Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowe's tweet sparks warfare

HOSTILITIES between Parramatta and South Sydney exploded yesterday after Rabbitohs powerbrokers Russell Crowe and Shane Richardson mouthed off over Chris Sandow's $1.7 million defection to the Eels.

Incoming Souths coach Michael Maguire is now under immense pressure to find a specialist No. 7, but his long-term relationship with out-of-favour Raiders veteran Matt Orford could provide a left-field solution.

The Eels now want Bulldogs playmaker Ben Roberts as an option to partner Sandow in a new-look halves combination next season.

Parramatta have already made unofficial overtures to sign Roberts for the remainder of this year. But the enormous ramifications of Sandow's exorbitant four-year deal were immediately overshadowed by a provocative parting shot from Richardson, who lamented: "Unfortunately Chris has met his Alan Bond."

Eels officials were furious at being likened to the disgraced businessman, who infamously bought Channel 9 for $1 billion before selling the network back to Kerry Packer for a $300 million loss.

But they were even more incensed at Crowe, who inflated the value of Sandow's contract in a reactionary tweet that immediately drew the ire of fans. "Chris Sandow to Parramatta at 550K a year," the Hollywood star cried.

It is understood Sandow will actually earn a little over $400,000-a-year, but Parramatta did increase their offer from $800,000 over three seasons at the 11th hour in response to a rearguard action from Crowe.

Parramatta chairman Roy Spagnolo said he preferred to maintain the club's dignity by not firing back at Souths. "We'll be professional and just let them embarrass themselves," Spagnolo said.

But Richardson said Souths were bewildered by the magnitude of Parramatta's offer - claiming the young halfback now earns more than the game's elite players.

Asked did he regret the comment, Richardson said: "Not at all. I remember what Kerry Packer said.

"Only once in your lifetime does an Alan Bond come along. Parramatta made an massive offer and good luck to Chrissy."

Eels CEO Paul Osborne was going to return serve at Crowe on Twitter, but instead fronted a press conference late yesterday.

"I might look like Alan Bond, but I don't feel like him, no," Osborne said.

"It's probably not the way we would have reacted and it's something other people will judge," he said.

"It's been interesting and we've missed out on some players this year and we've been disappointed, but I certainly haven't tweeted and I certainly haven't speculated about what kind of money we've missed out on."

Outspoken Eels board member Ray Price, however, blasted Richardson and Crowe for hypocracy after the pair poached Greg Inglis on a mega-bucks deal late last year.

"I can't believe it," Price said. "Someone beats them to something and they get the sh*ts and carry on.

"What about Inglis?"

As revealed in The Daily Telegraph two weeks ago, the Eels chased Sandow after Wayne Bennett sang the 21-year-old's praises to coach Stephen Kearney and football manager Peter Nolan.

With their initial approach exceeding what Souths could afford, Parramatta were confident of getting their man after he gave them separate verbal assurances the deal would be done.

But Crowe refused to give up and pleaded with Sandow to stay behind the scenes.

Parramatta's heavy loss to St George Illawarra on Sunday also had Eels officials worried and on Monday morning some directors were genuinely resigned to missing yet another big-name target.

But the last-minute negotiations produced an offer to good for Sandow to refuse, leaving Souths with limited options for next year.

Although contracted for another season, Orford is struggling to re-adapt to the NRL in Canberra. He regularly speaks to Maguire, but there have been no official discussions between Souths and the 33-year-old's agent, George Mimis.

Isaac Luke is also an option to fill Sandow's boots, with the Kiwi rake playing his junior representative football in the halves and young hookers Nathan Peats and Beau Falloon also at Redfern.

The day Rusty got no for an answer

RUSSELL Crowe is used to getting whatever Russell Crowe wants.

He stole Craig Wing from the Roosters a few years ago and paraded him out at a tacky press conference while he was still under contract to their arch-rivals.
He wanted Greg Inglis at the Bunnies even though the big centre had a verbal and handshake agreement with the Broncos - and got him.
He persuaded the game's best prop at the time, Roy Asotasi, to quit the Bulldogs and join Souths, and he signed arguably the world's best forward, Sam Burgess, from England to head-up the Rabbitohs pack.
It was all the Hollywood star factor, his personal pulling power in face-to-face meetings or phone calls, that got the deals over the line.
Not any more.
First, supercoach Wayne Bennett rejected a Bunnies coaching offer and yesterday morning halfback Chris Sandow emerged from a sleepless night to announce he's quitting the club to take up an offer from the Parramatta Eels.

Crowe handled it poorly.

