Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bring in the young guns

Mc East

This season is virtually over for the team, I say we bring in some of the new blood.

A good start would be to release Buettner, Senter, Graham and Payten or any other player who is too long in the tooth for the big time..

Then we should get Collis, Harrison, Ben Roberts, Sam Moa, Gibbs and Fulton in the starting team and get them well heeled for the big time. Then by the time next season rolls in, all these young ones will be considered experienced and carve up the oppisition.

Sheens needs to realise that this is the way forward and by wasting his time with f***ing has-beens will only put his job into jeopardy. :evil:

Famous1

Mc East where are u from

these players are being thrown in the deep end, yet they have there floatties, Sam Moa, is 16 Year old.. Ben Roberts is injured to my knockledge, collis is getting some experience and will be released later in the year...............

The players you say to release, werent the reason they lost tonight, Payten and Senter played great, well in a beaten team. Payten was also over the advantage line. you name collis, yet the players you wish to get rid of that played last night are all forwards....

Mc East, give ureself an uppercut and go f**k ureself :clap:

Mc East

F**k Me! No F**k YOU!

Don't slander me. Your the one who has a dragons emblem on their profile but reckon your a massive Tigers fan, so maybe you should get your priorities right before you jump up on your high horse.

If I listed all the players I thought we should release my post would of gone on forever. I would of also listed Moodie and Elford just to name a few.

Also Roberts played tonight you nuffy and Sam Moa is 17, somewhere around the same age of a bloke called Karmichael Hunt and I think he has shown us that he can compete in first grade.

:twisted: :twisted:

gr8_1

The young guns we have are not in the Karmichael Hunt league. They are average at best.

There isnt really anyone to bring in. Sheens will name a near unchanged lineup to the one that just got smashed by the Rorters. Why ? Because there is no one to bring in.

Vicious

gr8_1 said:
The young guns we have are not in the Karmichael Hunt league. They are average at best.

There isnt really anyone to bring in. Sheens will name a near unchanged lineup to the one that just got smashed by the Rorters. Why ? Because there is no one to bring in.
Mc East is right.I have been saying it all along.Half our team has nothing when taking on class opposition.The players in their late 20s-early 30s aren`t going to improve are they???Atleast with the younger guys,there scope for improvement is unlimited and to say our young players are only average!Mate,you should give yourself a triple uppercut!

Mighty Tiger

Mc East said:
This season is virtually over for the team, I say we bring in some of the new blood.

A good start would be to release Buettner, Senter, Graham and Payten or any other player who is too long in the tooth for the big time..

Then we should get Collis, Harrison, Ben Roberts, Sam Moa, Gibbs and Fulton in the starting team and get them well heeled for the big time. Then by the time next season rolls in, all these young ones will be considered experienced and carve up the oppisition.

Sheens needs to realise that this is the way forward and by wasting his time with f***ing has-beens will only put his job into jeopardy. :evil:

Are you related to Terry Lamb ???

Sure blood some juniors but isn't that what Sheens has been doing off the bench :?

Also another smart move release Payten given that we are paying less than what we would for a junior to play in the top grade since the Roosters and the Raiders are paying for most of contract - Now thats smart work :lol: :lol: :lol:

Vicious

Mighty Tiger said:
Mc East said:

Are you related to Terry Lamb ???

Sure blood some juniors but isn't that what Sheens has been doing off the bench :?

Also another smart move release Payten given that we are paying less than what we would for a junior to play in the top grade since the Roosters and the Raiders are paying for most of contract - Now thats smart work :lol: :lol: :lol:
The young players can`t be expected to do much to help when they come onto the field 28-0 down!

Famous1

Mc East said:
F**k Me! No F**k YOU!

Don't slander me. Your the one who has a dragons emblem on their profile but reckon your a massive Tigers fan, so maybe you should get your priorities right before you jump up on your high horse.

If I listed all the players I thought we should release my post would of gone on forever. I would of also listed Moodie and Elford just to name a few.

