Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Chairman McIntyre doesn't see a problem

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/new...-to-bow-to-club-fans/2267111.aspx?storypage=1

Raiders refuse to bow to club fans

BY JAMES BUCKLEY, RUGBY LEAGUE
23 Aug, 2011 04:00 AM
Frustrated Canberra Raiders fans hoping an end-of-season review will effect a change to the running of the club are likely to be disappointed.The Raiders, who were high in the premiership betting markets at the start of the season, are contenders for the NRL wooden spoon with just two rounds remaining.
An independent body will review the performance of the Raiders' players, coaches, administration and board of directors but chairman John McIntyre said that procedure was no different to any other year.
McIntyre claims injuries are to blame for the disappointing season and feels that despite calls for change from the fans, no-one at the club should have to shoulder the blame for an unfortunate season.
''It's just an indication of the passion that the supporters have got,'' McIntyre said. ''We've got to accept that but the review in no way will be anything like a witch hunt.
''It'll be an objective assessment of what all of us could've done, and done better.
''I don't think you'd call it [the Raiders' season] unacceptable, nobody's happy about it but it is the toughest rugby league competition in the world.''
Raiders coach David Furner, who is contracted until 2014, has been the target of many angry fans looking for someone to blame, but McIntyre says his job is safe.
No new players have been recruited, with the Raiders happy to again put their faith in the same roster.
The only squad changes will be the departure of a few experienced hands, including retiring captain Alan Tongue, who will make way for some of the club's under-20s squad.
There is no indication of changes to the administration headed by chief executive Don Furner while change to the board of directors is restricted under its rigid structure.
Effectively it is only the board themselves who can appoint or dismiss a director.
McIntyre chairs a seven-man board that includes ActewAGL chairman John Mackay, David Thom, former secretary of the Department of Defence Allan Hawke, former ASIO director general Dennis Richardson, former ACT deputy chief minister Paul Whalan and former deputy secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Michael Lightowler.
Board members are appointed for an indefinite period, and decide each year whether to stay on for another 12 months. The board can have as few as three or as many as nine members. Additions to the board are generally on the recommendation of current directors.
''It's a matter of the right person making themselves available,'' McIntyre said. ''Each year at the AGM they make a decision personally as to whether or not they're available for another year.
''Fortunately with the calibre of people we've got there I'm very happy to say that all of those board members are available for looking into the future.''
During the club's poor run of form this year, Raiders fans have indicated their desire to make the board more accountable.
Brendan Prater of Goulburn believes club members should hold voting rights and directors should be subject to re-election.
''The board should be in place for a fixed term, only say two years,'' Prater said. ''These should be voted on by members much like shareholders of a company.
''As a collective they [everyone at the club] should all shoulder the blame. The coach can only do so much but I think the buck should stop with the players.''
The Raiders host Penrith on Saturday night desperate to snap a four-game run of losses to send retiring captain Alan Tongue out a winner in his last match at home.
Fullback Josh Dugan remains in serious doubt with the groin injury which ruled him out of the weekend's loss to the Gold Coast.

So nuffies like bileduct and co. dismissed John McKay's comments earlier on in the season as off the cuff remarks, which possibly weren't in line with the collective thinking of other Raiders board members and therefore shouldn't have been taken seriously.

Thoughts now?

Here are my thoughts: we are a joke.

Michael Hagan is reviewing the football side of things from what I've heard (despite already being employed by the club as a coaching consultant).

Wtf would a review of our club do anyway? SFA

Reviewer: Guys, you need to be held accountable, board elections, remove potential conflicts of interest etc etc etc
McIntyre: Ok thanks mate, here's your cheque *No changes*

but there's only really two competitions in the world, and of course its the toughest. these merkins are blind and its fu*king frustrating

Timbo

Disgusting.

When we fold because we're run like a park footy team, I hope everyone remembers comments like this.

What a massive slap in the face to the fans.

If this season isn't unacceptable, what the f**k is?

d-a-z-z-a

LOL... his complaining about how hard/tough our competition is... ummm maybe he should consider switching the Raiders to play in the QLD cup comp next year .. thats probabaly a little easier... maybe more suited to our management capabilities.