"Chris Sandow to Parramatta at $550k a year," he announced on Twitter.
Apart from the figure being wrong, it was a petulant and spoilt-child response about a player who couldn't even get an offer from his own club four weeks ago.
Crowe should look back at the class Bulldogs boss Todd Greenberg displayed in the far more significant defection of the game's No. 1 personality player Jamal Idris to the Titans two weeks earlier.
"Rugby league is big business and players are looking to maximise their services and why wouldn't they," Greenberg said.
"We're disappointed Jamal is going, but we wish him the best for the future."
Souths knew they couldn't match the $400,000-plus a-year deal Parramatta offered and money was always likely to be the deal maker or breaker.
It's well known the young halfback is in the process of trying to beat a gambling problem, having blown much of what he has earnt since coming into the NRL.
In the end, the difference was the fact Parramatta lost Timana Tahu during the off-season and had money under the cap while Souths had stretched their own to the limit by snatching Inglis from the Broncos.
For the Rabbitohs, it was their toughest day since Crowe and Peter Holmes a Court purchased the club. "If he goes it will be the most disappointing day in my 18 years as a chief executive," Richardson said on Monday. "[Chris] loves South Sydney and we love him."
Sandow was always torn between the Rabbitohs jersey and the money. He was first approached by Parramatta five weeks ago and agreed to sign twice, only to change his mind because he couldn't bring himself to tell his teammates.
The announcement about his future was supposed to be made before last Friday night's match against the Sharks.
He again agonised over it all weekend with his mother Rhonda, who had flown from Queensland to meet Eels coach Stephen Kearney to find out what the Eels could offer her son apart from the extra cash.
On Monday he even told his great mate, five-eighth John Sutton, over the phone that he would be signing with Souths the next day.
But it didn't happen and yesterday morning he finally worked up the courage to tell Souths what he'd been trying to tell them for weeks.
Russell Crowe had missed out on his man.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...no-for-an-answer/story-fn7shkwp-1226050089605

Interesting that bit in red. If Murray is still here they will have something in common....

oldmancraigy

The Eels now want Bulldogs playmaker Ben Roberts as an option to partner Sandow in a new-look halves combination next season.

Parramatta have already made unofficial overtures to sign Roberts for the remainder of this year

My favourite part of that article!

Is there any serious chance that we get Roberts for this year?
I know he suffers from poor decision making at times, but his short kicking game would be the best at the club by a LONG way...

Not all that excited about Roberts, but anyone is better than what we have ATM. Oh and suck shit Rusty!!

A comment from Morts perhaps on the Ben Roberts interest ?

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/osborne-lets-fly-at-crowe-as-sandow-takes-the-eels-massive-bait-20110504-1e8kt.html

Osborne lets fly at Crowe as Sandow takes the Eels' massive bait
Chris Barrett

May 5, 2011

PARRAMATTA'S new recruit Chris Sandow found himself stuck in the middle of a bitter war of words between the Eels and South Sydney after Rabbitohs owner Russell Crowe claimed on Twitter that the halfback left his club for a deal worth a staggering $550,000 a season.

Souths chief executive Shane Richardson also weighed in as he announced Sandow's departure in a media release yesterday, saying of the player: ''Unfortunately for us he has met his Alan Bond."

Crowe tweeted: ''Chris Sandow to Parramatta at $550K year'', a figure denied by the Eels, who say privately the 22-year-old is joining them next year on a four-year contract worth about $400,000 a season, including third-party deals. Another source placed the figure closer to $450,000.

Parramatta chief executive Paul Osborne said he would not discuss Sandow's salary but left little doubt about his disdain for the actions of Crowe and Richardson earlier in the day. ''I was a little surprised. We pride ourselves on our professionalism and it's not a way that we would have reacted,'' Osborne said. ''But that's really a matter for South Sydney and other people to judge. The people involved need to have a look at themselves.''

Crowe's valuation of Sandow's new deal at the Eels would make the halfback, who has not made a senior representative appearance, one of the highest-paid players in the NRL.

Parramatta, however, rejected suggestions they had agreed to pay Sandow well beyond what he was worth, a point of view alluded to by Richardson. The Souths chief compared Sandow to the late Kerry Packer, who was famously reported to have said ''an Alan Bond only happens to you once'' after the businessman paid Packer $1.05 billion for the Channel Nine network in 1987. Three years later Packer bought back Nine from Bond for little more than $200 million.

Osborne said: ''I might look like Alan Bond, but I don't feel like him, no. We've got a wonderful player at a very reasonable price. We're looking forward to having him here next year. He made it clear that the Stephen Kearney factor and the direction he's taking us as a club was a major factor.''

