Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Competitive? Opinionated? Eloquent? Read this!

So you're all of the above, eh bigshot? Well why don't you prove it by signing on with Cronulla's Forum Sevens team for the 2004 season.

What is the 7's competition, you might ask? In a nutshell, its an essay writing competition. Players gather into groups of 7+ and each write an essay which is judged on its originality, style, humour and a whole bunch of other things. Its given a score and the scores are added up to get a total for your team. That total is then pitted against the total of your opposing team for that week to determine who brings home the competition points.

The Cronulla 7's team had a very up and down season in 2003. We claimed our first major title - the preseason Donovan Cup - in stunning style, but when the competition left rleague for LU, most of the players didn't follow. The team was held together by Tamazoid, but a lack of dedicated posters meant that the team struggled to fill its numbers for many weeks.

So far, we have a pretty able looking squad signed up for next year, including among others myself, Tamazoid, El Coconuto (co captains), Hulkamanic, Genius Freak, somethingwithjohn, Eskimo Sharkie, a couple of guys who support other clubs and perhaps more people still who I've forgotten to mention (sorry!).

However, it takes a healthy sized squad - upwards of 14 - and a nice rotation policy to ensure we can regain our competitive edge. So if you're interested in playing - ie. writing one essay every two weeks or even less - then post your interest here.

Some incentives - good posts have a chance of getting up on LU's front page, or alternatively, on the Sharks Den if you're interested.

SirShire

Well I am a die hard Sharks fan, I am an Advanced english student, I have an opinion on everything and I am dead keen to sign up.

If my services are required I'd be more than happy to join the squad.

Salmon - we'd love for you to join and your services would be extremely useful. The more depth we have, the better we can rotate people around, and the better chance we have of fielding a squad every week.

It should be noted that the competition proper won't start until sometime in 2004 - still a long way off - but we like to prepare in advance. There'll no doubt be all sorts of pre-season stuff happening to keep people entertained in the meantime anyway.

We'll consider you in then, Salmon.

Alan Shore

Salmon said:
Well I am a die hard Sharks fan, I am an Advanced english student, I have an opinion on everything and I am dead keen to sign up.

If my services are required I'd be more than happy to join the squad.

Welcome to the club.

It will be starting sometime in early 2004 - usually runs alongside the footy season.

However, there will also be one off games and pre-season comps to play in too, probably over the course of the summer.

CliffyGC

here you go fellas to prove im a changed man

Ill join and help Cronulla win their first ever comp. :)

There you go theres the olive branch

El Garbo said:
It will be starting sometime in early 2004 - usually runs alongside the footy season.

However, there will also be one off games and pre-season comps to play in too, probably over the course of the summer.

Looking forward to it. Who did your banner up El Garbo? I would mind one for myself.

Alan Shore

Eskimo Sharkie said:
El Garbo said:

Looking forward to it. Who did your banner up El Garbo? I would mind one for myself.

Z is making them himself. You will get one in due cause.

Cliffy, I don't know what to think of that. I guess you were an inaugral comp captain though.

That's the attitude Mr Angry.

We were having a discussion at work about what we would most like to see or do before we die. Everyone was sprouting these existential and airy fairy things, like exchanging views with the Dalai Lama in a Tibetan monastery, or being alive to witness the definitive settling of the life on other planets argument (ie an official delegation from another planet) etc etc etc. I said that I just wanted to see the Sharks win a Grand Final and I would go to my grave a very happy man. Don't care who they play in it or what the score is, I just want to see them win one. They all just looked at me as if we were in an elevator and I'd farted.

I've got the fine looking wife, all the kids I want (4 is enough for me), a reasonable house that I'm slowly paying off and a satisfying job. What else could a man ask for but to see his beloved Sharkies take their first flag?

Thanx Eskimo.

I understand your wish. ;-)

here is some of my work - consider this in my application

To the tune of 'The Ballad of Jed Clampett' - The Beverly Hillbillies
Apologies Paul Henning.

Come 'n listen to my story 'bout a man named Ando
Poor Rugby coach barely kept his family fed
An' then one day, he was scoutin' out for rugby dudes,
An' out on the ground was a halfback in the crude.
Kimmorley that is! Premiership gold! Loyal ta'boot!

Well, the first thing ya know, Ando's coach extraordinaire
Kin-folk said, "Ando, move away from there." Said
Sharkie territory is the place y'oughta be, so he
loaded up the truck, and he moved to Wanda Beach.
Cronulla that is! Never won, 37 years!

Ol' Ando bought a player,Kimmorley is his bub
Turfed the player of the year, from the mighty club,
Lotsa folks objected, but Ando found no fault,
'Cause ol' Sharks supporters money is a-layin' in his vault
Cash, that is! Still got to pay him, and the players he wants!

When the Sharks said goodbye to Lang and all his kin
We Sharks never properly said thanks folks fer kindly droppin'in.
You're all invited back again to this locality,
T'have a heapin' helpin' of Sharkie hospitality.
Sutherland Style, that is! Can't see a good thing, even when they've got it!
Y'all come back, here!

McSharkie said:
I thought I was already signed up. Let me know if you still need me.

Sorry I left you off the list there... yep, you're a part of the team. I was just working from memory.. :p

imasharkie

Eskimo Sharkie said:
That's the attitude Mr Angry.

We were having a discussion at work about what we would most like to see or do before we die. Everyone was sprouting these existential and airy fairy things, like exchanging views with the Dalai Lama in a Tibetan monastery, or being alive to witness the definitive settling of the life on other planets argument (ie an official delegation from another planet) etc etc etc. I said that I just wanted to see the Sharks win a Grand Final and I would go to my grave a very happy man. Don't care who they play in it or what the score is, I just want to see them win one. They all just looked at me as if we were in an elevator and I'd farted.

I've got the fine looking wife, all the kids I want (4 is enough for me), a reasonable house that I'm slowly paying off and a satisfying job. What else could a man ask for but to see his beloved Sharkies take their first flag?
A lot of Sharkies supporters in this boat eskimo ;-)