Bay56

I posted this on another forum, have a read

Clubs that have been traditionally ‘successful’ or ‘high profile’ take action after a few years of inconsistency, finishing at the bottom end of the finals or finishing out of the finals. They, more often than not, ask questions of those responsible, demand answers and seek immediate change. Does that guarantee a sustained improvement?, not always, Parramatta being a fine example. But at the very least they are seen to be ACCOUNTABLE, and accountability is the minimum that a concerned supporter asks of the club that they donate their hard earned, time and most importantly their emotions.

Hands up anyone, place your hand on your heart and swear that the Raiders exhibit any sense of the word accountability. We take eight straight loses and then publicly state that the coach has no pressure to perform, his job is safe as long as he desires the position. We finish near last on the table and there is no sense of accountability forthcoming, more so excuses to justify ‘bad luck’. The finger is never pointed at the board, CEO, football manager and now the coach, or at least there is no public admission of that, the fans are left in the cold.

Do we need to finish last? ... you answer the question. What I’m sure of is that it won’t institute change ... those currently running the loony bin will not make the necessary changes that those at the top end would demand ... they’re satisfied that the football operations are running at a profit and their other business activities likewise. They’re satisfied with mediocrity on the footy field as long as friends and family have a job or position. They’re taking you and me for a ride.

d-a-z-z-a

Well said Bay65, if you look at the structure of our Board you will see that it isnt set up to allow for change and accountability, they are only accountable to each other.

We arent run professionaly and we havent modernised as a club. it is dissapointing and sad to see.

How long do we have to ride along on a dead horse for:(

Cryptic

:lol: @ Hagan - :lol: @ Faiders Waiders Poopers :lol:

T.

:lol: @ Roosters who can't even get their players to stay sober for two weeks... Lucky you guys didn't try to keep them off the drugs at the same time, otherwise you would have lost Friend as well... Granted it's not like you guys have the balls to drop anyone who is playing good footy... Is anyone else under any illusions that if Carney was going as well this year as he was last year that he would have been forgiven already and back on the field? Absolute joke of a club only beaten by their pathetic "supporters"...

to_ddeath

:lol: @ Roosters who can't even get their players to stay sober for two weeks... Lucky you guys didn't try to keep them off the drugs at the same time, otherwise you would have lost Friend as well... Granted it's not like you guys have the balls to drop anyone who is playing good footy... Is anyone else under any illusions that if Carney was going as well this year as he was last year that he would have been forgiven already and back on the field? Absolute joke of a club only beaten by their pathetic "supporters"...

I'm a "stains" supporter you f*cking dumb goon....my pic is actually a Rorters pisstake. Look at my profile page, it's coloured in red & white. Geez......

T.

Ronnie Dobbs

Disgusting.

When we fold because we're run like a park footy team, I hope everyone remembers comments like this.

What a massive slap in the face to the fans.

If this season isn't unacceptable, what the f**k is?

When you lose to us.

Its been written about and spoken about by scholars and mystics for centuries. The Incas knew about it.

It'll be the end of days. Armageddon. The end of time.

AND I'LL DIE FUGGING HAPPY IF IT EVER HAPPENS!

bileduct

So nuffies like bileduct and co. dismissed John McKay's comments earlier on in the season as off the cuff remarks, which possibly weren't in line with the collective thinking of other Raiders board members and therefore shouldn't have been taken seriously.

Thoughts now?
My thoughts? You are easily the biggest f**kwit on this forum, and that's including Bunniesman.

My comment about "off the cuff" remarks was in regard to McKay's statement that Furner could lose 30 games in a row and still have the support of the board. This was obvious hyperbole, but dumb flogs like yourself took it seriously.

As I have stated numerous times, I'll reserve further judgement on Furner until he is able to consistently put his best team, or even close to it, on the field.

But now that Bay56 is back, you guys go ahead and enjoy sucking each other off as you continue to demonstrate that you're just a pack of whining bitches.

bileduct

They’re taking you and me for a ride.
And yet you've been complaining year after year after year after year. The same dribble every time.

If what you say is true, and you know it, then you're a genius.

Go back to your AFL.