Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Central Coast Bears, 2013.

supera

so, CC have, from my understanding, fallen to a distant third in the running for 2 possible expansion spots. this would be the second time they've been overlooked after being the ones to put expansion on the agenda in the first place.

what's the contingency plan? is it talking to a current team about relocation? is it merely hoping a current club fails? is it pushing for a 20-team comp that also includes a second NZ team?

or do CC give up if it doesn't happen when we go to 18?

Red&BlackBear

Not sure about distant third.. there are more programs and implementations in place then any other bid. We have a big catchment of actual support, sponsors and all things are continuously moving forward. Sure, we're not in the Couriermail every 2nd day at the moment but there's a reason for that. Our media spotlights are given off the back of real work, not hypothetical situations and possibilities.

Goddy

If I were the ARLC, I would be telling the Bears that if they want to exist, the Sharks have to die first.

Sorry, but it is an indisputable fact; The last thing the game needs is another Sydney side.

age.s

If I were the ARLC, I would be telling the Bears that if they want to exist, the Sharks have to die first.

Sorry, but it is an indisputable fact; The last thing the game needs is another Sydney side.

You're right. The Titans really need the competition.

Beowulf

100% agree.

Bring on the Central Coast Bears.

Exactly. The fate of Cronulla, some 2 hrs drive from the Central Coast is far less relevant to the Bears than the fate of the Titans to any SEQ bid.

This will be the 6th? SEQ failed franchise in a row....when will people realise that the Gold Coast won't work. There should be an explanation from the decision makers on why the dodgy $1 shelf company GC bid was preferred over the bankrolled and guaranteed Bears bid. Fear and short-sightedness from some Sydney Clubs. Thank God for the IC.

So Ch9 for a short term TV deal want a SEQ side - with the Titans likely to go it means their license can revert to a SEQ side playing out of Suncorp with a few token games on the coast, and the Bears and Reds can come in. If the Sharks development fails they can go to Rockhampton and there are no bid losers. If the Sharks survive, C QLD and NZ2 can come in in 6 years time.

KnightsMan90

Exactly. The fate of Cronulla, some 2 hrs drive from the Central Coast is far less relevant to the Bears than the fate of the Titans to any SEQ bid.

This will be the 6th? SEQ failed franchise in a row....when will people realise that the Gold Coast won't work. There should be an explanation from the decision makers on why the dodgy $1 shelf company GC bid was preferred over the bankrolled and guaranteed Bears bid. Fear and short-sightedness from some Sydney Clubs. Thank God for the IC.

So Ch9 for a short term TV deal want a SEQ side - with the Titans likely to go it means their license can revert to a SEQ side playing out of Suncorp with a few token games on the coast, and the Bears and Reds can come in. If the Sharks development fails they can go to Rockhampton and there are no bid losers. If the Sharks survive, C QLD and NZ2 can come in in 6 years time.

Your decluding yourself if you think the Gold Coast Titans will be anything other the the Gold Coast Titans. The ALRC isn't going to let them just fail and cede all that territory and work done to date.

They'll say exactly where they are with Brisbane 2/Ipswich and Perth coming in 2015. And if the Sharks and Titans are in real dire straigts, it more likely they'll put off expansion completely rather they just overlooking Brisbane.

Is they any evidence to suggest that the Sharks will relocate or that CQ will accpet a relocated team?

Beowulf

Is they any evidence to suggest that the Sharks will relocate or that CQ will accpet a relocated team?
Just logic - relocation beats demise. And if it pans out as I suggest, the Reds have established more of an identity than a C QLD side with no brand.

I reckon C QLD would jump at a relocated Sharks if the choice was relocation or no team.

Red&BlackBear

Facebook Q&A with fans & Greg Florimo

Hi everybody and welcome to our Q&A with Greg Florimo. Many thanks to those who have emailed in questions. Please note to view each question and answer you will need to refresh your facebook page and read the comment chain directly off this message. Welcome to our CEO Greg Florimo.

Greg Florimo Hello all, looking forward to answering some of the hard questions, lets get into it..

Central Coast Bears Our first two questions come from Tim of Roseville, NSW. Tim asks Greg, have you and the bid team had discussions with Channel 10 re their thoughts on our potential value to the competition? If so, how did their thoughts vary/marry with Channel 9's?

