Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Daniel Vidot - What a depressing story for International League

Scubby

Basically story goes, Vidot - 'I'm so proud to play for Samoa and can't wait for the 4N but if Mal wants to pick me on the wing for Queensland in a bl**dy dead rubber game I will bin Samoa in a heartbeat'

Can't get much more depressing than that.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/sta...k-to-flick-samoa/story-fn31yxah-1226965461968

“But if I got the opportunity to play Origin I would definitely grab it with two hands. I reckon it’s the biggest thing in rugby league, it’s bigger than international footy to be honest."

deluded pom?

Then Samoa should ask him to confirm or deny that quote and if it's true they should tell him to feckoff pronto.

Bazzi

The biggest problem is that he isn't allowed to play both.

He played his junior footy in Queensland, and he has a Samoan heritage, I don't see the problem in letting him play for the two.

deal.with.it

Guys, we are not going to change the rules on this forum.

Lets deal with the quote. What would you do if you were Samoa?

I would NOT pick him ever again. Development of all Samoans is more important than having a great winger.

Evil Homer

Who gives a f**k if Aussies are stupid and can't see the wood for the trees? I couldn't care less, the whole thing is a waste of time anyway because these guys seem to have no concept of nationality or international sport. We can't force it on them, just leave them to it.

deal.with.it

I agree Evil Homer. Other nations are doing plenty on the international scene.
Euro Chams at end of year
Euro B and C
MEA Tournament
PNG want to host Pacific Cup next year
France touring NZ
Several Pacific and Euro nations playing tests at end of year.
Colonial Cup
Carribean Carnival match

The only problem is:
Aus and NZ are hosting the next WC. Don't you think it would be best to have them embrace International RL before they host our most prestigious tournament.

hutch

Mustn't care too much about Samoa then. If I was a Samoan selector I'd tell him to pack his bags, obviously playing for an Australian state means more than playing for his apparent country. Plenty of players in his situation over the years have stuck solid with their country over origin. Kieran foran and frank Pritchard are two recent examples.

Rodney

Why are we crucifying him for exploiting a system that has been made for this purpose?
The main reason players are allowed to flop eligibility is because SOO requires players deflect to Aus.
If there wasn't the origin problem eligibility would most likely be fixed (the only scenario where i see it being allowed to change is if the country you want to change to didn't have a team when you initially chose alliegance ala. Braith Anasta).
He can switch back to samoa in time for the 4 nations and he's not going to miss any games, why the hate?

I Bleed Maroon

The biggest problem is that he isn't allowed to play both.

He played his junior footy in Queensland, and he has a Samoan heritage, I don't see the problem in letting him play for the two.

Pretty much nailed it. The selection criteria for representative footy is fundamentally broken.

deal.with.it

It's far from fundamentally broken.

There's too many so called international RL fans who think the best way to "fix" international RL is by letting players who don't want to represent Australia play in State of Origin.

It's not an international match, it isn't of the RLIF's jurisdiction. It's the ARL's decision. They chose to change the eligibility rules of State of Origin to better help international RL, particularly for NZ, by creating the 13+ rule.

Instead of sticking solid with this "international RL power brokers are idiots. State of Origin should be opened up to other nationalities" argument, why don't you instead choose to support the international matches that are played. Sponsor a player or team. Attend an event. Buy merchandise. Help each nation build up their revenue so they can put on bigger events. That will help build the "credibility" and attractiveness of international rugby league. There is plenty on here that do just that. But there's plenty of others who don't.

There's plenty of hard working people in many countries doing their best on shoe string budgets. Whether Daniel Vidot plays State of Origin is far from their concern.

What the RLIF needs to do is fully enforce its current rules, in alignment with other international sports. Particularly as RL edges closer to Comm Games admission, Sports Accord admission etc.

