Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brian Smith MUST have his contract extended

Of course I am only bullshitting - its just one good win.....but its a far better call than last week's garbage.

A gutsy effort from the guys to knock off Brisbane up there (AGAIN!) - after all that has gone on this week, the players and coaches kept their heads and came away with a gutsy win.

Brisbane were touted to be on the verge of a "very good season" after their good first round win over the Warriors.

We were realling from a flogging by the Bulldogs, Jamie's departure and a STRING OF GARBAGE RUMOURS!!!!

Yet the boys got their collective fingers out and put in a good performance, despite being caned in the penalty count and some dubious video refereeing decisions, and came away with a solid win.

Great work guys!!! .....Keep on working hard and the results will keep coming.

Agent Mulder

Hardley Soild...Much work is still to be done,The 2nd half was awful and we got away with the win.

Of course those two video decisions were shit but we dropped so much ball it wasn't funny...I was ripping my hair out when Wise Kraptiva dropped the ball in our own 20 in the 69th minute but on the other hand i was jumping in the air when Dykes and Hindmarsh scored.

Kraptiva and Vella should be reserve grade next week.

Peek,Staplteon,Dykes,Burt,Wagon,Cayless,Morris and Hindmarsh played very well i thought.

Cannings was getting in there too...I suppose all is not lost just yet.
I liked the idea of Webster coming on as hooker and pushing Morris to 5/8 and Wagon to the Centers,With Jamie gone now we should be playing Wagon in the Number 3.

wittyz chick

I was stressing as soon as Brisbane scored
but...what about that try by Grothe with Burt!!!!!!!!! i know its only rnd 2 but by god it was a great one...so when Ash comes back put Burt in centres with Grothe...the opposition will be sh!tting them selves :D

Hurriflatch

assuming Hopkins is gone I'd like to see

1. Luke burt
2. Matt Petersen
3. Luke O'Dwyer
4. David Vaealiki
5. Eric Grothe (assuming not suspened)
6. Michael Witt/Chris Thorman
7. Adam Dykes
8. Aaron Cannings
9. John Morris
10. Craig Stapleton
11. Nathan Hindmarsh
12. Nathan Cayless
13. Daniel Wagon

14. James Webster
15. Adam Peek
16. Chris Armit/Justin Tsoulos
17. Michael Vella/Justin Tsoulos

Hurriflatch

Dykes has gone very well at 1/2 so I wouldn't be moving him although technically he could get named at 5/8 and wear #6 even if that is the team i'd still expect him to take on the role of the halfback.

Gotta work on his penalty touch kicks tho :lol:

Hurriflatch

Out of all the new forwards that have played in the top grade at least. Stapleton has been the best as was said Cannings is starting to get there and within the next couple of weeks I think we'll get to see a lot more of what he can do

but for now Stapleton has been easily the best.

Matta

Hurriflatch said:
17. Michael Vella/Justin Tsoulos

Looking at the amount of ball he (Vella) dropped and the amount of tackles he missed I wouldn't think that he would deserve a bench spot. Bring in Tsoulos.

Hurriflatch

at least he ran the ball forward and made SOME tackles

even that performance which was well below his best was a 1,000,000 times improvment on last week.

Agent Mulder

wittyz chick said:
I was stressing as soon as Brisbane scored
but...what about that try by Grothe with Burt!!!!!!!!! i know its only rnd 2 but by god it was a great one...so when Ash comes back put Burt in centres with Grothe...the opposition will be sh!tting them selves :D

You sound like Halfman with that "by God" quote
As for Burt i don't really want to see him anywhere near Centres as he just isn't one....He is a gun winger though.

Burty had a blinder today apart from one mistake but he wasn't the only one making mistakes.

Pazza

I didnt think Vella had a Bad game, he had a mixed game. He made plenty of yeards in attack but didnt have any venom in defence. I would demote him to the bench and bring Peek into the starting side.

I didn't think Vella was bad today - yes he dropped the ball many times, but I don't believe his defense was bad - plenty of people missed tackles - also plenty of people dropped the footy

Ron Jeremy

Vellas performance was mixed....over 100 metres gained from 10 hitups but he did make some silly errors.

Stapleton was great...along with Grothe, Dykes, Burt etc....But??.....Kativerata & Peterson where absolutely pathetic today.

Wise's positional play was tragic..along with his defense & provided next to nothing in attack.

Peterson was a better performer but he missed a number of tackles again & dropped the ball many a time...Gidley, Tahu & Johns are going to have a field day against Parra next week if these two players are in the same positions.

parra pete

Sorry Mick Vella drinks milk from a saucer!! He needs to meet the Premier League coach. Cayless had a blinder today, and Waggon and Dykes kept the Bronoc halves quiet.
ODE TO THE BRONCO"S
Brisbane Bronco's you're the greatest,
All your team moves are the latest,
Darren Lockyer he's a star,
To see him we would travel far,
But please oh Locky, don't get hurt,
For without you we're not worth a squirt.

parralight

Went out to the game today - always go as it seems a sure bet that Parra are gonna kick ass.

From what I saw (and I admit I was juggling a fair amount of beer most of the time ) the following happened....

Peterson played OK (at least the bloke tries hard)

Vella (yes he did lead the metres gained) but god he is a cat isnt he ?? Cant we transplant Petersons heart in Vellas body??

Wise :roll: :roll: :roll:

The rest were OK. Cant believe how good Stapelton is playing, I didnt really rate him at the start of the year but he has really gone well and Peek played well too.

For those who havent come up to Brisvegas and seen the eels , you just gotta do it.
Every year the Parra fans almost outnumber the broncos fans and we always give them heaps. Its great to see all the youngsters (under 10 years) dressed up in the eels gear. You can understand if they followed the eels if they lived in Sydney but obviously they are the sons and daughters of committed eels supporters who were there with their parents. Great to see.

parralight

AND YES.. Wags did play well (in defence and did pass the ball.. a few times) BUT he is still better at lock !!!!

half

i'm sick of people dissing petersen. he puts his heart into every game and is actually preeety good

WA Eel

It was good win though, given Parra were effectively playing 12 on 16 (Clark, Simpkins and Kativerata must have lost there Maroon and Gold jerseys on the way to the ground).

We were mugged by Steven Clark (we won, so I won't say he "robbed" us).

If Luke Burt "strip" the ball from Tallis, then Hunt, I think it was should have bene ruled to have stripped the ball from Dykes. I mean at least in the Dykes case, the defender had a hand on the ball!

Also, I thought Vella played OK. He needs to work on his ball control, but at least he was hitting the ball up hard.