Greg Florimo Hi Tim, we have held talks with the current content providers in Channel 9 and Foxtel and we are due to meet with channel 10 soon. our research shows that there are close to 33% less viewers of Rugby league in the central coast and north shore demographic compared to other relevant comparison markets. This number will improve with the advent of the Central Coast Bears

Central Coast Bears Tim also asks have any face to face discussions taken place between the Bears and any of the members of the IC? In your opinion, are they fully aware of the opportunity cost to the game in our catchment area of NOT adding us to the competition?

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=631329438Greg Florimo We have had informal talks with several commissioners, and there is no doubting the potential that this franchise has. The area has been recognised for many years as a rugby league stronghold and comes complete with an abundant nursery of junior stars and a purpose built stadium. Other codes are very active amongst this sporting community it is vitally important that we consolidate the position we are in.

Central Coast Bears Thanks for those questions Tim. We move on to a question from Peter of Coolangatta, QLD who asks. Greg, John Quayle has been quoted recently as saying more than any other bid area, we fit his key criteria for entry and should be added ASAP, possibly even 2014. Will John have any involvement in our bid going forward?

Greg Florimo Hi Peter, John has been very helpful throughout this campaign and his knowledge and experience on expansion is second to none. John represents the greater mass as he recognises the potential of a team on the coast, and we would love for John to be further involved, stay tuned.

Central Coast Bears Thanks Peter. Jessica of Palm Beach, NSW asks. Greg, I'm presuming there must be an 'old boys' network for the Bears - are there further opportunities to enhance our bid through former players' involvement?

Greg Florimo Hi Jessica, thanks for the question, yes there is significant amount of support through the old bears network, with a lot of them signing up as members. All are strong believers in the bid to bring the Bears back and their history and contributions over the years will be duly recognised by the new entity.

Central Coast Bears Thanks Jessica, we move onto a question from Sam of Cecil Plains QLD, who asks. Greg, one year ago we were very optimistic about entry, yet recently we have seen much coverage about Perth and another SE Queensland side being preferred to our bid due mainly to perceived TV rights value. Is this truly just 'paper talk' and given, as John Quayle has indicated, our significant advantages in other areas, can we still approach this year with confidence?

Greg Florimo Hi Sam, Yes the competition is hot, the game is in a very strong position to negotiate the best possible media deal, and in doing so is in the enviable position of having a choice of some very good options for expansion. It is important that we present a compelling business case which is sustainable through the sheer volume of numbers in the area. We have been fighting for 2.5 years now and we can be as confident now as we have ever been. It is up to the ARLIC now to address expansion and provide direction for the bids so that we can all move forward.

CQ Italia

Just logic - relocation beats demise. And if it pans out as I suggest, the Reds have established more of an identity than a C QLD side with no brand.

I reckon C QLD would jump at a relocated Sharks if the choice was relocation or no team.
the identity will come at the right time and be a smart option. Better to get the business side of things full proof first before colours, etc. Speaking of business - the BP will be ready to go very soon.

Goddo

Central Coast Bears Thanks Jessica, we move onto a question from Sam of Cecil Plains QLD, who asks. Greg, one year ago we were very optimistic about entry, yet recently we have seen much coverage about Perth and another SE Queensland side being preferred to our bid due mainly to perceived TV rights value. Is this truly just 'paper talk' and given, as John Quayle has indicated, our significant advantages in other areas, can we still approach this year with confidence?

Greg Florimo Hi Sam, Yes the competition is hot, the game is in a very strong position to negotiate the best possible media deal, and in doing so is in the enviable position of having a choice of some very good options for expansion. It is important that we present a compelling business case which is sustainable through the sheer volume of numbers in the area. We have been fighting for 2.5 years now and we can be as confident now as we have ever been. It is up to the ARLIC now to address expansion and provide direction for the bids so that we can all move forward.
That is as good as an admission the Bears are falling away in the race. Good to see Greg isn't deluded and knows what he is up against.

bobmar28

Yes, the gold Coast is AFL territory isn't it? Hang on a minute......

gyallop

the game is doing a Cuba Gooding to fight the AFL..show me the money..which makes expansion all very simple ...TV wants Perth and a side out of Suncorp...sorry CC Bears you need to practice the serenity prayer and move on.....also the ARLC doesnt support a draft so with more than 50% of players coming out of Qld with 3 teams they arent about to drop in another NSW team......Sharks need to change oceans and go to Perth which will allow CQ to come in with the Western Corridor...TV wont let Titans collapse , read the Smith report SEQ is gold to TV.

