Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL Round 8

C

CyberKev

Well, I'm back from a six-day sojourn in Ballarat and ready to roll into another round of crucial AFL matches...

<table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td align=left bgcolor=#f7f0de colspan=2><span>FRIDAY MAY 16</span></td></tr> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td align=left><span>Hawthornvs Essendon </span></td> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td colspan=2> Melbourne Cricket Ground<span>7:40 PM AEST</span> <span>The media is billing this as a last stand match for both clubs and while history is littered with instances of sides performing dismally early prior to a later surge, I suspect they may not be too far off the mark here. Essendon were as poor as they have been for many years last week and were totally mauled by a Tiger side high on confidence and playing good football. The Tigers certainly did no favours for a Hawk side that hasn't beaten Essendon since 1997 and isn't showing the form that inspires confidence that they can turn this appalling trend around. The Bombers are short on speed, missing key manpower and look disturbingly inept in attack. This latter woe is shared by their opponents, now 3-4 for the season despite getting more inside fifty ball than their opposition in every game this season. This aside, Hawthorn is not getting enough quality ball out of the centre (too many young and raw midfielders), although they should be more than capable of competing with Essendon in this area. Hawks by 8 pts</span></td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=2>
100782bv.gif
</td></tr> <tr> <td align=left bgcolor=#f7f0de colspan=2><span>SATURDAY MAY 17</span></td></tr> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td align=left><span>Collingwoodvs West Coast </span></td> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td colspan=2> Telstra Dome<span>2:10 PM AEST</span> <span>Collingwood had the luckiest win for many a year last week, but you had to admire their persistence. Malthouse would be happy to see the determination and workrate back in evidence, although their are still flaws in the side that will bring them undone at key moments throughout the season. Lack of depth and pace in the midfield, lack of diverse options up forward, lack of quality players down back... They'll still make the finals, however, and will be too good for West Coast this weekend. The Eagles are a very solid outfit and they normally push the Pies, but they looked a tad sluggish against the Cats last week and lack the workrate to seriously worry Collingwood (in Melbourne, at least). Magpies by 17 pts</span></td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=2>
100782bv.gif
</td></tr> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td align=left><span>Port Adelaidevs Kangaroos </span></td> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td colspan=2> AAMI Stadium<span>2:40 PM AEST</span> <span>Port Adelaide has never beaten the Kangaroos in an AFL match and if the team plays with the same laxity as they did last week then they won't alter this harsh reality this time around either. The Roos looked outmanned by the Hawks last week, but worked hard to exploit that side's lack of confidence and overall match fitness. This will be a tougher task though, as the Power looked to be getting back to near their talented best prior to last week's setback. The loss of Primus will be sorely felt, but their should be enough midfield quality and across the park talent available to get them home here. Mind you, I've been saying the same thing about these clashes for years. Power by 20 pts</span></td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=2>
100782bv.gif
</td></tr> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td align=left><span>Richmondvs Melbourne </span></td> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td colspan=2> Melbourne Cricket Ground<span>7:10 PM AEST</span> <span>Richmond is moving along nicely and played strong last week, being quite unlucky not to win by a larger margin in a game that was crucial to them (in a psychological sense). On current form, Kane Johnson is possibly the premier midfielder in the game and he is being ably supported by gun youngster Coughlan. The team will have to guard against becoming Richo focused, as they looked far more dangerous when sharing the ball around and going to the best available option in his absence. This concern is one that is even more pronounced at Melbourne, which continues to display a perverse dependence on David Neitz up forward. The Demons were solid last week, but Richmond has its measure across the park and it is difficult to see the Tigers getting rolled here. Tigers by 38 pts</span></td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=2>
100782bv.gif
</td></tr> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td align=left><span>Brisbane Lionsvs Adelaide </span></td> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td colspan=2> Gabba<span>7:10 PM AEST</span> <span>Both of these teams were surprise losers last weekend, and Adelaide will feel particularly aggreived at the manner in which they lost that match. It need be said that the Crows were desperately unlucky in hitting the post four times and having to endure a number of very fortunate goals going against them. Nonetheless, I do fear that the team lacks killer instinct and doesn't play particularly smart football when the game tightens-up on them. Brisbane hasn't played well all season, but last week saw it lose for the first time against a committed Swans outfit. Matthews wouldn't want to see his side ambling through games for much longer and will be revving them hard on the trackthis week. The best sides rarely thrash you (invariably they ease themselves through games doing just enough to win, as its a long season) and I was surprised when Brisbane failed to go on with it after drawing within 3 of Sydney late last week. It'll be tough, but Brisbane is the better side and will not allow itself to lose 2 on end. Lions by 22 pts </span></td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=2>
