Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Channel 9 strikes again

simon says

I need a rant so here I go.

Im watching the footy yesterday, very entertained......the crowds singing and chanting the players are into eachother.......the game finishes and bang we are off to the news to see how Beryl from Berowra hates pokies and Abbott likes the weather.

FFS......no after game speeches, no watching the players joy and making the next week of semis,no crowd watch,no game analysis,who is playing who next weekend...NOTHING.

Straight to the boring as hell news.

What a freaking joke.

And while Im waxing they dont even put on the under 20's.

As usual poor form 9.

NO time for any of that when you need to stick 172 sports betting ads in.

It amazes me, in Qld, not sure about other states but we can only use a small portion of our advertising towards poker machines yet online sports betting can have unlimited advertising. With more than 50% of the money going offshore I wonder which is worst for the country & the community.

My rant...& I agree with the OP.

bfoord

Im watching the footy yesterday, very entertained......the crowds singing and chanting the players are into eachother.......the game finishes and bang we are off to the news to see how Beryl from Berowra hates pokies and Abbott likes the weather.

FFS......no after game speeches, no watching the players joy and making the next week of semis,no crowd watch,no game analysis,who is playing who next weekend...NOTHING.

What a freaking joke.

As usual poor form 9.

They can't play the under 20s ... They don't have the rights to, Fox Sports have those rights

Zigwaa

It was better than the repetitive dribbling from Phil Gould and Andrew Johns about how bad Souths were. Yes it was warranted mentioning once, but the amount they went on and on about it was painful.

stormbati

What I don't get is why the delay the game till after 4pm then leave no time for post-game interviews etc.
Probably so viewers don't switch onto another news channel. Grubs

LESStar58

What a freaking joke.

As usual poor form 9.

Welcome to the sort of treatment we get in Melbourne all the time, chief!

carlosthedwarf

What I don't get is why the delay the game till after 4pm then leave no time for post-game interviews etc.
Probably so viewers don't switch onto another news channel. Grubs

That's exactly why it is. Same reason the games don't kick off until 8pm on Thursday/Friday, so they get a higher rating for a longer period of time

New Division

What a freaking joke.

As usual poor form 9.

It was pathetic. Why not kickoff 4 instead of 4.15.

Last Week

Its all about the lead in to 9 news. Always has been always will be.

Exactly, it's going to be the strength of the new deal with 9. Thursday night footy will lead into the Footy Show. Saturday night footy will be on the back of the news. Sunday afternoon footy will lead into the news. Or if they have two Sunday arvo matches instead of the Saturday night game, it's all to maximize viewers leading into their news.