Souths, having re-signed five-eighth John Sutton last month, are now on the hunt for a new halfback. Among the potential options are off-contract Warriors playmaker James Maloney - coincidentally a Parramatta junior - and veterans Craig Gower and Brett Finch, who is playing at Wigan under Souths' incoming coach Michael Maguire. Emerging Rabbitohs halfback Adam Reynolds is highly rated but is sitting out this season with a knee injury.

The Eels' acquisition of Sandow spells bad news for present halfback Jeff Robson, who is off contract, although Osborne said: ''I think Steve would like to keep Jeff.''
The struggling club is also keen to strengthen its outside backs, although Osborne said reports that centre Joel Reddy was leaving were incorrect. ''We're still talking to him,'' he said.

For Sandow, there was much to take in. He said Crowe had told him he would respect whatever decision he made but did not comment on the actor's outing of his supposed Eels income on Twitter. ''He had a few words to me. He basically wanted me to stay but he said [do] what's best for me,'' Sandow said. ''He's going to be upset but he's there on the side just to talk to me, give me a hand. He said if I go to Parramatta he'll still be my mate.''

Sandow said the move west was just the latest major development in his life. He acknowledged that he did not even know how to get to Parramatta yet.

''I moved from Cherbourg to Sydney. That was a big change for me,'' he said. ''It's different from back home in the bush. You can walk everywhere in Cherbourg. You don't need a car there. But in Sydney you get lost just going down the road. I actually don't [know how to get to Parramatta] at the moment but I'll find my way there.''

He said he had not signed with Parramatta for money. ''I play footy because I love it. All my family back in Cherbourg grew up the same way but just [made] the wrong decisions in life. They wanted to stay home there in Cherbourg and do nothing with their life. I moved away and did something with my life. I grew up on a mission in the bush … $1000 is a lot for me, even $100. You can say [I'm a] millionaire but I'm just Chris Sandow to me.''

Nathan Merritt questions why South Sydney didn't make an early and serious play for Chris Sandow

• By Ben Horne And David Beniuk
  • AAP
  • May 04, 2011 6:27PM

Star South Sydney winger Nathan Merritt has questioned why the club didn't make a serious play to lock up Chris Sandow, with the in-form halfback confirming a four-year deal with Parramatta on Wednesday thought to be worth $1.6 million.

While Rabbitohs hierarchy announced Sandow's departure early on Wednesday highlighting the amount of money the Eels were offering, Merritt suggested Souths officials only had themselves to blame.
"Definitely. They (Souths officials) should have jumped in early and tried to secure his signature earlier," said Merritt from City NSW Origin camp.
"It's probably their fault for not jumping in early enough.
"I think Souths were a bit worried if he was up to standard but he's shown over the last month that he can do the job."

Parramatta chief executive Paul Osborne had pushed that line earlier in the day, suggesting Souths didn't seem particularly interested in his services.
"We were a little surprised that one of the reasons we managed to get Chris here was there was probably a feeling from him that there wasn't a lot of interest from Souths, which we found intriguing," he said.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/league/...for-chris-sandow/story-fn2mcuj6-1226050009999

Souths are really getting hammered and looking so unprofessional. Deservedly so.

Russel is not a Gladiator he's just uour friendly local dickhead.

spiderdan

The one person in this situation that, to my surprise, has acted professionally and with integrity is sandow himself. Good on him (I've previously described him as the biggest dickhead in oz sport). If he did come here for the $ then so what? He has a family he has to take care of so who could be pissed at him for that?

On Crowe, he has come out of this looking like a bigger wanker than normal. One of the things that put a smile on my face years ago was hearing about then warriors owner, Eric Watson, decking Crowe in London after Crowe confronted Eric in a bathroom. Also, does Crowe legally have any right to publicly declare anyone's income?

Lastly, some parts of the media questioning the value of sandow and what we supposedly paid. If you look at him and compare to other players then they are spot on (eg sandow worth about 1/2 to 2/3 of hayne or inglis) but given that the sport is now fully professional and a business it needs to be looked at from that point of view (ie supply and demand) and given decent halfs are rare and we really needed at least one then sandow is not over-valued and is worth whatever we spent (assuming he plays well).

Last edited by a moderator:

Glenn

For Messers Crowe and Richardson

images

My guess would be that he is not the only one with a gambling problem at Souths.

Not suggesting anything, but over the years they have lost a lot of games as favourites....

Black Sox?

Parra

Nothing Crowe or Richardson said was that inflammatory or controversial.

Generated a lot of overreactions though.

so its $1.7mill now ?

its inflated alot over the last 24 hours

I don't even see any Bunnies fans sticking up for these 2 idiots atm