra have the biggest fanbases (mergers), they're all just in hiding.

Wests fans are tortured but loyal, they've had enough though.

St George Illawarra fans are fickle and I dare say some pivot to watching the Swoms when they aren't winning

The ranking really is:

Wests
StGI
Souths
Canterbury
Parra
Easts
Penrith
Cronulla
Manly

Harry O

I believe St George have the most supporters in the League, but for some reason they have dissapeared over the years..

SouthsCountry

I know this sounds weird but I'm really looking forward to going to the Gabba games as a novelty. It would be nice to see a proper QLD footy team play their instead of just the Melbourne Lions. Plus the fact that I live a block away helps ;P
Calling em Fitzroy (and the Swines South Melbourne) pisses off every AFLol cult member in Brisbane and Sydney

That's why they still draw well in Melb though...
42k for Demons v Swans had about 15k Swans fans, majority Melb based (that is an old rivalry Melb v South Melb)

That's what bringing the Bears back will do, a strong away contingent for an interstate club due to the pre-relocation fans.

Perth Bears all the way, Perth Red's Pirates can go get stuffed