Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023 Origin III - Wed 12 Jul - NSW 24-10 QLD @ Accor

Series: NSW v QLD

• New South Wales

Votes: 5 15.6%
  • Queensland

Votes: 25 78.1%

Votes: 2 6.3%

Dogs made the GF in 2009.
Hannant was picked from that.

Are You Sure GIF by Monty Python

Clarkent

Im a Knights fan and I have no idea how Saifiti was picked. He’s been horrendous all year.
Not only that he picked the worse brother out of the two. Saifiti brothers were both great players but they're way past there best now. I would've picked Klemmer ahead of them easily

Woody90

Not only that he picked the worse brother out of the two. Saifiti brothers were both great players but they're way past their best now. I would've picked Klemmer ahead of them easily

Dan’s been even worse this year. Slow, lazy and out of of touch. Out of Jacob, Daniel and Klemmer, Jacob is probably the least bad selection out of all three but he’s still shit.

Wouldn’t surprise me if Freddy can’t even tell the twins apart and just randomly picked one because Gus likes them (same reason TPJ got picked).

Tweed Titan

Thank god this will be the last game Fittler is in charge.

Gutho on the bench is quite a chuckle. I don't know whose missus Hynes f*cked but he's been properly dudded by Fittler this series. I'd have had him at 7 for Moses for game two and three comfortably.

Also bringing in a 33 year old Cody Walker for a dead rubber is just silly.

Gutherson, Jacob Saifiti and Bradman Best are three massive trademark Freddy WTF selections.

Tweed Titan

yes he is, however hes played 80 mins both games and we've conceded an average of 30 points per game
Lol I'm sure its Yeo's fault we've conceded heaps of points. Our middles have won the battle in both games. Our awful edges being destroyed is why we've conceded points.

Tweed Titan

Yeo should come on after 30 mins, sub Murray, and when Murray is back on after 50 mins, Yeo can play prop.

Murray is elite, he throws himself at everything and plays himself to the point of exhaustion. But he doesn't do this for 80 mins in the NRL so won't do this for 80 mins in Origin. Or maybe Freddy will play him 80 and he'll injure himself and we'll lose our best player.
You seem to have a very strong victim mentality. Already moaning about hypothetical things that haven't even happened to your team yet.

Tweed Titan

It's funny how some in here are blaming the panthers players for the nsw demise. But you take those players out of the team and you end up with a more rubbish team.
I'm glad they dropped Luai so they can blame someone else. He was never the problem in the first place. Fittler picking young on the left edge was shocker. He should've picked Olaku'atu because his style suited Luai's game. He plays similar to Kikau. Walker has no footwork and he'll struggle again against qld.

Luai missing out is a huge win for the Panthers
Most sensible people are blaming Fittler, not players or teams.

Iamback

Most sensible people are blaming Fittler, not players or teams.

Yep, Game 2 is perfect example.

NSW down at halftime, have a decent set with a handy kick.

1 player chases ( Martin I think) gets beat by Walsh, Who because of a poor chase. Gets to the halfway. They score that set.

Stuff like that comes down to poor prep as does selecting players that aren't suitable

This Year?

I almost hope QLD win game 3 only just to show how idiotic the NSW selection is.
On NRL360 Brandy says each SOO is it's own event. So what is the series as a whole?
They cheapen the jersey by chopping and changing. It's a nice reward for individuals to get picked like Cody and Clint etc but it feels more like winning a popularity contest than winning a rugby league game.
Need more middles and stop playing players out of position.
We'll get gaped in either edge again because we can't hold them in the middle and their edges are too quick.

mxlegend99

Just because I don’t think Cleary is the best option for NSW doesn’t make me a f**kwit mate. Jeez for all of the Penrith bullshit about not caring if your players are picked you all seem to care a hell of a lot.
Who's better than him? Cleary was part of the biggest winning series margin for NSW in 2021, he was replaced by Moses for game 3 and they lost having destroyed QLD in the first 2 games. THe only difference for the game 3 squad being he and Luai were out. So the replacement halves had the same team to work with and not only couldn't dominate, they couldn't win.

All this being equal, none of the other options have been any better than either player. At the end of the day the halves only have what Freddy gives them to work with, and that's no game plans and a team that was picked with no real thought behind who is playing. This only worked when Queensland had a coach who didn't have a clue either.

