Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

August 2 1979

I am just looking at an old edition edition of Rugby League Week from as the title of this post suggests August 2 1979.
Front Page is a brawl between Brothers and Norths at Lang Park.
Team poster page 20 is of the Breteran in the old Metro Ford jersey.
Stories are Valleys need McWhirter, 'Cocky' has plenty of horse sense a story on Shane McMahon, A story on if Des Morris was concussed before or after he allegedly Norths player Neville Draper. Then there are two pages of match reports and a giant full size poster of Mark Thomas on the back page.
It's pretty different from now isn't it.

XXXX Cap

Does it mention that shockingly cold and wet Wynnum-Redcliffe game at Dolphin from the weekend before ?

Here is a small piece about it,
Referee Eddie Ward agreed that the Redcliffe-Wynnum match at Dolphin Oval last Sunday was pretty interesting. "It seemed to pass pretty quickly," Eddie said. The match did pass quickly, because just after Wynnum scored in the 36th minute somebody in the carpark blew their horn which sounded like the halftime siren. And sure enough Eddie, his linesmen and both teams ran off the field about 4 minutes early.

Redcliffe 23 (I.Pearce 2, T.Webb 2, T.OBst tries: I Pearce 4 goals)
Wynnum 10 (G.Goshnick, D.Jenner tries: G.Denman 2 goals)
Scrums Redcliffe 17-5
Penalties Wynnum 15-6
Redcliffe
I.Pearce, K.Cash, C.Symmons, K.Collins, K.Cherry, S.Cherry, K.Wilson, G.Hinde, I.Thinee, T.Obst, S.Bullow, B.Jones, T.Webb
Wynnum
P.Attell, T.Wesche, C.O'Brien, I.Boustead, H.Minz, B.Wlash, G.Denman, I.French, M.Connor, W.Bulloch, G.Goshnick, M.Edwards, D.Jenner

My dad took me to this game I was 8 years old sitting on the Western Hill and got absolutely drenched it was the worst weather I've seen a game of footy played in I reckon.

XXXX Cap

The M Connor in the Wynnum side is a mate of mine. I don't know that I would have ventured out that day if Matt wasn't playing. He now lives on beautiful Magnetic Island and owns the Pharmacy up there.

Tigertread

XXXX Cap said:
The M Connor in the Wynnum side is a mate of mine. I don't know that I would have ventured out that day if Matt wasn't playing. He now lives on beautiful Magnetic Island and owns the Pharmacy up there.
He has come up to Paradise :D