Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can't drive up my driveway

So I just got a new car. Vz ute with sv6 body kit. So pretty standard stuff. Anyway I can't get up the gutter to my driveway without scraping hardcore. Anyone know what council regs are if I were to bolt a piece of steel across the gutter to decrease the angle?

do you have a proper driveway entry or just a curb gutter ?

what ever is there will be to council's code, otherwise it wouldn't be there

It's a gutter, probably be, I dunno, maybe a 40 degree angle, would be a standard gutter. A lot of driveways on my street don't have the gutter and the driveway is built rigght Down to the road. Others have the gutter, some with steel across bolted in. But I am not sure if they got approval or not. I might just go to bunnings and do it, might not bolt it in though.

beave

Bolt it down, you don't want hodlams in the neighbourhood being able to pick it up with ease and pinch it or worse (hurl it at your car).

must be an old area, new curb and gutters are on an angle where any car can get up

old ones need to be modified which is not technically legal as it needs to be on the footpath and not impinge onto the road, which a ramp would

best idea would be to get a coat hanger or similar and bend it to the profile you want like this _/ sort of (hard to explain but that symbol is upside down) then take it to a sheetmetal shop and get them to fold a bit of 16# or similar galv metal to the same profile about 2 metres wide, should cost much, then fix the flat bit to the top of your gutter

and watch out for the gutter police (council)

doubt if Bunnings would have anything suitable

Yeah. Sounds like a good idea. Hopefully it doesn't cost too much. I just emailed the local council to see what my options were. I didn't give my full details though just incase they fob me off which they will, I'll go and make a ramp anyway.

you could try it, but you'd have trouble fixing it in place and it would rot eventually, possibly even float down the road if it rained

prolly try a few bricks till you get a ramp

if everyone else has ramps, then council obviously have other things to worry about

EDIT: pavers that is, not house bricks, and they need to be drive way bricks or they'll break

i assume you're taking the gutter up on a decent angle as well?

must be quite a gutter if your car is still at a legal height

Yeah mate I took it at about 45 degrees today and it scraped bad. I could do it if I take a fine angle but that's annoying. Even the old barina I had would scrape sometimes backing out, and that is not low by any means.

If its a 90 odd degree angled gutter which I think is what you mean, I think you'd still scrape the undercarriage with just some small ramps, plank timber brick etc....fine for the front skirt but I dunno
I have a similar prob with my garage, have a lowered ve, driveway is on a slight incline, when the garage was built theyincreased the angle at the entry and mine scrapes when the cars halfway in, I rarely use the garage for my car but have some 8" x 2" x about10 foot planks which lessen the angle and I can get it in if its gunna hail...

90 degrees is pretty insane I would Say mine is about 45 degrees then I have a steep upwards driveway. Goin to def try a plank of wood and maybe some
Pavers

ozbash

Isnt it up to the council to make sure you can get your vehicle into your driveway ?

if you put a bit of wood there, it will restrict water flow during rain.

Twizzles idea is best, flat piece of iron about 3 metres long with 1 edge bent over and dyna bolt it to the f/path or a piece of 3 or 4 inch box section steel cut i in half, diagonaly.

Ring the local council though, hit them up about where to send the panel beaters bill.

if you already have a drive way entry ramp on your property, but your driveway/garage is in the wrong spot, its not council's problem