Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best place to buy digital electronics

With Xmas around the corner, I am looking to buy my brother some digital electronics as he has entered the world of freelance photography and filming. Unfortunately I have no clue where to start. Can anyone recommend somewhere in Sydney that specialises in high quality digital electronic equipment for those two foelds?

Bulldog Force

Don't get anything hot. For photography, I take it that he's already got a camera, so really all you can do it buy him accessories and equipment that will help him. He can probably also do with some programs if you want to buy him something, so check out camera warehouses (not shops) where you can usually save big on some items. I highly recommend Digital Camera Warehouse on Canterbury Road in Canterbury. There prices are so low that they can't really negotiate with you a lower price (that's actually a good thing).

Apart from that and if money isn't an object, if you want to help him with photography, you can always buy him a mac air as these PCs are loaded with stuff that can enhance images better than photoshop.

Pierced Soul

Can I suggest a gift voucher to a store instead of buying him something he doesn't want or need. Some people are also picky about their great and hate certain brands

so you're looking to buy some stolen gear, hey?
You take cash?
Can I suggest a gift voucher to a store instead of buying him something he doesn't want or need. Some people are also picky about their great and hate certain brands
That was the plan. I have zero knowledge on the gear he would need, so if I can find somewhere that will do a $250 voucher then beautiful.
Jaycar

help support the Bulldogs.
f**k that! Seriously though, I am probably looking at somewhere a little more specialised than Jaycar.

The Partisan

Digital Camera Warehouse could be well worth a look.

Believe they have an outlet in Canterbury.

Dabble in amateur film work and have found their staff to be very good in past dealings ( though thats here in Brisvegas !)

veggiepatch1959

Just steer clear of the majors like Harvey Norman, Joyce Mayne, Good Guys, Bing Lee et al. And especially JB Hi-Fi...

Their staff knowledge of the products they sell is practically zilch.

Pick up a camera and ask..."Is this camera capable of ISO 1000?" The answer will be "Dunno...have to ask the manager".

Don't get anything hot. For photography, I take it that he's already got a camera, so really all you can do it buy him accessories and equipment that will help him. He can probably also do with some programs if you want to buy him something, so check out camera warehouses (not shops) where you can usually save big on some items. I highly recommend Digital Camera Warehouse on Canterbury Road in Canterbury. There prices are so low that they can't really negotiate with you a lower price (that's actually a good thing).

Apart from that and if money isn't an object, if you want to help him with photography, you can always buy him a mac air as these PCs are loaded with stuff that can enhance images better than photoshop.

Or you could cut his dick off with a syphillis-infested ukulele - he'll get the same feeling either way...

Digital Camera Warehouse could be well worth a look.

Believe they have an outlet in Canterbury.

Dabble in amateur film work and have found their staff to be very good in past dealings ( though thats here in Brisvegas !)

Yep
It's on Canterbury road on the right heading toward the city.
That is where I get all my stuff.
Suggestions
1) Lightroom - photo editing program from Adobe .
It is awesome. Only about $100. I went in 1 photography competition and won it
All I used was Lightroom .
It fine tunes images . Heaps of online tutorials and videos etc .
2) spare lithium battery for camera
3) tripods - depending on what he has
Heavy duty one for wedding shoots etc they're harder to knock over.
Light weight one for if he is doing nature shoots and had to carry it
Monopod - single pole . Great for when you are moving around a lot
You see the pros at the footy with them.
4) lens filters and protectors. All sorts of them.
One good one gives you the ability to shoot through glass windows and not get glare flash backs.
5) remote button on cable- great for really long exposures when the camera is on à tripod.

He may have all these but I found I slowly collected all this gear as I went along .

I think we need a thread entitled "how did Eelementary's ukulele get syphillis?"

The question now is "Does Eelementary own a banjo as well?"

It's serendipitous that these posts were made so soon after each other, as it affords me the chance to regale you with the story of Eele's ukulele.

Eele's ukelele was deeply, passionately in love with a bad boy banjo from the wrong side of the tracks - but Eele's ukelele's parents forbade Eele'a ukelele from seeing Eele's bad boy banjo from the wrong side of the tracks.

But young lust being what it is, caution was thrown to the woodwinds, and they made deep, passionate, instrumental love - until Eele's ukulele contracted syphilis (the very same disease which cruelly cut short the life of Eele's banjo, for these wereasons instruments from a third world nation).

veggiepatch1959

It's serendipitous that these posts were made so soon after each other, as it affords me the chance to regale you with the story of Eele's ukulele.

Eele's ukelele was deeply, passionately in love with a bad boy banjo from the wrong side of the tracks - but Eele's ukelele's parents forbade Eele'a ukelele from seeing Eele's bad boy banjo from the wrong side of the tracks.

But young lust being what it is, caution was thrown to the woodwinds, and they made deep, passionate, instrumental love - until Eele's ukulele contracted syphilis (the very same disease which cruelly cut short the life of Eele's banjo, for these wereasons instruments from a third world nation).

:lol: Love it!!