Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cook Islands v Country Rugby League

True EEL

Am off to see this match in Tamworth, NSW today, should be a good afternoon at Scully Park, West Tamworth.....

Cook Islands are currently 5th in the world after having leapfrogged numerous nations from 12th place not so long ago, and were unlucky to lose out to PNG for the right to play in the 4 Nations this year....

Zeb Taia will be turning out for Cook Islands (possibly captain) and I believe that a certain TK Amosa will also be playing for them, should be good - and CRL always present a good squad from the many talented players in bush, Group level footy who were never quite good enough for the NRL, or are pushing the boundaries of making the NRL at a young age

there is a Academy game on as the curtain raiser with two teams from different parts of the state, so should be a good afternoon

ps. is TK still signed to Parra? I actually thought he looked like a player who could be good with better talent around him, when i saw him in U/20's this year??

The Engineers Room

Am off to see this match in Tamworth, NSW today, should be a good afternoon at Scully Park, West Tamworth.....

Cook Islands are currently 5th in the world after having leapfrogged numerous nations from 12th place not so long ago, and were unlucky to lose out to PNG for the right to play in the 4 Nations this year....

Zeb Taia will be turning out for Cook Islands (possibly captain) and I believe that a certain TK Amosa will also be playing for them, should be good - and CRL always present a good squad from the many talented players in bush, Group level footy who were never quite good enough for the NRL, or are pushing the boundaries of making the NRL at a young age

there is a Academy game on as the curtain raiser with two teams from different parts of the state, so should be a good afternoon

ps. is TK still signed to Parra? I actually thought he looked like a player who could be good with better talent around him, when i saw him in U/20's this year??

TK Amosa was one of the main problems and reasons that they came last, takes terrible options in attack and goes missing. He is one of these guys that will go himself too often and is too predictable.

What that team lacked was a quality half/five-eighth.

eels81236

Go the Cooks.

I went to the Cook Islands about 5 years ago on my honeymoon. I should have left the bitch there and I'd still have my house, but that is another story.

I bought a Cook Islands national Jersey whilst there. I think I may dig it out and put it on today in support of the boys.

True EEL

TK Amosa was one of the main problems and reasons that they came last, takes terrible options in attack and goes missing. He is one of these guys that will go himself too often and is too predictable.

What that team lacked was a quality half/five-eighth.

I didn't see enough of him or the team to argue with you, however, i stick by what i said that to me - he looked ok, but maybe didn't have enough quality people around him on his wavelength??

True EEL

Go the Cooks.

I went to the Cook Islands about 5 years ago on my honeymoon. I should have left the bitch there and I'd still have my house, but that is another story.

I bought a Cook Islands national Jersey whilst there. I think I may dig it out and put it on today in support of the boys.

yeah dig it out, my partner's father is a Cook Islander, so she is pretty excited about going to support them.....sorry to hear things didn't work out for you though whilst over there it is meant to be beautiful?

eels81236

yeah dig it out, my partner's father is a Cook Islander, so she is pretty excited about going to support them.....sorry to hear things didn't work out for you though whilst over there it is meant to be beautiful?

It's a beautiful spot, for now. You can still see it at its natural best. However, like all places of it's ilk it will be over commercialised sooner rather than later.

The world masters games were on Rarotonga when I was there, so we spent a day cheering on the Aussies. Watching 90 year old men doing the hundred metre hurdles in about 2 mins flat is still one of the best experiences of my life. I may sound like a "horses hoof" here but it truly was awe inspiring. I had a tear or two in my eye. Speaking to some of the competitors on the day was great. Their attitude to life really was something special.

** coincidental fact ** Today is actual anniversary of the wedding. Once again, at the risk of sounding like a "horses hoof", I may have shed a tear that day too. ;-)

TheRam

It's a beautiful spot, for now. You can still see it at its natural best. However, like all places of it's ilk it will be over commercialised sooner rather than later.