100782bv.gif
</td></tr> <tr> <td align=left bgcolor=#f7f0de colspan=2><span>SUNDAY MAY 18</span></td></tr> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td align=left><span>Sydneyvs Geelong </span></td> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td colspan=2> Sydney Cricket Ground<span>1:10 PM AEST</span> <span>I suspect that this will be the game of the round. Geelong has played hard against quality opposition without getting the points over the past fortnight and has a good recent record against the Harbor-siders. Thompson will be mindful of the averse affects that can come out of losing bravely on too many occasions and will be coveting the four points on offer even more deeply than usual here. Sydney has impressed greatly in recent weeks and will fancy its chances of getting-up against the bottom side on home turf. I think the 'Cats in the Cradle' will get enough ball out of the centre to threaten so much will depend on how well their forwards convert these chances (an area of pressing concern for the Cats all season). It was a thriller here last year and hopefully we're in for more of the same. Swans by 3 pts</span></td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=2>
100782bv.gif
</td></tr> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td align=left><span>Carltonvs Western Bulldogs </span></td> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td colspan=2> Optus Oval<span>2:10 PM AEST</span> <span>Hmmm... The hapless Hounds have endured a real 'Hawthorn' of a week from the press and one would expect them to burst out of the blocks strongly here. Carlton will be suitably rapt by this, having to front-up twice in three weeks against an opposition mauled by the media and baying for blood. The Blues have been similar to the Cats, having lost bravely to Hawthorn and St Kilda by small margins over the past fortnight. This really could go either way and wile Carlton looks stronger on paper, I have a sneaking suspicion that the Dogs will be at their hardest following last weekend's insipid showing. The classy Darcy was dismal last week, but if he plays anywhere near his best this time around then it should be enough to make the difference. Bulldogs by 9 pts</span></td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=2>
100782bv.gif
</td></tr> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td align=left><span>Fremantlevs St Kilda </span></td> <tr bgcolor=#f7f0de> <td colspan=2> Subiaco<span>3:40 PM AEST</span> <span>The Saints have won three on the trot without looking especially wonderful and while they are certainly a side on the rise, they will find this too tough a test at this stage of their development. Fremantle is a much maligned outfit, but I honestly believe that anything less than a finals berth should be seen as a failure by the Dockers this season. The Freo team has exciting young talent that most sides will have difficulty dealing with when switched on. The acquisition of Headland as spruced-up an already capable midfield and there is no shortage of mobile tall timber to keep opposition defences second guessing. St Kilda will give a good account of itself, but, as per last season, I suspect that Freo will be nearly unbeatable at home this season. Connolly will have to ensure that the team doesn't suffer a letdown having finally broken through for a Melbourne win last week though! Dockers by 30 pts</span></td></tr></tbody></table>
The Gripes of Kev I'm not normally the sort of supporter who will call for a coaches head during the course of an AFL season, but this may be about to change come Saturday morning. Hawthorn is clearly a troubled club at the current time and while uncontrollable misfortune has contributed heavily to this scenario over the past 18 months, there still comes a time when excuses become the crutch on which an errant club is doomed to lean on with unacceptable permanence. The Hawk side is almost back to its best structurally, but lacks confidence and crucial experience in the midfield. This latter problem will continue throughout the season regardless of other factors, and I am concerned that Schwab is incapable of dealing with this effectively. Young midfielders will not improve when they are constantly being dragged from the ground for long spells and dropped back to Box Hill after a subpar showing. Young players become better footballers through exposure to champion players and players like Hodge, Mitchell, Johnson, Ries, Greene &amp; Ladson need to be given ample spells for the remainder of the season to be able to progress. This will result in defeats and may even cost a finals position, but it needs to be done for the future good and I don't think Schwab will do these hard yards as he is too concerned (justifiably) with saving his own arse. A loss to Essendon this weekend would effectively bottom out the club and I don't think it is in the position where it can afford to merely drift for the remainder of the year. The Hawk board isn't known for its savagery, but perhaps the time has come for some full-on blood letting at Glenferrie... CyberKev

