Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

5th of Feb

yappy

You bluebags better fire up the barbie. Put the beers on ice boys cause we're coming to Henso! All four Magpie grades trialling against the Jets and your gummie mates.

Roll on Footy season! (and make sure some of those cans are Black for me won't you lads ;-) )

Jeffles

We only have one common grade. But it'll be a great game (I have already nicknamed it the Poole-Raudonikis Cup).

Feb 5 - it'll be a hot day. Plenty of cans to be drunk. Whoever orders the Black better fetch me a Silver Bullet.

The last visit wasn't too good for you guys. Long may things stay that way. :mrgreen:

yappy

times change my friend!

but cold beer and hard football will forever be a match made in Heaven.

yappy

Have you guys got a squad list yet?

We'll probably still be playing a lot of Flegg boys who won't see much Premiers action in this game (as Sheens will as usual have most playing Firsts trials) and I assume most fringe Sharks will be with Raper for you guys.

I think we've recruited pretty well. Nice balance of size and speed. Very young squad too. We won't have anyone over 24 playing in black and white this year unless Skando gets dropped. (although there is talk that Tere might go around one more time - he was looking at overseas opportunities).

Jeffles

Our numbers aren't finalised yet.

The Sharks have started training so there is a group of players there that will be with us. The Newtown contracted players are not yet complete.

2 True Blues

I beleive the Sharks have Paul MELLOR and Adam DYKES returning to their side. MELLOR having returned from English club Castleford.

They have also signed Wests Tigers goalkicking winger Luke COVELL. Warriors centre Vince MELLARS and St George Premier league centre Bea SCOTT.
Former Canterbury prop Hutch MAIVA and former Penrith player Luke HARLEN.

I also heard a rumor that Clifford MANUA has a brother who has been signed by the Sharks also.

Fullbacks: David PEACHEY, David SIMMONS.

Wings: Nathan MERRITT, Paul MELLOR, Luke COVELL.

Halves: Brett KIMMORLY, Russell AITKIN, Adam DYKES.

Centres: Nigel VAGANA, Bea SCOTT, Vince MELLORS, Ryan McGOLDRICK.

Hookers: Matt HILDER, Michael SULLIVAN.

Backrowers: Phil BAILEY, Greg BIRD, Paul GALLEN, Keith GALLOWAY, Sam ISEMONGER, Andrew LOMU, Luke HARLEN, Phillip LEULEUI, Reece WILLIAMS, Clifford MANUA, Rhys LOVEGROVE.

Props: Jason STEVENS, Dan NUTLEY, Luke DOUGLAS, Jon GREEN, James STOSIC, Hutch MAIVA .

This is atleast some of the players available.

Can't wait for season 2005.

2 True Blues

Perhaps there is room for a Ben COOK or SINISA on the wing as well ????

What do you's think ?.

How many ? If Any ? Can Newtown pick themselves without Cronulla's say ?.

Who do they have in mind, if this is the case ?

Cronulla appear to be a club recruiting size ( bigger players ).

Jeffles

2 True Blues said:
Cronulla appear to be a club recruiting size ( bigger players ).

That's true. It suggests the feeder is more about admin costs than "faith in our player recruitment". IMO our players in PL were a class above theirs, especially considering how mnay they had that were full time.

Cook is a good enough player to start PL next year. It'll probably be on the wing although we all know he can handle full back.

I'm not sure of Newtown's signings thus far. Bluebag is your man there.

Newtown have to pick who Cronulla want (out of Cronulla's squad). Other than that Newtown have free reign I understand.

Cronulla have a top 30. Take away the NRL 17 and there are 13 leftovers. So in theory the starting Newtown side could be ALL Cronulla contracted players with the Newtown contracted players being the 4 bench players. The reality will be different. Players get injured and form fluctuates.

Fred Flintstone

I' am hoping we see a kid, even better if it's somebody we've all never seen or heard of, start in Round One in the JBC and finish the year in the NRL.

What a story that would be!!!

Jeffles

Fred Flintstone said:
I' am hoping we see a kid, even better if it's somebody we've all never seen or heard of, start in Round One in the JBC and finish the year in the NRL.

What a story that would be!!!

