Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A Credit to the Jets training team !!!

2 True Blues

How many former-Jets have gone on to play recent NRL.!!??

I reckon it's an acknowledgement to the expertise of our training staff that so many players have come thru our ranks to go on to be very successful in the current NRL. !!

I was thinking the other day that it is quite a figure now.

Quickly comin to mind are Nathan MERRITT and his importance to Souths, Jamie SOWARD and his importance to Saints, Josh LEWIS to Titans, Cliffy MANUA made an NRL debut for his ' new ' club Melbourne Storm last week, Kingston and many others for the Sharks, and even some current Roosters.

Great work I'd say and very proffessional. !! ;-) :cool: ;-)

bluebag43

Yes, 2TB's it is a credit to the Jets training Team.

The Head Trainer, Dennis Yates can take alot of credit for players success when they move up to the "Show".

Paul Young's promotion to be an Assistant Coach to Freddie Fittler this year, is another example of the professionalism of Newtown's coaches and trainers!

outsider

Greg Stanton has gone as he did very little for the team either at training or game day, did not strap, did not massage so the coaching staff wanted staff to be on hand to help during the preperation of the team not just for the game.

2TB, Lewis is not playing with the Titans either in FG or even QLD cup at the moment. Did little with the Jets except complain to all and sundry about the place. Clifford Manua made his debut in FG for Cronulla also played Fg with the Bronco's.

girvie

David Fa'alogo was a Newtown player wasn't he?

It would be good to see a list of everyone this decade who has played for Newtown and then gone on to make their Nrl debut.

bluebag43

Yes, Fa'alogo was brought over to Australia from NZ by Gavin Orr and he first played for Newtown as a Centre.

When we were involved with Souths they quickly snapped him up.

I remember we were playing your mob Norths at North Sydney Oval and David was listed to play but Souths took him that day and we never saw him in the Royal Blue again.

Another Newtown success story!

brendothejet

You can't really claim all these players as Newtown development but. Almost all of them have come from our association to an NRL club be it Warriors, Souths, Sharks or Roosters.

Yeah, they've played some good football for newtown, but it isn't like they are born and bred bluebags.

bluebag43

I take your point Brendo BUT, Like Fa'alogo they got a start with Newtown. Maybe they may not have been seen at all if they were not given that start.

Another case in point along with Stosic is Phil Leuleui and Cliff Manua who were given a start with Newtown, were then signed by Cronulla when we went into the feeder arrangement with them.

2 True Blues

You can't really claim all these players as Newtown development but. Almost all of them have come from our association to an NRL club be it Warriors, Souths, Sharks or Roosters.

Yeah, they've played some good football for newtown, but it isn't like they are born and bred bluebags.

They were jets signings mate.

The training has obviously been very good for them, in the stepping stone that was the "Jets" , for them on their paths to the NRL.

However I can understand your passion and desire for better quality players in the A grade ranks. It was not the intention of this thread though. I was more along the lines of Girvies post/thought as was also wondering how many players there in fact were who have come through the Jets ranks . I know it would be a very lengthy and interesting list.

Another eg would be Vince MELLARS, whose career was certainly on the brink until Jets signed him, and he played some good NRL footy that he may have missed the chance to play otherwise.

I think the greatest acknowledgement is the fact that MANY ex Jet players are seen seated around the ground on the odd saturday afternoon at Henson with mates and family. Long after they have left the club as a player, yet they come back to see how the guys are going etc. That says it all for me.

2 True Blues

I take your point Brendo BUT, Like Fa'alogo they got a start with Newtown. Maybe they may not have been seen at all if they were not given that start.

Another case in point along with Stosic is Phil Leuleui and Cliff Manua who were given a start with Newtown, were then signed by Cronulla when we went into the feeder arrangement with them.

What about Kevin KINGSTON mate. ;-)

brendothejet

They were jets signings mate.

The training has obviously been very good for them, in the stepping stone that was the "Jets" , for them on their paths to the NRL.

However I can understand your passion and desire for better quality players in the A grade ranks. It was not the intention of this thread though. I was more along the lines of Girvies post/thought as was also wondering how many players there in fact were who have come through the Jets ranks . I know it would be a very lengthy and interesting list.

Another eg would be Vince MELLARS, whose career was certainly on the brink until Jets signed him, and he played some good NRL footy that he may have missed the chance to play otherwise.

I think the greatest acknowledgement is the fact that MANY ex Jet players are seen seated around the ground on the odd saturday afternoon at Henson with mates and family. Long after they have left the club as a player, yet they come back to see how the guys are going etc. That says it all for me.

Yeah i agree that the jets have thrown a lifeline to blokes and turned around several careers, and it is good to see them come back and have an affinity with the club.

There are different types of development and I guess we develop players who are already at a certain level.

2 True Blues

Hey brendo, was that you sitting up in the commentery box with the lads last week against the Vulcans ?? I'll have to come over and say G' day next time .

You missing the game today too mate. I could not afford the petrol money, gonna post some scores via phone though hopefully. etc. GO The Jets !!!