Essendon.
West Coast.
Port.
Melbourne.
Brisbane.
Sydney.
WESTERN.
Freo.

Good to see Ries back on deck. This kid needs to be fed the ball &amp; allowed to create. I know he's only young but I think with the right effort put in now he'll become show stopper later &amp; not in a flashy way either but just an honest worker getting the job done.

Not quite a quandry, nor even a dilemma, however I do have soft spot for the Dockers.
They are playing like a team that is budding,but to blossom against the Carna Saints,well they are about to endure a slight frost.
CK and Eelsfan,
I am having difficulty in working out who is wronger (yeah,I know,not really a word,but I am sure you get my drift) you or me.At least CK tipped the Saints last week,but your bias against obvious winners is not doing your tipping comp chances a lot of good.However, my selection of margins has been a tad out and the Saints have let me down badly in that regard.Anyway,that means that this week I will have to opt for a more realistic margin.
Saints by 112.

C

CyberKev

Eels Fan

Yeah, Ries looked a likely lad in his debut season last year, but appears to have developed a bout of the dreaded "second year blues". He is one of eight Hawk midfielders aged 21 or under, which is causing considerable problems for the club at the moment. Itsuncommon for players in this age group to play at a consistent level that serves to drive the overall side. The best of the bunch is Hodge, but he's missed both pre-seasons; played all 14 games last year with a groin injury and has just missed 3 weeks with a minor knee complaint. Alas you have to befully fit (and on the paddock) to do well in the middle and I feel that he has been allowed to develop bad habits and grow lazy (as happens to most youngsters) while hidden away in the forward pocket.

Big game for the Bulldogs this weekend too, as they need to respond to the bad press received during the week. I hope they can get up and I believe they will do so, but they really need to get more out of experienced campaigners like Darcy and West.

Lord Ted

LOL! The margin is essentially a non-issue at the end of the day, unless its Round 22 and you're desperately needing a percentage boost in order to sneak into the eight. As for my dismal recent efforts, I tend to think I've suffered more from picking "obvious" winners moreso than ignoring them. I'm not reading things well in this regard at the moment, but I'm not flying solo on this score. Rounds like the last couple are interesting from a tipping vantagepoint, as you can never be sure if the results are mere abberations or whether the competition is undergoing something of a broader seachange.

We are indeed living in interesting times...

CyberKev

C

CyberKev

Memo to Peter Schwab...

GO YE!!!

Another Essendon game, another loss... By his own admission, the club has reached its lowest ebb since he arrived and its difficult to see things turning around with Schwab at the helm. The players need stand condemned for the disinterested manner in which they approached the game and for the dismal nature of their skills on the night. This being said, Schwab shows little sign that he is capable of turning things around and its hard to see the club do anything other than drift under his coaching.

Obviously players will need to go at year's end, but a new coach needs to be appointed sooner rather than later. He needs the chance to assess for himself how much of the current malaise is attributable to player flaws and how much can be traced to fitness and confidence concerns. There have been rumblings about player dissent at Hawthorn for some time now and I can't see that the club has a lot to lose by making a switch.