That might be a big chance. A lot of PL quality players may be pushed down to JBC (points allowing) because of the surplus of 2nd grade players. It may be a bit artifical and not necessarily a product of the JBC.

For example, say Ben Cook gets put in JBC next year because Cronulla want to play their players and there is no room for Cook. He then plays JBC. Then they come to their senses and he moves up in grades (possibly helped by injuries to more senior players) and he gets a run in the NRL. Hardly a success story for JBC because Cook is a PL player in a club that has heaps of PL standard players. It would be a success for the jets though, considering his service with us.

2 True Blues

Newtown have to pick who Cronulla want (out of Cronulla's squad). Other than that Newtown have free reign I understand
Sorry mate but this statement to me is the contradiction of the century !!!!

Free reign over what. The oranges at half time. :lol: :lol:

Jeffles

What I meant was this...

If Stuart Raper wants to play someone in PL in a certain spot, Newtown has to. But, he won't pick the whole 17. Raper's choice is limited to players he has dropped or players he wants to try out because of injury. The relationship is like that of any 1st grade and 2nd grade coach.

2 True Blues

The squad as listed further above consists of 31 players. I believe Cronulla actually have 32 players signed. ( Although I don't know this too be fact ).

If this is the case and they have 32, 17 will play 1st grade.
Leaving 15 players to make up the numbers in PL.

As such there are two vacant positions left.

All I want to know is if there are two vacant positions. Do Newtown as such have the say in who fills these two positions.

If so. Have they any two players in mind. Obviously these two players would have to be capable of playing a certain required position.

If they do have the say in only two players. Do they have anyone currently in mind, or already signed to fill these positions. If so, WHO ????

If they don't even have the say in these two final positions does this mean, as a result of this, that the JB side will be continuallly distrupted as a result of injuries, and player form slumps.

Will our PL side be favoured over the Cronulla Jersey Flegg side when it comes to players being dropped, taking age under consideration.

With the restrictions placed upon clubs under the points system in JB cup, and the fact as previously mentioned that all in all the quality of our PL players when compared to that of the Cronulla side was comparable and at times much better,

It would only be right that Newtown have the say in these final two places in the PL side.
This would take the strain off the JB side a little more, not having to instantly take players from their side if requried.

It would also allow players specially signed by Newtown to interchange with other players in the Jb side when form required ETC. Without this we would not be able to use Cronulla signings in JB cup would we ???

I guess there will also be changes between Cronulla's JFlegg side and the PL side, and by Newtown having a say in these final two positions this would restrict the free movement of this without certain hassles.

Does anyone who if we can select 2 players to fill these final two places, or not ??

Bluebag

Newtown will select its own team, I would doubt that 15 players would return given injuries, suspensions etc.

2 True Blues

Newtown will select its own team
I'm sorry but I must be stupid or something. I'm still not getting it mate.
If Cronulla have 32 signings, leaving it two short of a two team sqad, then they have first pick for first grade, leaving 15 players that THEY have not selected for us.

Then even if there are some injuries ( which there shouldn't be pre season anyway ) and the ODD ( SURELY ) suspension it would still only leave several vacant positions for Newtown to fill.

Bringing me back to the same question everytime. How many players will Newtown have permission to sign on their own accord ?.

Will we be able to prevent an instant disrutpion to our JB side by recruiting players to fill these few vacant positions ???.

Jeffles

All I want to know is if there are two vacant positions. Do Newtown as such have the say in who fills these two positions.

100% say.

If they don't even have the say in these two final positions does this mean, as a result of this, that the JB side will be continuallly distrupted as a result of injuries, and player form slumps.

They do have a say. But still the JBC will always be very disrupted. It exists to serve a PL side.

Will our PL side be favoured over the Cronulla Jersey Flegg side when it comes to players being dropped, taking age under consideration.

Do you mean for JBC? Obviously the points system will hinder Newtown. Flegg represents an opportunity for us to have an even side in Flegg (as opposed to haveing heaps of PL players with heaps of duds).

it would still only leave several vacant positions for Newtown to fill.

That's right.

How many players will Newtown have permission to sign on their own accord ?.

However many we can afford/need to make up good squads for both sides. No doubt there will be less contracted players this year than last year.