Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A Disgraceful Club

A Disgraceful Club: The Parramatta Eels have been a joke for a long time now. They have been a shockingly run club with a shambolic front office, a historically insipid recruiting staff, a lazy and lacklustre playing group and the odd coach who is well out of his depth. We have been over it all before and it didn't get any better on-field when, in Luke Burt's 250th first grade game, the Eels scored 34 points against an injury-ravaged Raiders and still managed to lose.

But that paled into insignificance compared to the humiliation the Parramatta players were forced to endure last Monday when made to stand on stage like hapless lambs as the Eels membership took pot shot after pot shot. The meek and disgraceful Parramatta board - who had only that week further destabilised the club by leaking the news about the possible recruitment of Jason Taylor in an assistant coach/coaching director role - sat behind coach Stephen Kearney and the players.

It was one of the most gutless, self-interested, idiotic moves by a football board I have ever had the misfortune of seeing. To put Nathan Hindmarsh up there - even as a Canterbury fan who loathes the Eels, I just felt sad. Why was the board not out front arguing for their existence after hiring Paul Osborne and overseeing the recruitment team and firing Daniel Anderson and letting Stephen Kearney implement one system and then recruit for another?

It was a cheap publicity stunt that plunged the Eels even deeper into the mire.

Who would have thought the days of Denis Fitzgerald would have been the longed-for halcyon days?

If there isn't change from the very top in the next year then the Eels members are just as culpable.
http://www.rleague.com/content/article.php?id=43680

lol @ Matt O'Neill....this grub defended his club through the Coffs Harbour and Sallary cap scandal..

he is a grub of the highest order.

aqua_duck

lol @ Matt O'Neill....this grub defended his club through the Coffs Harbour and Sallary cap scandal..

Exactly. The dogs haven't exactly set the world on fire these last few years and sacked a bloke who was practically born and raised at the club only 4 days after coming out in the media and saying his job was safe. Then there's the whole underhanded Des Hasler affair, throwing a million bucks at a bloke who still had the best part of a year to run on his contract and trying to destabilize Manly to get their man early. Matty O needs to have a look at his own club before he starts taking pot shots at other clubs. Under the current board even a crook like Gary McIntyre is welcomed back with open arms

oldmancraigy

Who would have thought the days of Denis Fitzgerald would have been the longed-for halcyon days?

If there isn't change from the very top in the next year then the Eels members are just as culpable.

It might shock him to realize that many of us think we're still better off without the lying mongrel in charge!

Some of the points made in the article are woeful.
The hiring of Osbourne wasn't the abject failure it has been made out as. The guy recruited some quality players, and oversaw an enormous membership drive. There's positives alongside the negatives (many of which were invented...)

Sacking Andersen wasn't (I still believe) based on reason, but rather on him being "Fitzy's man" and was a terrible idea. Basically they decided to get rid of him to free themselves of the last remnants of the 'old regime'.
Hiring SK was seen as a mastersroke by all in the media at the time - one journo rated him the 2nd best coach in the comp BEFORE last season kicked off.

As far as recruiting for a 'different style' to SK's style - absolute bollocks. Of course SK had a say in whom we were chasing - that's why we were talking about the 65 year extension.

If we had results on the field, everyone would be saying what a great job they were doing.

So it's not like they're imbeciles at running the business side of things, it's just struggle-central ON the paddock.
The football side of operations is a shambles - and you can't blame the board for that - the coach is the one who is somehow managing to get a group with reasonable talent to play like Wentworthville.

That may be the case, however we have hit rock bottom as a club like never before. This is not an uncommon perception of our club and whilst this pelican may take things to the extreme, I would think that most NRL fans think we are a shambles.

To add to the pain, we are even the brunt of jokes on the NRL facebook site where we are quoted as possibly losing against the bye.

who's Matt O'Neil?

From the same page ...

Quote of the Week: Jarryd Hayne, upon being selected for NSW: "as soon as I put on the Blues jersey, things are different...when it comes to giving my all for NSW, I really don't think that should be in question". The Parramatta faithful will love hearing that one. The assumption there: he willingly admits he does not give his all for the blue and gold.

... think a bit harder before opening your mouth Jarryd - I know you want to say you'll kick arse, but just say it in a way that doesn't suggest all you care about is rep footy

I bleed blue & gold

I thought it was one of SK's conditions that he had full (or close to it) control on retention and recruitment? With Nolan etc. Am i wrong?

emjaycee

This article is accurate in some points and crap in others.

If the author loathes Parramatta as he states, why was he even at our AGM?
To attend he must be a member - is he a member of a club he loathes?
And I went to the AGM on Tuesday, not Monday you dufus!!

Oh and for a long time we have had a "historically insipid recruiting staff" - would that be Noel Cleal who I believe is now at the Dogs, or Peter Nolan who is reputedly the best in the business? There was only a gap of a couple of years between the two.

And although a minor point, the players and Kearney were not actually on the stage. They were in front of it on the floor, with Kearney, Nolan and Hindy coming forward to a microphone for their 2-3 minute talk and then to answer questions.

Merkin!!

Bigfella

The real disgrace is that a f**kwit bulldog troll writes shit like this and it gets support from so called parramatta supporters.

There is only one person on here who did not say that he was over the top. I'm not taking ME in to account cos he's always tongue-in-cheek.

So nice try.

#3Amigos

Delboy

What a bunch of morons we have pretending to support our club, O'Neill is a grub abd the ususal suspects are on here adding to his comments. He is a Dogs fan who will give it to us at every opportunity, grow some and support your club

A few years ago when the Sharks were getting lapped every week, they played a reggies semi at Parra stadium on a rainy Satirday arvo as a stand alone against the Eels , guess what the Sharks fans turned up with flags and cheered and sang through the game

They lost, and they stayed behind to clap their team off the field, thats what supporting your club is about, I have been a season ticvket holder since 1982, and will always be a fan, lets see some of the younger posters o\n this forum get behind the team no matter what

i'm still struggling to see where all the parra supporters are jumping on this o'neil dude's bandwagon in this thread????

Maybe, but in both instances he is sticking up for the players. I agree with his article 100%.

I liken the current Parra board to the formally run Sharks board headed by Barry Pierce, who nearly sent us into oblivion.

Maybe, but in both instances he is sticking up for the players. I agree with his article 100%.

I liken the current Parra board to the formally run Sharks board headed by Barry Pierce, who nearly sent us into oblivion.

but at least he dressed well :sarcasm:

AGM was on Tuesday not Monday as stated.
There is a reason why most of us here leaft that site to come here, the author of that story is reason.
Not one article he has written over years have been unbaised.
He is a nuffy a nobody and i can't believe Gronk even bothered to goto that site.