Also Roberts played tonight you nuffy and Sam Moa is 17, somewhere around the same age of a bloke called Karmichael Hunt and I think he has shown us that he can compete in first grade.

:twisted: :twisted:
Moodie, our top tryscorer...... sure thing........ and i have a massive dragons emblem, buddy, lost an avatar bet so im doing my part of the deal and Sam Moa is still 16

Mighty Tiger

Vicious said:
The young players can`t be expected to do much to help when they come onto the field 28-0 down!

No they can't however how many times has that happened ???? The last 2 weeks ???

Lets see how our 2 PL sides are going hey 1 outside the 8 and the other on the verge of being outside because they all of a sudden can't play a good game of footy :roll:

But hey who cares do what took place when Lamb was in charge and I guess we will get use to what has taken place over the last 2 weeks for the rest of the year :roll:

The answer isn't bringing a heap of juniors up and for some people to even contemplate our season to be over is a joke - Where are we on the ladder again even after last nights win???

The answer is not to panic, sure SOME changes need to take place but not massive ones - The only players I would consider dropping would be Richards, Elford, Wilson and Gibbs

In saying that who to bring up ????

Covell or Samia for Richards

Collis, Harrison or Wilson for Elford

Kerr will be in the halves this week so I guess we are stuck with Wilson at 5/8th as well however I would consider having a Kerr and Fulton halves combination

Small or Cashy for Gibbs ???

Or just drop Gibbs and move Heighno back to the bench for Laffranchi when he comes back ???

The only other player I think that could handle the top grade from the lower grades would be Dicko and he would add some grunt to our forward pack

Vicious

Mighty Tiger said:
Vicious said:

No they can't however how many times has that happened ???? The last 2 weeks ???

Lets see how our 2 PL sides are going hey 1 outside the 8 and the other on the verge of being outside because they all of a sudden can't play a good game of footy :roll:

But hey who cares do what took place when Lamb was in charge and I guess we will get use to what has taken place over the last 2 weeks for the rest of the year :roll:

The answer isn't bringing a heap of juniors up and for some people to even contemplate our season to be over is a joke - Where are we on the ladder again even after last nights win???

The answer is not to panic, sure SOME changes need to take place but not massive ones - The only players I would consider dropping would be Richards, Elford, Wilson and Gibbs

In saying that who to bring up ????

Covell or Samia for Richards

Collis, Harrison or Wilson for Elford

Kerr will be in the halves this week so I guess we are stuck with Wilson at 5/8th as well however I would consider having a Kerr and Fulton halves combination

Small or Cashy for Gibbs ???

Or just drop Gibbs and move Heighno back to the bench for Laffranchi when he comes back ???
I think you will find Gibbs had much more of a go than Payten,O`Neill and Sattler.Why not drop them???Richards will come good,it was only his second game back from a long injury lay off.Small and Cashy aren`t anywhere near 1st grade standard.Frank Samia is one of the worst footballers i`ve ever seen.Harrison and Collis are both much better centres than Elford.Wilson isn`t a 5/8s backside.

Vicious said:
gr8_1 said:

Mc East is right.I have been saying it all along.Half our team has nothing when taking on class opposition.The players in their late 20s-early 30s aren`t going to improve are they???Atleast with the younger guys,there scope for improvement is unlimited and to say our young players are only average!Mate,you should give yourself a triple uppercut!

Mate you really really shit me!!!!

Im curious as to how old you are?

Of course you been saying it all along....its all you EVER say!!!

I have read and read you crap week after week about bring the kids in...ONiells sucks, Satts and Senters is too old...etc etc....there is nothing else from you.
I have held my tongue, until now, when I have no defence to when I say "But a team full of our young kids will get smashed by 50"...where you will then say "well the old farts are getting smashed by 50 too"

The thing is these kids are our future......the older more experienced guys are able to
cope with getting hammered, but do you really wanna risk shattering a bright young prospects confidence like a Fulton or a Collis, by maybe , just maybe putting them into the top grade too early?

