Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Daniel Anderson eyes court action against Parramatta Eels over a payout dispute

Casper The Ghost

Daniel Anderson eyes court action

Phil Rothfield & Rebecca Wilson
November 07, 2010 12:01AM

DUMPED coach Daniel Anderson is threatening to take legal action against the Parramatta Eels over a payout dispute.

Five weeks after his dismissal, Anderson has not been paid one cent of his entitlements because his manager Jim Banaghan and Eels CEO Paul Osborne cannot agree on a figure.

Anderson was under contract for a further 12 months when the Eels board replaced him with Kiwi Test coach Steve Kearney after a review of the football club operations. "I'm disappointed it's dragged on for so long given the public assurances from Parramatta that all would be fine," Banaghan said. "As a result, I've had no option but to pass it on to our lawyers to get it settled."

Eels boss Osborne confirmed he was now dealing with Anderson's legal firm and had been doing so for some time. "There are a couple of issues we're trying to resolve with Daniel's solicitor," Osborne said. "Other than that, I'm not going to inflame the situation by commenting on it."

We're told Parramatta have given Anderson his company car and mobile telephone, but the dispute is over the cash settlement. Despite all the off-field controversy, we're told Parramatta fans have rallied behind Kearney and the revamped coaching staff. Club membership numbers and sponsorship dollars are way up on the same time last season despite the fact the team failed to make the semi-finals.

WHEN the respected boss of the Men of League organisation speaks, it's time to stop and listen. Ron Coote is one of the most admired men in the game because he's a straight-shooter. Coote is concerned about how the NRL's independent commission is being set up and has spoken out about the quality of people the game needs.

"There seems to be a veil of secrecy," he says. "To me it is like the secret service, very little has been announced of how it will work or who will select the commissioners. There's been an announcement that the commissioners will be announced in December, yet at this stage no one has mentioned the names of John Fahey or John Quayle. No one would have better credentials than these two gentlemen. Both have extensive careers in rugby league, as players and officials.

"Both have been successful businessmen. John Fahey has a law degree, played rugby league with the Bulldogs in the '60s and is still their patron. He has had an extensive career in politics; he rose to the level of Premier of NSW before graduating to federal parliament, where he became Finance Minister as part of the Howard government. He is currently the president of the World Anti-Doping Authority (WADA) - that rates him in the top 20 sports administrators in the world. He has not been asked if he would be interested in being a commissioner.

"John Quayle has presided over the game's most successful era. He was an outstanding administrator. Who could forget 'Simply the Best' with Tina Turner which, thanks to John Quayle, opened rugby league to a whole new market? It's been said the new commission shall not contain any of the existing NRL board members. One great loss will be Katie Page, who has been a brilliant contributor to the game, bringing her marketing skill to attract female interest in rugby league."

CONFIDENCE is something boxing glamour girl Lauryn Eagle has in bucketloads.But the former water-skiing champion is denying rumours she had $1000 on herself at $1.85 to beat New Zealander Christina Tai in her bout last weekend at Homebush. "That's not right," Eagle told us. "Write something about my fight or that I'm going to fight for a world title next year."

IT'S good to see the NSW police force out and about on Melbourne Cup day looking after our sporting celebrities. Fast bowler Brett Lee and his mates left Randwick races after the Cup and jumped straight into the back of a policee four-wheel drive while thousands of others waited in long queues for buses and taxis. Lee's mates were boasting to anyone who cared to listen that they were getting dropped off at Kings Cross. And we thought the days of special favours out of the Golden Mile ended when Chook Fowler and his cohorts were run out of town by the Wood royal Commission.

Link: http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...yes-court-action/story-e6freye0-1225948830874

IFR33K

Where are all the merkins on this forum now, that stated Roy didn't lie because da contract will be honoured. Ffs sake lie after lie after lie. I knew these clueless c**k jockies were incompatent, and will only run our club futher into the ground. You would of thought this matter would of been settled by now, to ensure 2011 doesn't derail. Thank god we have SK as coach.

For the record I hope da takes them to the cleaners

Maroubra Eel

Where are all the merkins on this forum now, that stated Roy didn't lie because da contract will be honoured. Ffs sake lie after lie after lie. I knew these clueless c**k jockies were incompatent, and will only run our club futher into the ground. You would of thought this matter would of been settled by now, to ensure 2011 doesn't derail. Thank god we have SK as coach.

It's Sunday morning. I would say they'd be sleeping.

I don't tend to put much thought into what those 2 dipsh*ts write, but if Ossie is saying the lawyers are involved then clearly there are issues

i thought they would have just been prepared to pay him out like they said they would .... it seems a bit weird that he gets to keep his company car and phone tho - is that normal? - is it just a matter of deducting that from his salary?

i don't care that DA started the process rolling by agreeing they extend him or cut him - yes he may have contributed to his own downfall and he can live with that, but the cutting should involve paying him out in full .... IF our club is trying to weasel out on that, then that is poor .... but hey, none of us know the full details - hopefully it gets sorted quickly

boxhead

Bloody hell, you don't even know the facts mate. Calm down.

look at who wrote the article, I wouldn't take too much notice of it

mrpwnd

Even if this is true, who gives a sh*t?
Monaghan just copped head off a dog, that just about overshadows any headline worthy story for the next 2-3 months.

its not their usual fluff opinion piece - both ossie and his manager are saying there is an issue

Club membership numbers and sponsorship dollars are way up on the same time last season

Few people seem to realise this is more important than on-field results, at least in the short term.

Hopefully the new TV deal will provide financial security for all clubs so they can focus on either winning the comp, or building towards it.

And we thought the days of special favours out of the Golden Mile ended when Chook Fowler and his cohorts were run out of town by the Wood royal Commission.

It's not just the coppers.

We had the Wallabies out to play with the weapons a couple of years ago. Mat Rogers couldn't get enough of racking the shotgun one-handed - he had this childlike grin on his face. Creepy.

Maroubra Eel

For such a simple process it seems lik such a waste to get lawyers involved.

It's like amateur hour at the eels.

parra pete

Joel's I think...

'All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.'
----Edmund Burke

IFR33K

Bloody hell, you don't even know the facts mate. Calm down.

I don't need a little kid telling me to calm down. The board has had enough time to settle the matter, and they have chosen not to.

In the best interest of this club, and our 2011 season, they should just pay da out, whether it be a little more then they would be happy with. I would hate to see this dragged through the courts, and the eels being in the media AGAIN for the wrong reasons.

parra pete

Few people seem to realise this is more important than on-field results, at least in the short term.

Hopefully the new TV deal will provide financial security for all clubs so they can focus on either winning the comp, or building towards it.

The way Rugby League is going atm - off the field - sponsors will be jumping at the opportunity to come on board to be associated with it.:sarcasm:
Mad Monday sponsors are needed badly so the players can really become themselves.. just like Robert Lui, Joel Monaghan, Jason Taylor, the Souths forward who jobbed him..the list goes on and on and on..Real fair dinkum ambassadors for the game...AND those are just some of the incidents we know of..How many are hushed up???
All Clubs apparently are tarred with the same brush. Too much money, too big an ego, too much time on their hands, and too many morons...add grog and you have TROUBLE with a capital T.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGj_OH6j5bA