The world masters games were on Rarotonga when I was there, so we spent a day cheering on the Aussies. Watching 90 year old men doing the hundred metre hurdles in about 2 mins flat is still one of the best experiences of my life. I may sound like a "horses hoof" here but it truly was awe inspiring. I had a tear or two in my eye. Speaking to some of the competitors on the day was great. Their attitude to life really was something special.

** coincidental fact ** Today is actual anniversary of the wedding. Once again, at the risk of sounding like a "horses hoof", I may have shed a tear that day too. ;-)

Chin up mate.

The Engineers Room

I didn't see enough of him or the team to argue with you, however, i stick by what i said that to me - he looked ok, but maybe didn't have enough quality people around him on his wavelength??

Well on several occasions we looked dangerous to the left with Loko and Sio and he would consistently go right. That isn't the players around that is him not having any idea what to do as a playmaker.

We had quite a few decent players and some that are now junior reps. Sure he looks flashy at times but little to no substance.

True EEL

Well on several occasions we looked dangerous to the left with Loko and Sio and he would consistently go right. That isn't the players around that is him not having any idea what to do as a playmaker.

We had quite a few decent players and some that are now junior reps. Sure he looks flashy at times but little to no substance.

fair call, but i saw him go to the left a bit in the games i watched, but it was only a couple.....am not making him out to be some down-trodden superstar, just that he looked o-k??

True EEL

well i hope not mate, my partner owns an island or a bay over there apparently, so i hope it doesn't get wrecked before we get there!!! ;-)

eels81236

Chin up mate.

It's all good, mate. Twas a long time ago. If that's the worst thing that happens in life then I'm doing OK. A mate of mine, not long after my divorce, lost his 3 year old son to cancer. That put thing into perspective for me.

RIP Bailey.

What is this a councelling session?

It's all good, mate. Twas a long time ago. If that's the worst thing that happens in life then I'm doing OK. A mate of mine, not long after my divorce, lost his 3 year old son to cancer. That put thing into perspective for me.

RIP Bailey.

I think you should have a middy of beer mate. ;-)

CrazyEel

RIP Bailey.

Sorry to hear that mate but good to see you can look back and keep it in perspective, all the best to you.

eels81236

well i hope not mate, my partner owns an island or a bay over there apparently, so i hope it doesn't get wrecked before we get there!!! ;-)

The smaller islands will be fine. Rarotonga will suffer the most.

It's amazing to see people living in old timber houses and makeshift dwellings whilst in their front yard was the family burial plot. Some of these gravesites were amazing. The living lived in squallar in comparison to the dead. A highly religeous society where the dead are revered.
Yet in their oceanfront backyard was absolutely priceless. Easily the "prettiest" beaches and clearest water I have ever seen.

When we booked into the resort we stayed at we were told there were 2 important rules to follow.
1. If you were going to pick fruit/vegies from one of the farms for dinner then dont take from farms that have fencing. All other produce is fair game and is shared between locals. Different families grow different crops for their communities.
2. The main road around Rarotonga is a loop of the island that takes all of about 25 mins to complete by car. When walking along this road to or from town the locals will often stop to pick you up and give you a lift. The locals can get offended if you flat out refuse. It's odd I know, but unless your house is within sight then accept the lift. It is apparently a sign of respect.

Cook Islanders are extremely nice people and the men some of the biggest specimens you will ever see. Massive.

eels81236

Aututaki is heaven on earth.

It has to be pretty darn close. Why would you visit major cities when the world offers things such as this?

* I must say that watching 15 days of test cricket in the West Indies was pretty close to heaven for me.

When the Cook Islands are ranked 5th in world... you know rugby league is struggling internationally. And people want a team in PNG.

Noise

ive been to the cooks twice on surf trips. Its awesome.

In regards to the footy scene over there, they play both union and league (i think league in the summer, union in winter - not that the temp varies a great deal) and generally the same players play both codes.

I went and watched a local union game (only coz it was on at the time - i promise i hate the code :p). Was heaps of fun sitting on the sidelines with the locals. They really get into it, both the crowd and the players. Also one of the Iro boys (can't remeber if it was Kevin or Tony) lived there and was playing in the game.