Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anyone else feel like this re. afl

CC_Roosters

I dont mind the sport itself, watch it and quite like richmond. BUT i despise the swans, giants, suns, lions and the bullshit we have to put up with about the converts and "expansion" in NSW and QLD.

Does anyone else feel if the afl were perceived as less aggresive in their ways and it stayed where it belongs people would like it more?

spritzer

I dont mind the sport itself, watch it and quite like richmond. BUT i despise the swans, giants, suns, lions and the bullshit we have to put up with about the converts and "expansion" in NSW and QLD.

Does anyone else feel if the afl were perceived as less aggresive in their ways and it stayed where it belongs people would like it more?

I am not real keen on Richmond, very good song though, but my advice would be to give the Daily Telegraph the flick, or just stick to reading RL in it, and ignore their code war articles if you can, disregard anything El Diablo, Doc Brown or lap dog Phil says, they are filled with hate, for reasons best known to themselves.

Their is no good reason why you cant follow both codes, and if RL is your real passion, good for you.

docbrown

I am not real keen on Richmond, very good song though, but my advice would be to give the Daily Telegraph the flick, or just stick to reading RL in it, and ignore their code war articles if you can, disregard anything El Diablo, Doc Brown or lap dog Phil says, they are filled with hate, for reasons best known to themselves.

Their is no good reason why you cant follow both codes, and if RL is your real passion, good for you.

So which NRL side do you support Spritzer? I notice you never seem to talk about them.

docbrown

Alot of people didn't care until AFL officials and supporters started carrying on with their tsunami nonsense. It starts at the top and goes right to the bottom feeders who lurk on rugby league webpages. The AFL were trying to get an exclusive rights deal to Stadium Australia in 1998 hoping that the NRL would soon cark it. That's just one example of many of their attitude.

Kind of similar to the 2003 Union World Cup. There may have been a few people who disliked Union beforehand for their own reasons but when John O'Neill came out saying Rugby League would be replaced by Union it put people off.

It's no secret that as a minimum that the AFL wants to supplant both union and soccer in NSW & QLD. They're welcome to try. But to pretend otherwise is just pathetic.

spritzer

Alot of people didn't care until AFL officials and supporters started carrying on with their tsunami nonsense. It starts at the top and goes right to the bottom feeders who lurk on rugby league webpages. The AFL were trying to get an exclusive rights deal to Stadium Australia in 1998 hoping that the NRL would soon cark it. That's just one example of many of their attitude.

Kind of similar to the 2003 Union World Cup. There may have been a few people who disliked Union beforehand for their own reasons but when John O'Neill came out saying Rugby League would be replaced by Union it put people off.

It's no secret that as a minimum that the AFL wants to supplant both union and soccer in NSW & QLD. They're welcome to try. But to pretend otherwise is just pathetic.

Wasn't the tsunami crap started by a paranoid Mark Geyer in 2007, your a wanker.

Its no secret that RU, RL and soccer would all like to be bigger.

docbrown

Wasn't the tsunami crap started by a paranoid Mark Geyer in 2007

And every single idiotic AFL troll from Big Footy came on here repeating it as if it actually meant something. :lol:

This is the same Big Footy that has had to ban rugby league from being discussed on their forums because it always descends into a bunch of AFL f**kwits talking about Rugby League's imminent demise.

Face it - you're just the latest in a long line of prophets trying to spread your gospel.

You're on the same rung as the Seventh Day Adventists. All you need is an AFL magazine to put in the mailboxes of people who don't give a damn.

Its no secret that RU, RL and soccer would all like to be bigger.

The difference is they're not as paranoid about it as the AFL and its fans are because those sports aren't girt by sea.

CC_Roosters

Bloody oath it is, thats the main attraction plus they seem like battlers.

And this is what im talking about, i have watched all of tonights game but actively avoided last week. maybe i have a split pesonality

And bugger carlton, shot my bet to pieces tonight. Had Carlton into Richmond half/full double thought it was a sure thing going into second half.

And which NRL side do you support? haha

spritzer

Bloody oath it is, thats the main attraction plus they seem like battlers.

And this is what im talking about, i have watched all of tonights game but actively avoided last week. maybe i have a split pesonality

And bugger carlton, shot my bet to pieces tonight. Had Carlton into Richmond half/full double thought it was a sure thing going into second half.

And which NRL side do you support? haha

Richmond are a bunch of batlers, untill they get in front, then they are arrogant mothers, could be as big as Collingwood though, FWIW Souths are my RL team.

PaddyBoy

I don't despise the teams, but I do have a lot of issues about the way that the AFL Commission goes about its business, very evangelical which would be great if you only supported the sport, but horrible being on the receiving end. Australia has lost a lot of fast bowlers, GAA a lot of footballers, and now RL has lost two of it's best players, and in the grand scheme of things, most of them ended up reggies.

RU and RL poach a lot of players from each other, but it's a two way street and a lot of them end up being quite good to various degrees. The vast, vast majority of converts from all these sports end up doing nothing, and all that gets mentioned are the Tadhg Kennelly's, etc.

I won't be supporting GWS because of their poaching of Izzy, because I think it makes a mockery of the competition in general, he is not a first grade AFL player, and he is playing for promotional reasons, and I don't see any difference between what they are doing, and what the Storm did in terms of salary cap.

All that being said, I support Hawthorn and enjoy the game, and think there are a number of things the NRL among other sports could learn about how they do their business.

Why are 6, 7 and 8 year old kids tackling each other? Why has the games heritage so readily been tossed out in favour of marketing on so many occasions? Remember the "Sydney" Bulldogs and Tigers? If the AFL had the international prescence that rugby league had do you think they would slowly be flushing it down the toilet like we have for years or would they have nurtured it and let it grow?

Look at some of the administrators running our clubs, look at the positive effects that good admin has had on the Dogs or Souths off the field and consider that EVERY team in the AFL has this sort of management. It isn't the money, the administrators came first, and the money came in second. You can't tell me there aren't a thousand successful businessmen who would take a pay cut to work for Parramatta, Manly, or to a lesser extent Penrith. Instead we have ex-footballers ffs.

I wish the AFL had less "aggression" in a lot of ways, but I wish a lot of the people in charge of rugby league in this country had half the bluster and double the "aggression", just not to the extent where they consider it their business to damage other sports for the minimal benefit to their own.