Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best NRL Pubs

As the title of the thread suggests, any recommendations for good pubs in or near Sydney CBD/Inner West to watch the footy on a Friday night?

I'm bringing some friends, some are casuals. Only real need is a big-ish screen and not super packed

horrie hastings

As the title of the thread suggests, any recommendations for good pubs in or near Sydney CBD/Inner West to watch the footy on a Friday night?

I'm bringing some friends, some are casuals. Only real need is a big-ish screen and not super packed

The Southern Cross Hotel at St Peters was where i used to watch a lot of the away games, they had one big screen playing the main game and also many other smaller screens showing the same game and other sports. It was closed for a while and has been renovated so havent been since it was done up again.

Fufu Andronez

Golden Barley Hotel - Enmore
Churchills - Kingsford
Helm - CBD

Or the Concourse at Wynyard station, if you wanna see barely dressed Sheila's serve you beer

Tiger Shark

The Southern Cross Hotel at St Peters was where i used to watch a lot of the away games, they had one big screen playing the main game and also many other smaller screens showing the same game and other sports. It was closed for a while and has been renovated so havent been since it was done up again.

Coming to this late but the Southern Cross is rubbish after the upgrade. Food takes forever and isn't very good. It's got some screens but wouldn't say it's any better than the others.

horrie hastings

Coming to this late but the Southern Cross is rubbish after the upgrade. Food takes forever and isn't very good. It's got some screens but wouldn't say it's any better than the others.

I live about 300-400 mtrs away from the Southern Cross and still haven't been there since the upgrade, i used to just duck down there to watch some of the away games because it was close to where i live, the food was very ordinary before the upgrade, interesting that the food seems it hasn't got any better since the re open, i haven't been in a rush to go there since it re opened, even though it is the closest pub to me i don't call it my local.

When I lived in Pyrmont n worked in the City....

• Upstairs at the Hotel CBD (opposite the Forbes Hotel) was a great place to watch the footy n decent sized screen.
  • Star Casino Sports bar was great on a saturday/sunday arvo. Fridays night have a different crowd so people may like or hate it then... .Casino is not to everyones taste but I always likes watching games there.. The screen is enormous....

Fufu Andronez

When I lived in Pyrmont n worked in the City....

• Upstairs at the Hotel CBD (opposite the Forbes Hotel) was a great place to watch the footy n decent sized screen.
  • Star Casino Sports bar was great on a saturday/sunday arvo. Fridays night have a different crowd so people may like or hate it then... .Casino is not to everyones taste but I always likes watching games there.. The screen is enormous....
I used to work on George Street and this was literally my Friday evenings after work.

Straight to Hotel CBD/York 75 and try and snag a booth with a screen, otherwise drink with the rest of the unwashed at the bar and then head to the casino full of sauce (only place you are basically guaranteed to be allowed in after the 2nd Friday night game)

Forbes Hotel was also a great pub to drink at, not so much for sport but just had that dingey pub vibe with the carpet near the bar and all.

The whole King/George Street precinct was great, Royal on George, Le Pub, Forbes, Hotel CBD, Bavarian, The good times where you couldn't walk more than 10 metres without being confronted with a pub that was full of people.

I used to work on George Street and this was literally my Friday evenings after work.

Straight to Hotel CBD/York 75 and try and snag a booth with a screen, otherwise drink with the rest of the unwashed at the bar and then head to the casino full of sauce (only place you are basically guaranteed to be allowed in after the 2nd Friday night game)

Forbes Hotel was also a great pub to drink at, not so much for sport but just had that dingey pub vibe with the carpet near the bar and all.

The whole King/George Street precinct was great, Royal on George, Le Pub, Forbes, Hotel CBD, Bavarian, The good times where you couldn't walk more than 10 metres without being confronted with a pub that was full of people.

Haha me too mate. More often or not it was the Shelbourne hotel (as it was the next block down from our office tower) but I was often slugging down pints in there on a friday night watching a game. Indeed gotta get there early to get something to res an elbow on.... more often that not I was standing up for the game... then do the slalom course walk across Pyrmont Bridge to the Casino.. then after I'd lose the power of speech, a quick walk home.

Reckon we could have crossed paths many a time ..

Parra

Western Sydney is where you want to be. Eels & Panthers games are pretty lively in the pubs these past couple of seasons.