Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

All time best Sharks side

Here is what I come up with, I am sure it could be improved

1. D. Peachey
2. M. Rodgers
3. M. McGaw
4. S. Rodgers
5. A. Ettingshausen
6. M. Speechley
7. T. Bishop
8. J. Stevens
9. B. Russell (halves can play rake these days)
10. K. Sorenson
11. G. Miller
12. D. Sorenson
13. T. Nikau

Help me here footy fans, I am sure it can get better!

Sharkette

Hard to argue with that side, however I would switch M.McGaw and S. Rogers around (Sparkles used to play in the no. 4 and Sludge used to play in the no. 3), and whilst "T" was a great player, I would tend to have Greg Pierce in at lock.

Other than that, I like the look of it, I only wish those players could still be running around for us today!

Tigertread

Cliff Watson in the front row instead of Stevens.
Greg Pierce at lock, Ken Maddison at 2nd row instead of Miller and Ron Turner at hooker.

Sharkette

Actually, Johnny McMartin would be a good choice at hooker. He was one of the best rakes going around.

Thanks for the suggestions guys, will take it inot consideration but Gavin Miller would be in my side.

Very possibly. Way back when this place was an empty little place getting about 5 posts a week... :lol:

Not a bad side Mr Angry
I particularly like the backs. Wouldnt have ET on the wing though, he deserves to be in the centres. McGaw would miss out.

Haha Tam, Danny Lee? The Ox was simple and effective but a superstar he was not. I reckon we can do better than him in our all time best side.

I'd keep McGaw in and move Steve Rogers to five eighth. We haven't ever really had a superstar 5/8 at the club, why deny one of our international centres a spot to keep a decent club level 5/8 in the team?

Matt Johns was the best player to wear the number 6 but he was't here long enough. Bird will eventually make the jumper his Millers. ;-) Maybe Preston Campbell should have been there? 8)

My side:

1. D. Peachey
2. M. Rogers
3. A. Ettingshausen
4. S. Rogers
5. M. McGaw
6. M. Speechley (Johns?)
7. T. Bishop (Kimmorley is close)
8. J. Stevens
9. J. McMartin
10. C. Watson
11. G. Miller
12. L. Davidson
13. G. Pierce

The Popper

No superstar 5/8's, Garbo? Fair go. How about Roger `The Dodger' Millward, `Panda' Andrews and `Critter' Wellman. Three of the best there.
Roger was a Pommy star with Tommy - only had a season with us. Panda was a prolific scorer only behind only Sludge for many years. He'd still be right up there. And Critter? Should've been on the `73 Kangaroo tour.

Yeah I'd go with Barry Andrews at 5/8 there

And Jeff Mcmartin(old school hooker)/Dean Treister(modern)

What about K & D.Sorenson?

Roger `The Dodger' Millward

I wouldn't put him in for consideration! 14 games does not make a club legend.

`Panda' Andrews and `Critter' Wellman
Hey, I never saw either play so I probably can't comment... but I'd still take Rogers at 5/8th with McGaw in the centres.

For what it's worth, here's mine:

1. D. Peachey
2. M. Rogers
3. S. Rogers
4. A. Ettingshausen
5. R. Bourke
6. B. Andrews
7. T. Bishop
8. P. Khan
9. J. McMartin
10.C. Watson
11.K. Sorenson
12.G. Miller
13.T. Nikau

Reserves:
14.L. Davidson
15.S. Kneen
16.D. Sorenson
17.M. McGaw

Speed and skill to burn in the backs. Toughness, size and a lot of mongrel in the forwards. Reg Regan would like this team.

I really think that we could make two teams of club greats and they would equal - one for modern era and one for us 'older' types.

Hard to leave out great players like
JD
Monty
Langy
Diamond
Chamberlain
Critter
Stairsy
DLee

etc etc.

I'm not a fan of comparing different eras.

It ain't going to go away though. Team of the decade, team of the century etc, Immortals. It is impossible to do, yet we do it alot.