What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

charges dropped against Watts

Gronk

Staff member
Yeah surprised this thread wasn't started by TheRam himself.

Oh he's aware of it, but needs two hands to type. ;-)

wanking.gif

SDM

First Grade
I can't believe the cops made up charges against the poor bloke and tried to destroy his career.

Gronk

Staff member
Trouble seems to follow nomad Anthony Watts

THERE is a bloke at the Cronulla Sharks named Graham Cachia. He is a butcher by trade and runs what locals call The Shark House.

It is a single-level dwelling in the Shire where kids who join Cronulla Sharks from the country and Queensland can live rent-free and be fed the right food and advice. They arrive with stars in their eyes and hunger in their bellies.

Anthony Watts, then nicknamed Milky, was one of these players when he went to Toyota Stadium in 2007. But his hunger soon turned to anger.

Sharks officials told the under-20s Toyota Cup side to celebrate their 2007 Mad Monday away from the public, inside The Shark House.

Food was brought in to keep the players sober and Cachia, the house manager, looked after them and their needs.

When it appeared the players were becoming intoxicated, Cachia stepped in - much to the frustration of Watts.

Watts said to Cachia: "You have been riding me all year."

Cachia told the volatile Watts to calm down. Instead, Watts lunged at Cachia and a scuffle ensued.

Once separated, it didn't take long for then head coach Ricky Stuart to learn of the drama.

Aware of Cachia's dedication to the club, Stuart was filthy. Watts was sacked.

"By then we'd had enough of him," one Cronulla official said at the time. "We'd thrown him a lifeline and this is how he repaid us.