Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Auckland Nines

Nines

• Good

Votes: 59 88.1%
  • Meh

Votes: 7 10.4%
  • Bad

Votes: 1 1.5%

Usain Bolt

The refs need to stop slowing the game down by telling people to wait when penalties are awarded. Let them take the quick tap

betcats

Enjoyed watching that but what is theory behind 9 players? I think drop one more maybe, open it up a bit more.

Parra

Enjoyed watching that but what is theory behind 9 players? I think drop one more maybe, open it up a bit more.

Seems to just be some marketing idea to differentiate the game from 7's. Nothing to do with the sport.

Would make much more sense for league to play 7's and union to play 9's. Not that it is ever going to happen.

I'd like to see NRL clubs enter rugby 7's tournaments with a view to players becoming Olympians. Not that this will ever happen either.

Parra

The refs need to stop slowing the game down by telling people to wait when penalties are awarded. Let them take the quick tap

Issue was getting players to take it from the mark, or at least not in front of the mark. Quick taps are good, but not when players just try to take off from wherever they get hold of the ball.

LJC

Seems to just be some marketing idea to differentiate the game from 7's. Nothing to do with the sport.

Would make much more sense for league to play 7's and union to play 9's. Not that it is ever going to happen.

I'd like to see NRL clubs enter rugby 7's tournaments with a view to players becoming Olympians. Not that this will ever happen either.

Should be RL sevens!(For the Olympics that is!)

Canard

I reckon 9's is the right mix to be honest, it still allows for defence to be an aspect of the game, and some good collisions. It means all body types can still play it.

7's was touch footy for outside backs only.

Chook

I reckon 9's is the right mix to be honest, it still allows for defence to be an aspect of the game, and some good collisions. It means all body types can still play it.

7's was touch footy for outside backs only.

This.

13 minus 6 = too much room.
13 minus 4 = perfect balance.

Great concept. Really enjoyed watching it as did that tremendous crowd. All the talk now is ESL sides wanting in, the concept to be included in the Commonwealth games and possibly Olympics. Anything that promotes our great code is welcome in my books.

Chook.

This.

13 minus 6 = too much room.
13 minus 4 = perfect balance.

Great concept. Really enjoyed watching it as did that tremendous crowd. All the talk now is ESL sides wanting in, the concept to be included in the Commonwealth games and possibly Olympics. Anything that promotes our great code is welcome in my books.

Chook.

Or in the case of manly, 13 minus 4.5 = a struggle. Poor old Beaver was a liability, but good on him for getting out there for one last shot.

Chook

Or in the case of manly, 13 minus 4.5 = a struggle. Poor old Beaver was a liability, but good on him for getting out there for one last shot.

True, but you put an oldie in each side for next year and it'll even out. Having a core of NRL players and then a whole bunch of youngens and an retiree made for great viewing imo. I lept off the couch to cheer Freddie home when he took his intercept but than had to sit back down as it took him so long to get to the try line.:lol:

Chook.

I Bleed Maroon

I'm actually quite happy with it. The fast paced nature of the game was a good spectacle and it didn't wear out its welcome at any time. I'm sure the sides that suffered major injuries are gonna hate it but it really wasn't that bad at all.

RWB

Very impressed, I think it succeeded on every level.

The only issues to come out of it for mine are the timing and making sure all 16 NRL clubs are willing to back the concept.

firechild

I lost interest in it towards the end. Partly because I knew Manly had no chance of going all the way (though I really wasn't too fussed about the result) but also because I've pretty much watched nothing but sport since the olympics started and I was getting a bit bored of the repetition. Would have enjoyed it more if NZ had gone all the way, they were incredible to watch. Having said that, NQ really lifted towards the end of the tournament and deserved the win.

Canard

I've think its in poor taste to wish ill on someone (which I usually do) but if Daryl Halligan contracted incurable laryngitis I wouldn't be too shattered.

Other than that it was great, Im definitely going next year, already lined up a few mates to get leave passes from the wifes/girlfriends.

I reckon "stars" who didn't play this year, will be champing at the bit to play next year after watching the games.

afinalsin666

Line up a few bonuses for the players as well as the clubs at the end of the tournament and we'll get some staunch competition. At the moment it is all for the club yeah? Give an extra 200k for the winners to spit between the winning squad equally. Will give a bit of an incentive for the good players, and the young and second rate will be chomping at the bit, considering 10k is a fifth of their salary.

That is how to get it firing.

As for right now, it is bloody brilliant. I only have a couple gripes.

1. The media touch game was woeful. Make it an actual legends game like the 2011 Legends charity match. The crowd would love it.

2. Nothing could be done about this one, but being so close to the world cup would have hurt it. If the season ended earlier like it usually does, a lot more big names would have hit it up.

Not a huge amount of annoyances for a concept in it's infancy. It has the potential to be amazing.