You say like you know for a fact that because they are all good, bright prospects, because theyve all played junior reps, that they will ALL make it in first grade but buddy, I've got news for you...not all WILL make it....some will be very good reserve graders and nothing more.

Nothing good can come from putting a player up when hes not ready.
You cant rush them......
....youre right our team at present has nothing much to offer against class opposition, but sacrificing the young guys confidence when the season is gone is insane.

Hopefully Sheens may bring more through but I'd say he has a plan,(which involves the juniors being blooded) a long term plan devised midway through last year that goes through to the end of next season....I think he''ll be sticking to it as close as he possibly can.

Vicious

innsaneink said:
Vicious said:
gr8_1 said:

Mate you really really shit me!!!!

I have read and read you crap week after week about bring the kids in...ONiells sucks, Satts and Senters is too old...etc etc....there is nothing else from you.
I have held my tongue, until now, when I have no defence to when I say "But a team full of our young kids will get smashed by 50"...where you will then say "well the old farts are getting smashed by 50 too"

The thing is these kids are our future......the older more experienced guys are able to
cope with getting hammered, but do you really wanna risk shattering a bright young prospects confidence like a Fulton or a Collis, by maybe , just maybe putting them into the top grade too early?

You say like you know for a fact that because they are all good, bright prospects, because theyve all played junior reps, that they will ALL make it in first grade but buddy, I've got news for you...not all WILL make it....some will be very good reserve graders and nothing more.

You cant rush them......
....youre right our team at present has nothing much to offer against class opposition, but sacrificing the young guys confidence when the season is gone is insane.

Hopefully Sheens may bring more through but I'd say he has a plan,(which involves the juniors being blooded) a long term plan devised midway through last year that goes through to the end of next season....I think he''ll be sticking to it as close as he possibly can.
Obviously you like the team getting beat by 50 do you?Even Terry Lamb had the sense to know that O`Neill wasn`t up to 1st grade.Once again I have to repeat myself to try and get through to clueless people like yourself.These older players we have can not cut it at the top level.If we keep playing them week in week out we will continue to get flogged by these top sides.Is that what you want??????????
Personally I prefer to see us competitive.In the short term,the only way this is possible is for a select handfull of our boom youngsters ie Halatau,Gibbs,Fulton,Harrison,Collis and Farah to be given more of a go to see if they can do better.They as sure as hell wouldn`t do any worse. :roll: :roll: :roll:

Vicious said:
innsaneink said:
Vicious said:
gr8_1 said:

Mate you really really sh*t me!!!!

You cant rush them......

Obviously you like the team getting beat by 50 do you?Even Terry Lamb had the sense to know that O`Neill wasn`t up to 1st grade.Once again I have to repeat myself to try and get through to clueless people like yourself.These older players we have can not cut it at the top level.If we keep playing them week in week out we will continue to get flogged by these top sides.Is that what you want??????????
Personally I prefer to see us competitive.In the short term,the only way this is possible is for a select handfull of our boom youngsters ie Halatau,Gibbs,Fulton,Harrison,Collis and Farah to be given more of a go to see if they can do better.They as sure as hell wouldn`t do any worse. :roll: :roll: :roll:

How old are you?
14?
Obviously you like the team getting beat by 50 do you
Statements like this would suggest so.

Halatau,Gibbs,Fulton,Harrison Heighno etc are all getting a go....Collis's turn will come....farah is not playing well enough at the moment.

The fact is the young guys are getting time...see the bench last nite? 19,19 & 18 yo's.......you cant put em all in at once.

_A_J_Gray_

Mc East said:

Then we should get Collis, Harrison, Ben Roberts, Sam Moa, Gibbs and Fulton in the starting team .

