Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best pub songs...

Danger

What would songs would you guys vote as best songs to listen to/Sing along to whilst at the pub.

My List would start off like this.

April sun in cuba - Dragon
LA Woman - The Doors
Rebel Yell - Billy Idol
Rock Lobster - B52's

2 True Blues

At the risk of sounding the obvious it would be Khe Sanh. If in Aus with nuts, LOL !!!! You only know the band are finished when you hear this national anthem !!! And I am usually there at stumps !!

LESStar58

2 True Blues said:
At the risk of sounding the obvious it would be Khe Sanh. If in Aus with nuts, LOL !!!! You only know the band are finished when you hear this national anthem !!! And I am usually there at stumps !!

Khe Sahn has forever been tainted by the number of "Beer Drinking Songs" compilations it has appeaerd on!

Fantastic song written by the greatest songwriter this country has ever prodced and it has the stigma of boganism forever attatched to it as a result of all the pitiful compilations it has been on...

I remember at my year 11 formal all the footy bogans all getting together in a circle and carrying on like dropkicks and sining that song while it was playin and the same thing happens at most places when that song gets a spin. Its kind of sad.

As for my vote for pub songs.....

Bad Boy For Love- Rose Tattoo
Devil Gate Drive- Suzi Quattro

LESStar58

newtownbluebags said:
farkin Duncan! ~ Slim Dusty! might be a bit slow by todays standards though :alcho:

Why not just play the entire "Slim Dustys Beer Drinking Songs Of Australia" album from start to finish?

20105.jpg

;-)

"My Pal Alcohol" is a f**king classic! I love it!

1. He's A Good bloke When He's Sober, But..
2. You've Got To Drink The Froth To Get The Beer
3. Pub With No Beer
4. The Hangover Song
5. Mad Jack's Cockatoo
6. My Pal Alcohol
7. Whiskey Blues
8. Pay Day At The Pub
9. Old Bush Barbeque
10. Three Rivers Hotel
11. The Boxing Kangaroo
12. Born With An Endless Thirst
13. Joe Maguire's Pub
14. The Pub Rock
15. The Pubs Still Make A Quid
16. The Pub That Doesn't Sell Beer
17. Answer To Pub With No Beer
18. Callaghan's Hotel
19. Duncan
20. End Of The Pub

Byran Adams - Summer of 69
Billy Joel - Piano man
Hunters and Collectors - Holy Grail
Proclaimers - 500 Miles
Cold Chisel - Khe Sahn
Cold Chisel - Cheap Wine
Fuel - Shimmer
Bon Jovi - Livin on a prayer
John Farnham - The voice
John Mellincamp (sp?) - Jack and Diane

American pie is also a goodie

All the above, plus some of these get good reactions:

Down Under - Men at Work
Wonderwall - Oasis
Blow up the Pokies - The Whitlams
When the War is Over - Cold Chisel
Working Class Man - Jimmy Barnes
Take a Long Line - The Angels (also Am I Ever Gonna See Your Face Again)
Are You Gonna Be My Girl - Jet (as much as I hate hearing it flogged)
Better - Screaming Jets
Born to be Wild - Steppenwolf
Eagle Rock - Daddy Cool
Centerfold - J Geils Band
The Nips are Getting Bigger - Mental as Anything
Blister in the Sun - Violent Femmes
Whip It - Devo
Smoke on the Water - Deep Purple
500 Miles - Proclaimers
The Gambler - Kenny Rogers

Uncle Harry - the living End

you shook me all night long - ACDC

Roadhouse Blues - the Doors

Am I ever gunna see your face again - the Angels

Eagle Rock - Daddy Cool

Holy Grail - Hunters and Collectors

Better - The Screaming Jets

A few songs i enjoy singing while being intoxicated at the pub :)

newtownbluebags said:
Bloody good song! :alcho:
And it sounds even better with an alchoholic beverage in your hands ;-) And some drunken mates to help you sing it.