Red&BlackBear

the game is doing a Cuba Gooding to fight the AFL..show me the money..which makes expansion all very simple ...TV wants Perth and a side out of Suncorp...sorry CC Bears you need to practice the serenity prayer and move on.....also the ARLC doesnt support a draft so with more than 50% of players coming out of Qld with 3 teams they arent about to drop in another NSW team......Sharks need to change oceans and go to Perth which will allow CQ to come in with the Western Corridor...TV wont let Titans collapse , read the Smith report SEQ is gold to TV.

It's only really the Broncos who get big tv numbers, I'm yet to see the Titans or the Cowboys match those numbers. It's only also because the Broncos are shoved down our throats each and every week. Level the playing field and the report isn't worth the paper it's written on.

Spitty

The more this debate goes on, the more I look at the history of RL expansion and the more I look at what's currently happening in the game, the more I'm convinced CC is the way to go.

Ch9 early in the season have shown their hand. By ignoring all other Qld teams they demonstrating that this Qld phenomenon that keeps getting mentioned is a Broncos phenomenon. It's got nothing to do with the clubs in that state, but with a single club.

Expansion is a risky business. The only expansion club that I've ever seen which has never been a risk are the Broncos. Gold Coast have died 5 times over and they're on deaths door step again, News Ltd have been propping Storm up for it's entire existence, News Ltd had to buy the Cowboys and sell it back to the Leagues club a few years later to keep them afloat, Knights were always struggling until Tinkler took over and NZ have been on deaths door bed numerous times and keep getting bailed out by millionaires. All other expansion clubs (in my life time) have died.

Expansion is not to be taken lightly. Even look at other sports in the AFL the second teams in Perth and Adelaide, as well as Sydney and Brisbane are always struggling. Gold Coast and GWS are being financially supported for up to 20 years. In the A-League the only expansion team still in existence at the beginning of next season will be Melbourne Heart and their future doesn't look that great either.

CC are as close to a guaranteed sustainable business model that we'll ever see. None of the other bids can get neat them, hence they try and kill off CC with the TV argument.

- PNG are no hope
- BB have corporate support but no fan support. They're running with the "If you build it they will come" argument. That's a nice movie line but realistically "If you build it, heavily fund it and wear a lot of financial loss, they may eventually come" is more realistic and I don't think BB backers are prepared to do that.
- WC have no corporate support or fans and there model doesn't appear sustainable.
- NZ bids appear to be all noise.
- CQ is another bid I like, but they too will rely heavily on corporate support because their catchment area is lightly populated. Plus they only have a promise of a stadium (and promises are regularly broken by governments)
- WA is a must but it needs to be done right. Similar to what we do with Melbourne we need to pump money into it. I don't mind doing this for a true expansion area, but not for a heartland area.

If we are going to pump money into WA the other expansion area needs to be low risk, I'd suggest very low risk and CC are the only area that meets that criteria. Otherwise we can admit WA with no financial assistance and then a Brisbane team and we're a good chance of ending up with another 2 clubs like Titans and Sharks.

KnightsMan90

Ch9 early in the season have shown their hand. By ignoring all other Qld teams they demonstrating that this Qld phenomenon that keeps getting mentioned is a Broncos phenomenon. It's got nothing to do with the clubs in that state, but with a single club.
Correction they are ignoring all other non-brisbane QLD teams. They have stated numerous times they want a 2nd Brisbane team, not a 4th QLD team anywhere.

CC are as close to a guaranteed sustainable business model that we'll ever see. None of the other bids can get neat them, hence they try and kill off CC with the TV argument.

That we know of. For as much as we are hearing about the bids they are all keeping a lot to themselves. A true picture wont really be known till bids are called, provided expanison even happens.

The more this debate goes on, the more I look at the history of RL expansion and the more I look at what's currently happening in the game, the more I'm convinced CC is the way to go.

