Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coaching positions

I read in the papers that Gus is desperate to get back into coaching.

Most of the teams have just appointed new coaches or appear content with the current coach. The only exceptions I can see are

Penrith
Easts
Manly
Saints

I don't think he'd go back to Easts and I couldn't envisage Gus coaching the silvertails. Penrith maybe, as a saints supporter I'd love to see him coaching us. I know we just resigned Farrar but frankly the results aren't on the board yet and we still aren't assured of a semis position yet. This would be the second year running, a situation that didn't occur with either of our two previous coaches.

What do you guys think ?

Yeah mate, I'd love to see him caoching the Dragons as well.He has a beaut footy brain,attracts quality players and is a proven success.He also builds teams.
What I reckon though, is if he returns to coaching,then Souths are the pea for his services.He would probably like to go there as it fits his beliefs,but the focres behind the scenes will have go to work on Coleman first,I think this will happen as Coleman has the job on borrowed time.
Gould to Souths will be the paper headline when it occurs.

P

pepe

taxi driver

you could probably add melbourne storm to the list,murray does'nt have a contract,just a handshake agreement.

i doubt very much gus would consider melbourne with his media committments etc,but i believe the storm need a high profile coach or players in the mould of lazarus who are good pr peopleand can generate publicity for the game down here.

i would like to see him go the saints however,but it appears he will probably help coleman out with the rabbitohs next season.

Same here, I would have liked to see Gould coaching Saints. He likes the Dragons and they like him. But things haven't worked out that way. St George now look certain to get into the top eight (stick that up your arse Frilingos!) and the worse scenario now is that Saints will have done better than last year.
That means that Farrar will continue.
I guess there's always a remote chance that Farrar (apparently good mates with Gould) will drop to assistant or co-coach but that's very unlikely.

I would be inclined to think he'd go for Souths.... Coleman permitting.Or perhaps he may feel that his old club, Penrith needs all the help they can get.
IMO, if Gus came back to coaching it would be Souths or Penrith.

I can't see him going to a SL club like Melbourne.