If Wallace wants the job he can have it as far as I'm concerned. I suspect that Hawthorn wanted to get through 2004 with Schwab at the helm in the hope of picking-up Leigh Matthews at the end of that season. I'd love to have Leigh back at the club, but I'm wary of putting too much stock in an ad hoc Messiah figure. Melbourne failed to make the finals on the back of the fabled Barassi five-year plan in the early eighties and the Blight "ride of your life" months are now the stuff of anti-legend out Moorabbin way. At any rate, late-2004 is far too late given the crucial significance of the here and now to the impressionable young players on the Hawk list.

Ian Dicker is a fine man who places great stock in values and integrity, so it will be hard for him to countenance a mid-season coach sacking. As much as I hate to say it, values and integrity are at a price too high for the Hawthorn football club to reasonably afford right now... The coach is dead, long live the coach...

Of course, Terry Wallace is a man accustomed to 'die for the jumper' attitudes to the game from his days as a Hawk player and his time at the helm of a Bulldogs side not overtly blessed with talent, but ever-ready for a good old fashioned dip. On last night's display, he may not even be willing to put his hand-up for the job and there can be no insult more shameful to deliver to the rabble that is the current Hawk playing side than that!

Oh well, at least the media loves us at the moment.

CyberKev

M

Ms.Storm

Hi Kev
Just a quick hello from me:)

As usual love to read your summary of the weekends afl.

I simply cannot understand the mindset of your club......in keeping Schwab at the helm......they seem almost to have the same ideologies as the MFC ..no wonder they nearly merged! He's got to go immediately, if they want to resurrect their year at least.
Schwabby is too *nice* to coach an afl side......at the moment, just about anyone would be better than him!

Don't ask me to comment on the Demons......its their *down* year this year;)

Catch you soon.

B

Bomber

Kev

I know football jumpers don't win matches, but what the heck were the 'Carnas' thinking this weekend? They looked like the pineapple marshmallows that Mum makes around Christmas time:

007041ao.jpg

How on earth would that clash with Freo?

A final thought - who will be sacked first? Schwab, Rohde or my namesake in Geelong?

Cheers mate
Bomber

C

CyberKev

Ms Storm

The Demons aren't that far away from it. They've lost a bit of midfield oomph over the summer, but if they can get 10% improvement down back they will still be able to make the eight.

I obviously concur with your thoughts on Schwab. I know the club thinks its doing the right thing by rallying around the coach and showing solidarity in a time of crises, but its getting bloody embarrassing to hear Dicker &amp; Brereton going on radio and maintaining that Schwab is doing a fine job
emembarrassed.gif

It would seem that its not just the playing group that has lost its way...

Bomber

Its probably not the greatest look for the Saints and I'm surprised they felt the need to wear the alternate strip for this game, as the Freo &amp; St Kilda jumpers appear reasonably distingusihable as is. Not the greatest result for the side, but they're on the right track and plenty of sides will come back from Subi empty handed this season.

To your other question... There is no doubt in my mind that Schwab should be first to go. Rohde is trying as hard as he can with what he has and I feel that Thompson is better than the results are indicating. At any rate, the pressure will ease on Bomber this week when the Cats roll Hawthorn...

CyberKev

meltiger..

"I obviously concur with your thoughts on Schwab. I know the club thinks its doing the right thing by rallying around the coach and showing solidarity in a time of crises, but its getting bloody embarrassing to hear Dicker &amp; Brereton going on radio and maintaining that Schwab is doing a fine job "

LOL

Now now Kev,

Surely you're not suggesting they act like a certain club just up the train line that has spent the last twenty years sacking coaches mid-season... How many premierships has that broughtthem ?? Or more specifically, thethe least successful of all Victorian teams over that period of time, even Fitzroy weremore succesful
emembarrassed.gif
Oh well, at least we're the best at themoment :D

The Hawks need to let the man see the season out, then appoint someone who is prepared and capable to spend a year of paintaking a look at which one of the pretty boys has it and which of them are just not prepared to commit to their team &amp; then look to building a team from 2005 onwards.