Ch9 early in the season have shown their hand. By ignoring all other Qld teams they demonstrating that this Qld phenomenon that keeps getting mentioned is a Broncos phenomenon. It's got nothing to do with the clubs in that state, but with a single club..

Ture but what they have said is they want another BRISBANE based team, especially for the option of a 2nd live Sunday game. Sunday viewing figures are not that great in Q'land when 2 Sydney teams are playing.

Expansion is a risky business. The only expansion club that I've ever seen which has never been a risk are the Broncos. Gold Coast have died 5 times over and they're on deaths door step again, News Ltd have been propping Storm up for it's entire existence, News Ltd had to buy the Cowboys and sell it back to the Leagues club a few years later to keep them afloat, Knights were always struggling until Tinkler took over and NZ have been on deaths door bed numerous times and keep getting bailed out by millionaires. All other expansion clubs (in my life time) have died.

Expansion is not to be taken lightly. Even look at other sports in the AFL the second teams in Perth and Adelaide, as well as Sydney and Brisbane are always struggling. Gold Coast and GWS are being financially supported for up to 20 years. In the A-League the only expansion team still in existence at the beginning of next season will be Melbourne Heart and their future doesn't look that great either...

TBF when most clubs older than 25 years were formed getting crowds of 1500 and running chook raffles was enough to keep them alive. New expansion is a whole new ball game and needs a very different approach and investment level.

Part of previous failures is that Rl has never had the funds to do expansion properly. This time it will if it decides it is a worthwhile investment. Any new expansion should bring value to the NRL, at the very least it should be cost neutral in the short term and cost beneficial in the long term. Whichever two clubs get in need to add value to the NRL above and beyond what they will cost. Gallop has been very consistent on this. Would teh AFL have got $1.25billion if it didn't have 2 NSW teams and 2 Q'land teams? Maybe maybe not but they obviosuly do not believe so hence why they have invested hundreds of millions of $'s in them. Imagine how much stronger RL would be in Victoria if the NRL had invested as much in the Storm as the AFl has done in their expansion teams.

CC are as close to a guaranteed sustainable business model that we'll ever see. None of the other bids can get neat them, hence they try and kill off CC with the TV argument. ...

That is a massive assumption on your part. WA has already said they have a 7 figure main sponsor lined up and lots of other corporate interest, Bombers are backed by some of the best connected businessmen in Q'land. Bears have done well to sign up a lot of small companies, if these will turn into major sponsors we don;t yet know, their major backers are not sponsors but people who have bought a share of a future club. Crowd wise I see no difference between what the Bears will get and what Perth or Brisbane2 will get (give or take the odd thousand).

If we are going to pump money into WA the other expansion area needs to be low risk, I'd suggest very low risk and CC are the only area that meets that criteria. Otherwise we can admit WA with no financial assistance and then a Brisbane team and we're a good chance of ending up with another 2 clubs like Titans and Sharks.

The ARLC will have a lot of spare cash to spend, hopefully they invest it wisely. If we have our bid as tight as i am led to believe it is then the extra financial support in WA will be in growing and marketing the game. not in propping up the income level of the NRL team. Titans have shown that admitting a heartland team is no less risky than admitting a expasnion area. It's a 3 horse race WA, CC and Brisbane 2 (Bombers or WC). At the moment all 3 offer their own strengths and weaknesses, the ARLC will have a tough job deciding.

Red&BlackBear

The mighty CENTRAL COAST BEARS.. Hibernation Ends 20.13

so what are the Bears doing in 2013 by the way?

We'll know what the call on expansion and who will be invited to join the NRL if it goes ahead. If it's the Central Coast Bears, then all the work put in for the last 3 years by the Greg Florimo led-bid on top of the previous incarnations of the bid and the work originally started by Norths will come to fruition. The hundreds of businesses and thousands of fans who invested in the bid to some degree will be rewarded. The sustainable business model and financial structure we worked on will be there for everyone to see. The endless hard yakka in the community engagement and ground work will bear the results.

And the many faces behind the bid who have put in 100% effort and commitment will be satisfied knowing that they put in their all, all to be a piece/part of the NRL and further strengthen rugby league. That's if we're green lighted.

What will you be doing in 2013 by the way?