1) The season is not over for christs sake. We are still well up there and have got the worst of the draw basically behind us.
2) Why would you release all of them in the middle of the season? It will just give us less depth. End of the season . . . then Beutnerr & Graham for sure - but not Payten, in case you havent realised we are the smallest pack in the comp and getting rid of our biggest player would not exactly help that would it?. And BTW to you and anyone else who bags out Senter.....

Its not a coincidence most of the tries are scored when hes off the park. His defence when his on around the ruck cannot be questioned, and it appears (Not only last night) once he gets taken off the defence is alot looser and more vunerable

3) Dont even get me started on putting 6 people 19 and under in the starting 13.

Vicious

Mate,you might as well be watching AFL.You reckon our young players are getting a go.
Be fair dinkum,coming on to the field 28-0 does not constitute getting a fair go,sorry to tell you.The two young starters in Halatau and Heighington were just about our best two players.Doesn`t that tell you something????? :shock:

B_Tiger

At most we will be a point or two out of the 8 after this round. We are a copmpetitive side against average opponents and can play better then what we have in the past two weeks. We don't have the forward muscle but there are solutions. I'd play a bigger bench and interchange the forwards more, so as to keep them as fresh as possible. Rather then using two interchanges to switch the hookers around, I'd put a forward in there. Rather then having a player play only the final 20 mins, I'd try to give 10 or 15 mins to a bench player at the end of the first half. I'd also use bigger players off the bench. A lot of people write off jamie small without watching him. He is Balmain's best player and his combination with jeff lima early in the season was the most dominant in the league.

Vicious

Lima could have helped if he wasn`t injured and whilst i`m not convinced about Small,he does run straight and hard and is well worth a chance.

Vicious said:
Mate,you might as well be watching AFL.You reckon our young players are getting a go.
Be fair dinkum,coming on to the field 28-0 does not constitute getting a fair go,sorry to tell you.The two young starters in Halatau and Heighington were just about our best two players.Doesn`t that tell you something????? :shock:
Why you hiding your age?
Ive asked you twice you ignore it? simple releveant question.

So when does sheens bring them on? 6-0? 12-0?
Ever heard of a game plan??? You only get 12 Interchange....put em all on in the first half huh?
You have no idea.

You might have seen the Panters/Parra game tonite.....an example of
the brilliant youngsters in our game.

10-15 mins out from HT, score 6-0 parra, pritchard makes a break with only the fullback to beat, support on his right but holds the pass....bombs a certain 6 pointer.
Five tackles later Hindmarsh scores in the corner......instead of 6-6, its 10-0 Parras way.......Now we all know Pritchard is one of the brightest young prospects in our game, and will go far IMO.......but the inexperience he showed was clear for all to see.....if someone like priddis was there they wouldve scored......when the pressure is on you need experienced old heads. If Parra won by two or four it wouldve been crucial, as it was penrith won quite comfortably, but next time he may not be so fortunate.

Anyway Ive had enough of you, your obviously one of these f**king smartass know everything teenagers thats rife on this board....you just keep on and on and on and on with the same crap like an autistic stutterer, I'll give ya one thing though your consistent. :lol:

Lima could have helped if he wasn`t injured

f**kin brilliant deduction....I'd also go as far to say that Webke couldve helped if he played for us.....or Cross & Walker couldve helped if they broke their legs!!! :roll:

westie

Just curious as to how you came up with the conclusion that the season is over when we are in the 8?

Vicious

Both this site and STR are nearly unanimous about giving the younger players a go.That means starting them :roll:
As for Pritchard,well atleast he is capable of making a break!Blind Freddy can see that besides Skandalis and Laffranchi the rest of our forward pack think they are 5/8s!Footballs golden rule is that you must dent the defensive line up the middle before going wide.It`s not just the props job to do this,the second rowers are meant to get in and help ie Morley&Fitzgibbon at the Roosters,Thompson at the Dragons,Puletua at the Panthers,Tallis&Carlaw at the Broncos,Mason at the Bulldogs.