Gotta admit, these rumours about player rumblings about Crawf's footy show antics have even more staunchly confirmed my thoughts about a number of the wankers that get paid a fortuneby the Hawthorn Footy Club - They aremore interested in their own lot, than the succuss of their team.... Mate they need to piss them off now &amp; they won't be consistentlysuccesful until they do &amp; if the fans rally behind these morons and blame the coach.... It's a nasty, dirty habit to get into, just ask any long t erm Richmond supporter.

I don't know w hy people are whinging about St Kilda's jersey. Assomeone who loves our jersey, i'd like to thank St Kilda for wearing that horrid looking thing on the weekend and showing the AFL one of the main reasons why we refuse to changeour jersey for games against the Bombers &amp; Dees. The Tigers would look bloody ridiculous in a mainly gold jersey.

Christ,I would have tipped them to lose if I had known they were going to wear that crap.
Obviously next week they will be in pink netball skirts.
That is just awful.
Now I would have thought it was pretty evident that my AFL knowledge is on the major side of very limited,but I have been following the Carna Saints since 1966(yeah I know it was their only premiership).
You know in the days when they wore proper colours (red,black and white).
I still remember the ABC news on the Friday evening prior to the GF and there was a picture of this flag with "Carna Saints" written on it.I had been following Saint George for a few years by then, so naturally I became a St Kilda supporter ( a kids thinking for you).By the way GF day was about the only time AFL got any coverage on TV in the central tablelands of NSW in those days.
Anyway, my tips for the rest of the season are now prefaced by the colours.Whenever they wear what they are supposed to wear they will win by 112,but on each occassion they wear that canary cock shit,then I tip the opposition by a motza (well except Carlton,they can play nudie style if they like,nothing would ever let me tip Carlton).
Bomber,
Thanks very nothing for the photo.Excuse me, I am off to throw up.
Fancy letting some bloody twinkie design such a faggotty strip.The players should be putting in for workers comp.How could you not suffer post traumatic stress disorder after going public wearing that caper.
WTF is the players association doing?
Jesus, even Molly would be spewing.

C

CyberKev

Meltiger

Surely you're not suggesting they act like a certain club just up the train line that has spent the last twenty years sacking coaches mid-season... How many premierships has that broughtthem ?? Or more specifically, thethe least successful of all Victorian teams over that period of time, even Fitzroy weremore succesful
emembarrassed.gif
Oh well, at least we're the best at themoment :D

I certainly agree that mid-season sackings are something that you don't want to make a habit of, but given that hawthorn has never done this (to the best of my knowledge) I don't think it would hurt on this occasion. Short of a miracle Schwab will be shown the door at season's end anyway and by keeping him on the club will merely be encouraging him to take selection soft options in the hope of stealing a lower eight spot and saving his arse.

A better option would be to appoint an experienced coach like Wallace on a 2.5 year contract effective immediately. Few fair dinkum Hawk diehards aren't expecting anything less than a tough ride in the short-to-medium term anyway and would readily concede the season on the understanding that the new coach had the security necessary to experiment and make the hard decisions for the remainder of the year. Youngsters like Ladson, Mitchell, Ries, Elstone and the like will do it hard against the experienced hard heads in centre duels, but they need to be perservered with and allowed to learn the craft at the coalface, rather than hidden away on the flanks and/or banished to Box Hill at the first sign of a sub par display. Young Hodge already has the body, mind, and skills to settle neatly into the centre, but alas he is enduring a tough run on the injury front. Nonetheless, Schwab is damaging his development by playing him in the forward pocket whenever he is on the paddock, and this is the worst position that you can play a quality youngster. He needs to bite the bullet and play him in the centre for spells (resting him on the bench) until he retains full fitness. I think Schwab lacks the stomach for these things, whereas Wallace has shown himself in the past to be suitably ruthless when the need arises. At any rate, there are things that need to be put in place NOW, rather than merely going through the motions until the offseason and starting from scratch... That's six wasted months, which may as well be 2-3 years in footballing terms. Sydney is looking surprisingly good now, but they looked as bad is we do in the last days of Rocket Eade mid-2002.

