Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Australian Rules Football (Gorilla)

Hope i don't embarass the Maggie one by posting this, but i think its one of the best pieces of writing i have ever seen (It was used for the forum 7s competition last week for the mighty bags)

<span>*Gorilla for the Blue bloody Bags*
<span>Aussie Rites</span>
I was bored the other night and I turned on the TV. There was an aussie rules game on, and I thought I would pay attention - for a change. As I watched I realised that aussie rules is just one huge Fertility Rite ! You know, a performance to help ensure the fertility of the aussie rules community. Let me explain, it is classical symbolism, but it is a bit Freudian....
Firstly the concept is based upon the egg or oval. It is an accepted fact that the egg is a symbol of fertility throughout humanity whether it is the really ancient meaning of Easter time in the northern hemisphere or the ovoid shaped female fecundity statues of far older civilisations than ours.
Now aussie rules is played on an oval (stylised egg) shaped field, and they kick around a little stylised egg. The rite takes place on the wicca equivalent of a pentagram.
The players are strapping young men (the most fertile of the 'clan') in skimpy ceremonial outfits, who kick and pass about this little stylised egg. Because aussie rules is a game that takes place over a large scale area, without the linear action of the rugby codes, it has to be seen live or on a large scale, and from a distance the players look like wriggling and jumping multi-coloured sperm.
The players even run through a symbolic hymen at the start of the fertility rite, you know those giant banners ? The action starts with a good ruck and the little multi-coloured sperm wriggle around, climbing all over each other, marking their territory, racing toward the aim of the fertility rite -to symbolically impregnate again and again.
Where do the little multi-coloured sperms want to kick the egg to impregnate ? Right between the legs (oops, sorry), ahem.... right between the big posts. And what is more, if you look closely at the 'posts' all those streamers and giant pom-poms being waved about by the crowd are remarkably like pubic hair ! In the same colours as the little sperm !
Getting the egg in between the 'big posts' is the best way of scoring. It is more than co-incidence that when you miss the big score, the 'behind' is not worth much......
The team with the greatest number of scoring shots wins the day and can be said to have the most fertile and most attractive players, judging by the attention they receive after the match by comely young maidens in the clan.
This rite takes place throughout the winter, when the season is at it least productive, as a means of calling forth the springtime - the most fertile period. The grand finale occurs in early spring and this 'climax'of the fertility rite ushers in a new breeding and agricultural season.
Magilla Gorilla
<span>
icon_lol.gif
</span>
<span></span>
<span>Moffo.
</SPAN>

P

pepe

very funny,maybe you should forwardit to roy and hg nelson,they'd have a field day with that material.
emstar.gif

imported_bronco

Great post by Gorilla!

Where abouts did you put this up on big footy moffo? I wouldn't mind seeing how the ping pong fans react to this one.

Well, I’m a little surprised at the reception.
emembarrassed.gif
It was something I knocked up (hehe) over a ½ hour lunch on the Thursday post day made up from very vague memories of a twenty+ years old comedy routine. Hopefully someone will come forward and claim the idea, and excuse me from a fevered mind ……
emcrook.gif
It’ll be interesting to see the rooles boys views on the rites, and I don’t mind MoFo, just keep any that might embarrass me quiet.
emcry.gif
Maggie

Thanks mate, im defending the honour of the post on bigfooty at the moment hehehehe

Its brillant! Even if u did use an old comedy routine act

Moffo.

Gorilla,
Excellent read mate
emthup.gif

emidea.gif
With your permission, I'd like to paste it on the Sports Unlimited Online site. I reckon it would sit well in our 'from the stands' section.
The same goes for anyone guys.ALL of the stuff the Bluebags have been writing has been top notch. Would be a shame if it all only reached one audience.
Let me know if its ok.
emsmile.gif

Moffo, if you can let me know the specific URLs of the 7s battles where the Blubags have made their posts? I only say this to save people the hassle of emailing them across.

Mate, just head to the grandstand, and go to the sevens forum. All the posts and matches will be up there, u may just need to scan back a few matches.

Also, i paid today for the soccer comp. Can u just let me know when u receive that?? Just want to make sure it went through
emwink.gif

Moffo.

But of course Willow.
emteeth.gif

Actually I thought thatone was not as good as another that gota pretty poor reception (and a low score too !)
emangry.gif
but there's no telling for the lowest commondemoniator when it comes to matters of taste.
emdgust.gif

The one I prefer used the Air Guitar concept and related to the way we all play footy in our minds - round 2 I think against the broncos.
The best bit about the rites post was that it was totally unrelated to league, slipped thru' the net and got scored anyway - resulting changes to the rules ! heheheh

As for the other guys - they do much better posts, there's a couple that regularly post pretty interesting and funny views as well as the usual facts/opinion stuff (which I'm trying to stay away from.)
so go it bro', keep watching that soccer too, eh Willow ?
Maggie

No worries Moffo. I'll track them down.
The only thing is that I dont know if I should put the author's real name on the articles or the nickname. I guess I can ask each one prior to publishing it.
In any case, they won't be happening all at once, one everyfew days should do it.

Re the tipping comp money. If its been paid today, it usually doesnt show up in account till tomorrow. I'm sure its OK.
If there's any hassles, I'll let you know from my residence in the French Riviera.
emwink.gif

Gorilla. Thanks mate. I'll make sure your other stuff gets a guerney as well. And yep, I still watch soccer from the comfort of high class grand stands.
emteeth.gif

B

bender

The article written by Gorilla is one of the best and well worth a read by any new or even old members.