Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Carlaw Park

carlnz

What a waste of the best Rugby ground in the country, just think if they did it up and played test matches there, after the game you just cross the road into town and on he piss!!!

Wish there was/is something we can do to stop it being a bloody car park!!

It's a dump and it's a carpark. I can't see anyone getting much use out of it anytime soon. Get over it.

LeagueNut

Sorry carlnz, but you're a couple of years late. I also thought it would be a great asset to have a redeveloped Carlaw Park as the Warriors home base, but that ship has well and truly sailed. :(

ozbash

anyone know of the proposed new stadium at manukau or was it just a rumour ?

looks like erricson is the place to be seen this year,, like it or lump it.

watched the kingz play the other night and it looks to be a long way off being finished.

That Guy

I think that Manukau projest is still going ahead.

It hit a few roadblocks on the way in past years, but when I drove past there last it was in progress.

However they may not be buiding the stadium instead just building the pacific arts centre.

I dont really want the stadium to go ahead.

Auckland4ever

Stadiums in all Auckland towns coming out our ars*s, none of them smack in the middle of the city, none of them much good. Yeah, the ship has well & truly sailed on Carlaw, but for gods sake, RL aside, a good inner city stadium would be so good for this city.
The Cake-Tin is attracting events that are bringing in the bucks for Wellington. Auckland is a disfunctional mess in comparison.

Rudolph

The only thing wrong with putting a stadium in the middle of a city is the fact that ppl will start maoning about the noise. look at whats happening with baypark since thats been built and more recently ppl having started over western springs and thats been around for over 70years (i think). but i would be great if this was to happen but i think it will only happen for a rugby team rather than the it happening for league

carlnz

A couple of us are currently emailing ARL refrence Carlaw Park, we are just seeing what the story is with it and what they are doing it. If they will be mergeing Auckland Barter Card Cup teams that would be a perfect location for the team. Its just a matter of what the ARL have done so far to the poperty itself(apart from ripping the turff up and turning it into a carpark.

ripper

Before anything we should be looking to adding another 10-15k at least to the Garden of Eden.

SpaceMonkey

Rudolph said:
The only thing wrong with putting a stadium in the middle of a city is the fact that ppl will start maoning about the noise. look at whats happening with baypark since thats been built
Thgat pisses me off so much, Baypark has been there since before any of those people lived in the area. They forced the closure of the original track, now they're moaning about the new one which was built further away from the residential area. Idiots.

SpaceMonkey

ripper73 said:
Before anything we should be looking to adding another 10-15k at least to the Garden of Eden.
Eden Park is nicely located but it has it's problems too. Parking's terrible and as usual they have a problemwith locals whigeling about noise. If they could get over those two issues then a FULL redevelopment of Eden park would be a good move. But realistically they should have done what Wellington did and utilise the rail yards behind the old railway station for a stadium project. Insted we god crap boxy apartments. :?

ripper

The Govt is looking to sort all that now - and Auckland is our largest city. We Need an 70k + Stadium if we ever want to host the Commenwealth Games or the RWC again

ozbash

any of you remember when tim shadbolt was the mayor of waitemata and he had that idea of the super dome ?
was going to hold 60k plus and he planned to have it out henderson way.

the idea was roundly shat on by all and sundry.
that is exactly what auckland needs now and had they built it those 20 odd years ago it would be freehold now.

the old carlaw park site would be a gwate place for a dome...

a guy had a link to a "save carlaw park" website on the old official warriors board, unfortunately i lost it at reformatt.

the old girl is history i fear as far as being a footy ground goes.
to me thats a crying shame.

ripper

Shadbolts a legend - Anyone see him on fair go last year where he did that old ladys driveway 15 years after he was meant too :lol:

Dr Crane

The Govt is looking to sort all that now - and Auckland is our largest city. We Need an 70k + Stadium if we ever want to host the Commenwealth Games or the RWC again

Redevelop Eden Park - properly!

Telstra Stadium style.

Kingbunny

IanRitchie said:

Redevelop Eden Park - properly!

Telstra Stadium style.

Eden park is crap for watching rugby. It should be left to be a cricket ground. No Parking, no public transport, to far from the game. The people living around this ground are wa*kers, they complain about it being there but they have BBQ's to sell food, charge $10 to park in their yards. Also, they won't allow the council any more development on the ground.

Ericsson, on the other hand, is the best for south of the bridge. Industrial area, heaps of parking, with heaps of exit points from the area. Potential for trains if the ARC can get its act together. Also, there will be a proper supports bar, no more after game trips to sky city. The stands are closer to the action as well. Much like Albany for watching a game.

Carlaw should be redeveloped to be an indoor sports centre that will hold upto 15,000. It then can accommodate Basketball, Netball, Tennis, concerts, much like the Sydney Ent Cent. That's what is missing from Auckland. But the powers to be, don't want to spend the money.

Kingbunny

Who knows, comments from council change from week to week. It all comes down to the dollar. It probably won't be for at least ten years. No Mayor wants to be remember for building white elephants.