Gotta admit, these rumours about player rumblings about Crawf's footy show antics have even more staunchly confirmed my thoughts about a number of the wankers that get paid a fortuneby the Hawthorn Footy Club - They aremore interested in their own lot, than the succuss of their team....

As a rule, the Hawk players are an uncontroversial lot with their job and study regimes off the field. Crawford is an easy target for his Footy Show shenanigans, but given that he is one of the few Hawk players that can't be accused of slacking off on the field then I don't really have a problem with it. The show is utter crap, but Crawford is obviously trying to ensure that he has a media job to go to after his playing career is over and this is fine.

One of the best things about the Hawk squad from 1999-2001 was the obvious bond that existed between the young players, but this appears to have disipitated in recent times and they do appear to be largely doing their own things. I don't know if there's been a falling out among players, or if the club isn't doing a good enough job of maintaining team harmony. One things for sure, its not a great place for young footballers to be right now and it would be hard to gain confidence when there is precious little being instilled in you from above.

Oh well, for all the bleakness we're still only a game away from Collingwood and we'd only be percentage away if it wasn't for that club's exceedingly fortunate evening in Adelaide.

CyberKev

C

CyberKev

HOW CRAP IS MY HAWTHORN...

KENT BROCKMAN: “We’ll take you now to Glenferrie Oval where Comic Store Guy has been taking in all the late breaking action...”

COMIC STORE GUY: “Best. Training Session. EVER! On tonight’s form I’m certain that super coach Schwabby has the side strawberry ripe to get within 8 goals of the cupless Cats this weekend. Apologies for the soup stain on my cardigan, Kent, but I lost control of the thermos earlier amid all the excitement. I turned away from the play briefly to peruse my copy of RadioActive Man volume 23 when I appeared to catch word of Ben Dixon taking a contested mark. Alas he was 30 metres out on his own and the gathered throng were actually contesting the legitimacy of the mark, but it livened-up the place nevertheless.

We were also treated to the thrill of seeing young Rick Ladson playing a scratch match in the midfield, but alas super coach Schwabby had mistaken him for gun centreman, Daniel Harford, and quickly shifted him to the forward pocket on realising his error. This is not to suggest that super coach Schwabby isn’t on top of his game, Kent, as he had merely been distracted by a mobile phone conversation he was having with Kelvin ‘Not on the payroll (any)’ Moore. Its great to see that Kelvin isn’t harboring any Tony Greig garages over his summertime axing from the coaching staff and is still ever ready to offer constructive advice to the club on a pro bono basis. Super coach Schwabby was clearly taking this advice very seriously and I was concerned that he may have been about to suffer another heart murmur, such was his intensity toward the motorola.

This would have also been of great concern to beloved Hawk El Presidente, Ian Dicker, whose love for super coach Schwabby is showing little sign of abating. I spoke with Ian earlier and he spoke glowingly of the fine job that super coach Schwabby had done in driving him down to the shops on Monday. Apparently the duo had paid a visit to a good old style Barber for very black and very conservative haircuts that would undoubtedly set a fine example for the players and get the club right back on track for that elusive premiership.

Not much else to report out here, Kent. Earlier in the evening I did think that I had heard the distinct sound of a penny dropping, but I couldn’t be sure as the sound was well and truly drowned out by the joyous strains of ‘Kumbaya My Lord’ that were being belted out by the Hawthorn board, hand-in-hand, heads in the clouds, united as one in a bowel-moving display of solidarity against the ever present spectre of harsh reality. Back to you, Kent.”