Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bears Vintage Videos

Was recently on the North Sydney Bears webpage and their merchandise features a set on videos each looking at a section of the bears history, not sure how they produced these vids( i'll ask girvie )but it would be fantastic if the jets could do something like this.
0ur merchandise and Traddy's DVD are selling like hotcakes, a dvd of jets history would go thru the roof , and we could take advantage of the publicity of Matty Johns movie featuring the Jets.

newtownbluebags

Bring back "Boots *n* All"....plenty of old Jets footage on that show!.....seriously though it would be great if something could be done along these lines?

Hi Uncle NBB, if we can get a heap of support for it here on the forum and present the idea to the club , it may go somewhere!

There is a lot of interest in the so called "Biff" era and I believe it would sell, it would be great for Newtown,kind of using the past to ensure the future of the Club.

It certainly exists 2TBs,I saw it last year on the footy show, and that brings to mind the biggest hurdle to releasing a dvd ,buying the rights to the tv footage from channel nine.....

2 True Blues

Surely channel nine would not rate it in their more expensive range.....But I do see your point. Would be a market hurdle there I reckon !!!! I'd buy about 6 copies though. X mas is only around the corner mate, LOL............

you're right 2TBs, i'd buy 2 or 3...... between the jets dvds and brendo's new shirts they'll be struggling just to keep up with demand!

2 True Blues

colcaseysheadband said:
you're right 2TBs, i'd buy 2 or 3...... between the jets dvds and brendo's new shirts they'll be struggling just to keep up with demand!

LMFAO.......Where are you sitting on Saturday CCHB !!! Are we gonna get loud mate or what !!!!

girvie

colcaseysheadband said:
Was recently on the North Sydney Bears webpage and their merchandise features a set on videos each looking at a section of the bears history, not sure how they produced these vids( i'll ask girvie )but it would be fantastic if the jets could do something like this.
0ur merchandise and Traddy's DVD are selling like hotcakes, a dvd of jets history would go thru the roof , and we could take advantage of the publicity of Matty Johns movie featuring the Jets.

The Bears videos were done by Richard Bradley Productions and North Sydney Leagues Club.

Volume 1 - 1870-1960
Volume 2 - 1960-1970
Volume 3 - 1970-1980
Volume 4 - 1980-1985
Volume 5 - 1985-1990
Volume 6 - 1990-1995 plus 1996-1999

The first 5 are around 2 hours each and Volume 6 is about 3 hours.

The Bears videos are really good. They have interviews with past players, coaches and administrators and feature highlights of some of the games.

Hey Girvie, do you have any idea of the expense of the tv rights and if it was very difficult to obtain vintage footage( especially the 1940s50s60s section)

, thanks for the reply, are there many left ?I might grab me a couple....... do the jets feature in any particular ones?

girvie

colcaseysheadband said:
Hey Girvie, do you have any idea of the expense of the tv rights and if it was very difficult to obtain vintage footage( especially the 1940s50s60s section)

, thanks for the reply, are there many left ?I might grab me a couple....... do the jets feature in any particular ones?

I don't know how much it cost to use the footage they did.

I think there would be copies left. I can't remember if there is any Jets footage. There is an interview with Frank Hyde in Volume 1. You don't have to be a Bears fan to enjoy those videos, they are good for any rugby league fan.