Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anasta

Prop Forward

Is anyone else hearing we are chasing Anasta for next year?

My source says the Roosters are willing to let him go a year early from his deal and that Anasta is keen to leave because he is got playing in his preferred 5/8 position at the chooks.

He'd want a long term contract and i can't see us offering him 3 years.

Obviously we're pretty much linked to any player at the moment....but if this was more than a rumour I'd be very very happy. Anasta is still a bit of a sook and more than a slight wanker, but that's all pretty harmless stuff... he's become a really good player and I'd love him at Parra.

caylo

he would be good for our kicking game much like Barrett but he isnt an organiser and that is what we need IMO

oldmancraigy

Agree with Caylo.

I fail to see what Anasta brings to the club that will help with the enormous, glaring hole that we have at the halfback spot...

eel01s

Anasta was fantastic last night, and showed a lot of passion and determination - something our players often lack.

We could use him that's for sure, but I think he is best at lock. Remember that Hindy is our lock, so that means Anasta at 5/8. Interesting rumour, but I can't see the chooks letting him go.

Agree with Caylo.

I fail to see what Anasta brings to the club that will help with the enormous, glaring hole that we have at the halfback spot...

leadership

who in our club currently leads the way he is at the roosters ..... i've never really been an anasta fan, but he's doing an outstanding job at the roosters atm

Craig Johnston

Anasta was fantastic last night, and showed a lot of passion and determination - something our players often lack.

We could use him that's for sure, but I think he is best at lock. Remember that Hindy is our lock, so that means Anasta at 5/8. Interesting rumour, but I can't see the chooks letting him go.

anasta played backrow last night

caylo

leadership

who in our club currently leads the way he is at the roosters ..... i've never really been an anasta fan, but he's doing an outstanding job at the roosters atm

I agree, he has matured into a very good player but he is at his best when he runs the ball, we need someone on the inside to feed him that ball. Pearce can do that, who in parramatta could do that. Mortimers passing game isnt good enough to play in the #7 (not even considering his kicking game). Can Murray step up, well I hope so. If we signed Anasta we would have to play

6 Anasta
7 Murray

9 Mitchell

14 Humble/Mortimer

Now i think that is massive improvement on what we have now but I would prefer a 7 who could help someone like Murray ease into grade footy rather then putting all the pressure on him.

Then again I would be very happy with Anasta, he could come in and next and play 5-8 and in 2012 play in the 13 and Quade at 6.

Y2Eel

I agree, he has matured into a very good player but he is at his best when he runs the ball, we need someone on the inside to feed him that ball. Pearce can do that, who in parramatta could do that. Mortimers passing game isnt good enough to play in the #7 (not even considering his kicking game). Can Murray step up, well I hope so. If we signed Anasta we would have to play

6 Anasta
7 Murray

9 Mitchell

14 Humble/Mortimer

Now i think that is massive improvement on what we have now but I would prefer a 7 who could help someone like Murray ease into grade footy rather then putting all the pressure on him.

Then again I would be very happy with Anasta, he could come in and next and play 5-8 and in 2012 play in the 13 and Quade at 6.

Anasta isnt a 5/8 he is a lock and could be just as good at it as Lewis... I would love to have him in our side at 13, Humble in the 6 and Orford or Murray in the 7...

He would be the right ingredient to our forwards we need... With Webb and Matua coming in....

caylo

Anasta isnt a 5/8 he is a lock and could be just as good at it as Lewis... I would love to have him in our side at 13, Humble in the 6 and Orford or Murray in the 7...

He would be the right ingredient to our forwards we need... With Webb and Matua coming in....

If you think so but does that mean you have hindy on the edges, because he doesnt do well there or do you then move him to prop and have Anasta at lock? The most lodgical thing would to have Anasta at 5-8. He is more a 5-8 then Sutton, Mateo or Bird so that would be his best position if he were to be in a team like ours.