For Game 1 Fittler took the Panthers right edge because of the combinations they have.... and put them on the left, breaking up the defensive combination of Cleary, Martin, Crichton and To'o who are the best defensive right edge in the competition.

This weakened defence on both sides of the field and it removed the combination and instincts that Crichton and To'o have playing on the right side. Martin coming off the bench was just about the best player on field but he really should have been starting on the right and keeping that right edge in tact. Likewise with Cam Murray. It took Fittler 2 lost games to start with his two best second row options? Even after Game 1, he didn't see the immediate impact these guys made and decide to start with them.

Those little things make selecting combinations pointless. At this point they have no advantage over picking a left centre and winger from any club on the left. It's actually a disadvantage to NSW as that left centre and winger will atleast be in their natural position even without combinations. It's something so stupid it's still unbelievable Fittler wanted blokes out of position while his reasoning for picking them was the combinations he was then ignoring.

Being part of a Fittler team is doing no favors to anyone at the moment. He has always done crazy weird shit, but it gets worse each year. He's only doing harm to rep careers. Under a competent coach who picked players for a reason some of these guys might never have had a chance, but the ones who did wouldn't be on a hiding to nothing.

Is this the end of Young in rep footy? Luai? Hynes? Paulo? Why drop those guys but keep the captain who was horribly out of form before the series started and has only hurt his team by trying to overplay his hand? Tedesco should have been the first player dropped after game 1, which he should never have been picked for.

This game Gutho has been thrown to the wolves like Hynes was. What's he going to do from the bench? His only other rep games were equally as poor decisions with Freddy thinking he could just take any fullback and throw him in the centres because it worked with Turbo.

I think it's in players best interest to be nowhere near the blues team this year. If by some miracle they won game 3, it really doesnt prove anything. But a loss is just going to be further damaging to everyone involved even though the issues clearly start before the team was picked.

nick87

Its an objectively wild and frankly absurd NSW team.
Fittler is a wounded animal lashing out at this point... NSWRL should do him a favour and just put the poor merkin out of his misery

The Siafiti selection is truly baffling, he's been stealing wages for the knights this year. Really hasnt even played at a level that warrants selection in FG, let alone SOO. A middle forward rotation of RCG, the ghost of Jake T, the wage thief Saifiti and Yeo... up against Cotter, Tino, Collins, Fotuaika and Hors-bruh... YIKES

The bench in general is a mess. Gutho as a bench option? Madness imo.
And the forward pack is totally unbalanced. Bringing in a 33 y/o for a dead rubber game is honestly jarring in it's stupidity imo. Like the player but what's the best case scenario here? he kills it and you're locking yourself into 34 y/o half in 2024? Where purpose does that serve? Pick Hynes in his actual position and lets see what he can do at this level. If he flops you can always go back to Walker next year.

The Best selection is just knee jerk reaction to the Dogs game. He's been OK this year, nothing flash. He's got handling errors in him, and he's a poor decision maker in defence. Even in attack he can take a lot of poor options. But he is very talented, could work out or it might be a disaster. That'll be interesting to see.

I like picking Murray over Yeo but like others, my view is Yeo is either starting at lock, or he's not picked. Make your call on it and be comfortable with it. Half measuring in picking him on the bench doesnt make a lot of sense to me.

Thought Young played well enough in game 2 to hold his spot, but i thought he was lucky to retain his spot after his game 1, which was obviously not good. But i think Koloamatangi and Martin are the best options in the back row. Think Young should have probably gotten a bench spot. He actually a really good and effective middle forward impact player and think he'd do well in origin in that role as energiser middle forward who covers the edge in the case of injury.

JamesRustle

Freddy (and selectors) have taken the passion and enjoyment out of this series.

Seriously, it will take a real effort for me to watch this game, let alone get excited for it.

Buck stops with the coach, so... worst rep coach ever goes to Fitler.

Iamback

Have they dropped Luai because he’s a massive f**kwit?

I mean I’m on board because the team is easier to like but Walker isn’t alot better in the f**kwit stakes.

Especially as IF you were going to drop guys it should be planning for the future.

A 34 year old isn't that