Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brush with Greatness

Just one for the long off season....
Has any contributors had a chat with a Saints player, past or present,out of the context of the Leagues club after the game.
My story was in 1993, when Saints played Wests at the S.C.G. It was billed as a return to 1963 when the teams played the Grand Finial and all the players from that era were in attendence.
After watching the game in the members we went to the bar behing the Nobel Stand to have a drink with a few mates. We were in awe of the who's who of Rugby league around us with Gasnier, Smith, Raper, Wells, Summons, Frank Hyde, Rex Mossop etc, all around us 3 nevilles, all talking old memories.
On the way out we staggered out and I spotted Norm Provan making his way out and I called" You right for a lift Norm". To my surprise he replied 'OK mate'
I raced ahead to our designated driver to tell him we had to drive Norm Provan home which he replied "I'm not driving to f**kin Cairns'.
We drove him to Gymea (in a little yellow Cortina)and talked footy, his discount furniture business, and mostly his property in Cairns which he seemed most happy to discuss.
After dropping him off we popped into Gymea Hotel and held the pool table all night and drank too many schooners for our own good.
Then I had to ring my wife who was waiting with our kids to pick me up.
I mumbeled something about being at Gymea,Norm Proven and winning 8 games or pool in a row which my wife was not to receptive too...........go figure.
My mates and I still get together and discuss our mate Norm, although I'm sure he wouldnot even remember us.
Any other similar stories around?

imported_E_A__

ok, if it has to be Saints players.

I sat next to and talked to Johnny Raper at Campbelltown a few years ago. Funny bloke.

I met and had a chat with Norm Henderson when I was a kid, he was a mate of my old mans. Nice bloke, not up himself. He passed on a few years ago.

As a kid I played footy in the Saints area. For 2 seasons we were coached by Owen O'Donnell (played wing and centre for a couple of seasons), and then by Tony Branson for 2 seasons. For a couple of years Billy Smith's son Jeff played in the team. One year after a grand final we ended up at Smithy's place; as I was leaving with my mum (i was 9 at the time)Billy gave me 1 of his jerseys, one he had worn in a semi-final if memory serves me. During those years if the coach couldn't make it one of the other Dragons would train us, including Smithy, Changa and others. Era.....1966-1969. That's my "brush".

Superhoop, sorry to make three posts in a row but are you still in touch with Owen O'Donnell nowadays?

Thanks Superhoop.
I only ask because he came close to playing for Aust (I think) and being just a young un' I cant remember the detail. I was curious as to why he missed out.
I think he was in contention anyway.

O.K. not a footy player,but the greatest living Australian.
Once spent 45 minutes with Edward Gough Whitlam in his office.
Obviously it was an education.

i didn't think it a brush with fame at the time but it sure as is a claim to fame these days!
as a kid i was quite a handy swimmer and used to swim against and went away on a few NSW teams with Thorpie - we were quite good friends back then till i gave up!
I beat Thorpie on a few occassions so i guess that is my claim to fame!

lol...Superhoop, it was a long way back. Been caught out myself for not correctly remembering things so you're well excused. :D

K

kram

I was in Holroyd Private Hospital for a few days back in 1996. I was getting a cornea transplant done, while Freddie Fittler was getting his groin operation. He was in the bed next to me and I spent ages talking up the Dragons and how Matthew Ridge was tackled just before half time. I managed to get a few extra ice-cream and jellies thanks to all the nurses who wanted to keep coming back to see him.

The most interesting part was that each night he was there, he would get one of the nurses to go to the video shop across the road and hire out some grid-iron videos for us to watch. Freddie said he liked watching all the tactics involved.

I spoke with Daley about NFL out at the cricket match the other week too. He's fascinated by all the tactics used in the game. Hopefully he'll bring some fresh ideas to the club. (But if Baz throws a Brett Fauvre special down field, atleast we'll know who to blame!)

Kram.

imported_midas

Talk about a brush with fame-you guys are amateurs.Last weekend I was at the local shopping centre and actually met Santa Claus-top that.

S

saintess

I love it midas ......

I don't think I can come anywhere near topping that 1 but I have
had a drink with Ricky Stuart last year and was at the same party as Jason Ryles, Ben Hornby, Reece Simmons etc .... don't know if they count in the greatness category just yet ? :)

Midas,
Thanks for the decoy.While you were sitting in Santas lap,I got to check out Mrs Claus pretty well.
No, she didn't have a beard,but she did say my pressie was coming.

D

dasher

Thanks to the kickoff of the Jubilee Oval Community Appeal, i can now boast having met,

Chook Raper, Langlands, laurie daley,

ive had a beer and a punt with brown, lance thompson, lee bennett, mark gasnier, mark riddell,

and also been in charge of directing the rest of the team through the streets of hurstville. Peter Doust and Robert Stone and the players that were introduced to me, call me by nickname, this is the dream job...

I tell ya, it was hard to contain myself, being a st george supporter since birth, to be immersed so strongly in the dragons culture was amazing.

The boys sure do love having a punt, and eating...
first thing ryles says when he walks in the door, 'where's the food?' haha,
was a great day

cheers, dasher