Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bruce Gibbs, you champion

I recently read the latest Rugby League Week, and one of the sections has them interviewing a legend each week. Bruce Gibbs was this weeks legend, and interesting comment he made on the game these days.

LW: What do you think of league these days?

BG: "It's become a sport for poofs. A lot of the toughness has gone out of it and the scrums have become a joke. I barely watch it- it just annoys me. When I was playing, league was a lot more physical than Union, but now it seems the other way around. I actually prefer watching a good Super 12 game to league now. Guys like Shane Webcke are obviously doing it tough but they have more room to move with the 10-metre rule and they dont go for 80 minutes. And they wouldn't know what a stiff-arm tackle is.....the so-called head highs these days are just a joke. I can't believe people are being suspended for those limp-wristed tackles".

:lol: :lol:

This guy reminds me of a Reg Regan type character, "Bring back the Biff". Or even Tommy Raudonikis and Rex Mossop. "Blokes need to be a lot more agressive". I like these type of guys they make a good point, but I wouldnt know what it was like in the late 1970s.

I wish I was around in the days of the clashes between Wests and Manly. Known as the Fibros Vs Silvertails. :D

Forum Idiot

:shock: i was reading RLW on the toilet about an hour ago and i was going to post this same thread but forgot to. personally i think hes full of shit and has no idea about modern football. i did like his comments about manly though.

PARRA_FAN said:
I recently read the latest Rugby League Week, and one of the sections has them interviewing a legend each week. Bruce Gibbs was this weeks legend, and interesting comment he made on the game these days.

LW: What do you think of league these days?

BG: "It's become a sport for poofs. A lot of the toughness has gone out of it and the scrums have become a joke. I barely watch it- it just annoys me. When I was playing, league was a lot more physical than Union, but now it seems the other way around. I actually prefer watching a good Super 12 game to league now. Guys like Shane Webcke are obviously doing it tough but they have more room to move with the 10-metre rule and they dont go for 80 minutes. And they wouldn't know what a stiff-arm tackle is.....the so-called head highs these days are just a joke. I can't believe people are being suspended for those limp-wristed tackles".

:lol: :lol:

This guy reminds me of a Reg Regan type character, "Bring back the Biff". Or even Tommy Raudonikis and Rex Mossop. "Blokes need to be a lot more agressive". I like these type of guys they make a good point, but I wouldnt know what it was like in the late 1970s.

I wish I was around in the days of the clashes between Wests and Manly. Known as the Fibros Vs Silvertails. :D

It was good mate...believe me!

Paullyboy

So let me get this right parra fan, you are happy about a bloke abusing our sport and praising super 12?
:roll:

Forum Idiot said:
:shock: i was reading RLW on the toilet about an hour ago and i was going to post this same thread but forgot to. personally i think hes full of sh*t and has no idea about modern football. i did like his comments about manly though.

personally i think hes full of sh*t

Why?

Hes giving an opinion.

Is there any clashes like that, nowadays. I'd say the Roosters and Dragons have had some interesting clashes on Anzac Day.

Booyah

Cronulla and Dragons always have a bit of spite in them. Nothing like the Silvertails and Fibros though.

Paullyboy said:
So let me get this right parra fan, you are happy about a bloke abusing our sport and praising super 12?
:roll:

No because he's giving a good opinion. I reckon he loves Rugby League, but feels its not the same as when he was playing. If he was for real, I wouldnt praising him.

I remember one game at brookie I think around 79.....about three times in the first half hour there was brawls breaking out involving every player from both teams, groups of 4 , 6 and 8 scattered across the park going hammer and tongs.
Wests would usually get 2 sent off and manly one or none, then theyd get on with it and play footy. :lol: :lol:

Saint 60

nah Parra fan --
Manly and Wests were wars lol
Manly and Newtown, Newtowns last couple of years were wars

sorta like Cronulla Manly grand final of 72 i think get a chance check that out lol
both games...?

ummm Gibbs was ok, but Dallas Donnely was awesome lol

good hard days but they wernt fit blokes these days would run rings around them in the fitness department,

Everybody hated Manly -------- lalalalala

they had one on boots n all last week ---
-------------------------------------------

Protac mother boards
make good frizbes

Forum Idiot

innsaneink said:
Forum Idiot said:
:shock: i was reading RLW on the toilet about an hour ago and i was going to post this same thread but forgot to. personally i think hes full of sh*t and has no idea about modern football. i did like his comments about manly though.

Why?

Hes giving an opinion.
and i gave mine :?
hes just living in the past, ignoring the fact that if he played today hed get the life knocked out of him. hes just trying to big note that era and himself..
and then he says hed rather watch super 12 than rugby league. hes full of shit. plain and simple. he doesnt actuallt believe that. hes a bitter old man.

Forum Idiot said:
innsaneink said:
Forum Idiot said:

Why?

Hes giving an opinion.
and i gave mine :?
hes just living in the past, ignoring the fact that if he played today hed get the life knocked out of him. hes just trying to big note that era and himself..
and then he says hed rather watch super 12 than rugby league. hes full of sh*t. plain and simple. he doesnt actuallt believe that. hes a bitter old man.

Funny that.....he's not the one sounding bitter right now.
More to this than meets the eye methinks. :lol:

and then he says hed rather watch super 12 than rugby league. hes full of sh*t. plain and simple. he doesnt actuallt believe that.

You basically called him a liar.

You question his credibility.

Did you ever see him play?

Forum Idiot

im only 20 so no. but i seriosuly think hes just trying to be a hero. he only played 70 odd games so not many people would of...

Forum Idiot said:
im only 20 so no. but i seriosuly think hes just trying to be a hero. he only played 70 odd games so not many people would of...
He played in the front row, for one of the front running teams of the time, in the toughest comp in the country for a couple of seasons, against the toughest players in the country......48 FG games.
He dont have to try to be anything.

Forum Idiot

innsaneink said:
Forum Idiot said:
He played in the front row, for one of the front running teams of the time, in the toughest comp in the country for a couple of seasons, against the toughest players in the country......48 FG games.
He dont have to try to be anything.
hes jealous of todays game. he spoke about money in the article too and how manly used to make more money than them. hes jealous of todays players because they can set themselves up for life by playing the game but hes still labouring away at however old he is. the game today isnt soft. that is blatantly obvious. if he says it is soft - he is full of shit. shane webcke would walk right over the top of him and he doesnt have throw a punch to prove how yough he is.