Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can the Broncos style of footy help eliminate the wrestle?

rabbitohs95

Had a serious thought about this one. Can't remember the last time I was entertained by a team so much. If other teams adopt a similar style could we see a more entertaining brand of footy across the comp? Lets cut out the wrestle.

Kiwi

This time it's something you wouldn't mind getting caught doing

Seriously though, I think the Cowboys play a similar style. Both teams don't really wrestle, when they need to control the tempo of a game they go old school with kicks into corner pockets, into the in goal and over the sideline. Both Cowboys and Broncos keep the rucks fast even when defending. Next year these two teams will get stronger with less interchange. Souths will fall further and the Dogs won't fair as well as they might hope. Other teams are going to be forced to adapt and play a more tempo game or get spanked.

t-ba

Less Interchanges could just as conceivably result in more wrestle to slow down the game even farther however.

Pig Champion

Less Interchanges could just as conceivably result in more wrestle to slow down the game even farther however.

I'm not sure about that. The wrestle is possibly more a cause for fatigue in defenders. It's not very energy efficient to an already tiring defence.

Kiwi

This has been my point about the interchanges. It will definitely mean more dummy half running.

Why should it? Broncos last night and all year have run low interchange numbers through most of the game. Alot of the time Nikorima doesn't come on till late. The Broncos style is dominating with 10 interchanges, 2 less and it will be stronger. If other teams want to try and wrestle more then they will get penalized more, if they just want to dummy half run they will struggle to make big metres.

insert.pause

It's not so much the lack of wrestle, they don't play like robots, they play what's in front of them, but still have the discipline to not overplay things.

Had a serious thought about this one. Can't remember the last time I was entertained by a team so much. If other teams adopt a similar style could we see a more entertaining brand of footy across the comp? Lets cut out the wrestle.
Only thing that will eliminate the wrestle is the refs .

The last few games Badger & his mate have reffed have been very fast .

Hope they get the GF .

As a cows fan I am worried about Checchin reffing tonight's game .

If Melb are allowed to wrestle they will make it very hard for us .

& therin lies the problem .
Different refs have different interpretations of what is a reasonable amount of time for the defenders to get off the tackled player .
& I can't blame Melb .
If they're allowed to hold down then they will do it .

Billythekid

The broncos wrestle just like the storm do and most all of the teams in the comp attempt to. Bennett won the dragons a premiership doing exactly that and people act like he's the one fighting against it. Bennett, just like the fans of the game, is a massive hypocrite.

This thread also highlights a common misconception that almost everyone makes. So often after a good attacking performance people like to post stuff like this as if the 2 are related. You wrestle in defence and still show attacking flair. Just because a team scores 80 points doesn't mean they weren't wrestling in defence.

I mean people act like the storm only do that and nothing else. Just look at the guy talking about the broncos controlling the game by kicking to the corners and the like. Have you ever watched a storm game? Smug and cronk are masters of this and we have practically built out team around it.

When i read threads like this all I can help but wonder is how many people are actually forming an argument based on their on logic and how many are just regurgitating the same nonsense they have read elsewhere.

Edit: as to the above, the storm aren't allowed to hold down anymore than anyone else. That's not how we engage in the wrestle and it's why the whining you're all doing is such nonsense. The storm are just far more effective at getting players into their backs than everyone else. Once they're on the ground we're no more guilty of laying in the ruck than anyone else. We're just more effective at completing the tackle in a dominant fashion.

That's why when we face a strong forward pack or even strong individual forwards out wrestling style falls apart. Against someone like the dogs or souths last year we can't dominate the tackle and the ruck speed gets away from us and we struggle. Same reason the warriors trouble us. When a pack gets rolling we can't dominate the ruck and get players on their back and then the play the ball speed gets away from us like everyone else. We can't just lay on players no matter how much league fans say the refs let us do what we want.

Apologies for the awful grammar, I'm on a mobile and too lazy to fix things up.

Ice_Storm

The broncos wrestle just like the storm do and most all of the teams in the comp attempt to. Bennett won the dragons a premiership doing exactly that and people act like he's the one fighting against it. Bennett, just like the fans of the game, is a massive hypocrite.

This thread also highlights a common misconception that almost everyone makes. So often after a good attacking performance people like to post stuff like this as if the 2 are related. You wrestle in defence and still show attacking flair. Just because a team scores 80 points doesn't mean they weren't wrestling in defence.

I mean people act like the storm only do that and nothing else. Just look at the guy talking about the broncos controlling the game by kicking to the corners and the like. Have you ever watched a storm game? Smug and cronk are masters of this and we have practically built out team around it.

When i read threads like this all I can help but wonder is how many people are actually forming an argument based on their on logic and how many are just regurgitating the same nonsense they have read elsewhere.

Very true.

I'd go so far as to say that Wayne Bennett is the biggest whinger in Australian sports today. And his continued harping on how the game should be run and what would be best for the game - actually his team the Broncos - is very dangerous and should be stopped.

The sooner this manipulator of the rules and game in general leaves the game, the sooner we can just enjoy watching rugby league without his over the top thoughts of the game.

Here's hoping the Storm OR the Cowboys send them to the cleaners.

Only thing that will eliminate the wrestle is the refs .

The last few games Badger & his mate have reffed have been very fast .

Hope they get the GF .

As a cows fan I am worried about Checchin reffing tonight's game .

If Melb are allowed to wrestle they will make it very hard for us .

& therin lies the problem .
Different refs have different interpretations of what is a reasonable amount of time for the defenders to get off the tackled player .
& I can't blame Melb .
If they're allowed to hold down then they will do it .

I completely understand why you're worried about Cecchin.

He is a fair dinkum fool. Don't understand how he is the senior ref.

siv

Now here is a thought

Isnt Bennet on the NRL rules committee and has adjusted the rule interpretations to suit his playing roster

carlosthedwarf

It's not so much the lack of wrestle, they don't play like robots, they play what's in front of them, but still have the discipline to not overplay things.

And it requires a type of player. Most teams don't even have one Hunt or Milford, let alone a pair of them

Ice_Storm

Now here is a thought

Isnt Bennet on the NRL rules committee and has adjusted the rule interpretations to suit his playing roster

That's what i said. In fact, I think you really should've quoted me to give me the credit and make me look good in front of all my friends here.

aussie7798

LOL at all the storm fans attacking bennet go back to your salary cap cheating club ya pack of morons

Melbourne Storm
Shame of the league