Scubby

The whole debacle could be solved with the origin sign up forms:

I qualify to play Origin as a (born in Aus, came to Aus before my 13th birthday etc.) - Yes/No

Have you represented a nation other than Aus at RL - Yes/No

As an Origin player you would be eligible for selection for the Australian National RL team. Do you want to be considered for selection - Yes/No

So someone who qualifies for Origin has the choice to decline Australian selection. Vidot is a perfect example of this. This is an inter-state competition. If anything has been shown recently it's that Laurie Daley and Mal Menninga are not giving a stuff about the Australian national side when they make selections and neither are the fans of both states who go to watch.

Joker's Wild

Who gives a f**k if Aussies are stupid and can't see the wood for the trees? I couldn't care less, the whole thing is a waste of time anyway because these guys seem to have no concept of nationality or international sport. We can't force it on them, just leave them to it.

You have a real issue with Australians dont you mate

Pretty sure Sam Burgess said he would love to play SOO too. Gonna lable all Englishmen stupid too?

roughyedspud

sam can't play origin anyway for your point is irrelevant sunshine..

at the end of the day state of origin should have absolutely nothing to do with international RL..

and i notice the toa samoa facebook page is now calling for players to be able to be selected for both..the next step should be to lobby the ARLC to change ITS rules

Scubby

The NRL exerts all its energy to create tribalism for people within NSW and QLD and when someone like Vidot (who has played all his RL in QLD) gets sucked in with the hype they play the 'you would have to give up Samoa card'.

I have no doubt Vidot feels 100% a Queenslander (thanks to the hyperbole Origin machine) but has no desire to play for Australia over Samoa.

It is either about tribal insular State-versus-State or it is an Australia trial series. At no point do you see any articles on Australian selection or interviews with Tim Sheens during Origin. It is now separate from International RL (no June/July tours or series anymore) and I don't think there would be a single fan who would mind Vidot playing in Origin 3 and then Samoa in the 4N.

The born in Aus, moved before 13 etc. are there and this means people like Sam Burgess, James Graham, Semi Radradra can't play and that is fair enough. But someone like Milford isn't going to make a Kangaroos jersey any time soon yet he has 'apparently' given away playing for Samoa in the 4N to play in a U20s curtain raiser. Crazy

deal.with.it

If you want RL to be taken serious on the international scene, why would you advocate for Millford & Vidot to play for SoO & Samoa because they're not good enough for Aus? It should be about passion.
Samoa should pick a squad of players that understand the eligibility rules and choose Samoa over SoO. Then hold annual camps with this squad. Build up the Samoan passion. Then build the results. Then you won't have to worry about players swappibg nations.
Each nation knows the rules. Follow them and focus on yourself.

I hate the fact I have to wear clothes outside. But its the rule so I adhere to it and prepare myself each morning accordingly.

hutch

Allowing players to play origin and for a country other than Australia can only work with a one nation rule.

What would happen when we eventually go to stand alone rep weekends and qld and Samoa play on the same weekend. Just adds to the problem IMO!

RedVee

We need a player to play Origin and then turn out for a nation other than Australia.
Anthony Minichiello last year. NSW & Italy if I'm not mistaken.

The whole debacle could be solved with the origin sign up forms:

I qualify to play Origin as a (born in Aus, came to Aus before my 13th birthday etc.) - Yes/No

Have you represented a nation other than Aus at RL - Yes/No

As an Origin player you would be eligible for selection for the Australian National RL team. Do you want to be considered for selection - Yes/No

So someone who qualifies for Origin has the choice to decline Australian selection. Vidot is a perfect example of this. This is an inter-state competition. If anything has been shown recently it's that Laurie Daley and Mal Menninga are not giving a stuff about the Australian national side when they make selections and neither are the fans of both states who go to watch.

But would Vidot decline Aust if selected? How do you know we isn't all over Samoa because he is miles off being picked for Aust?

Scubby

But would Vidot decline Aust if selected? How do you know we isn't all over Samoa because he is miles off being picked for Aust?

We don't because all we ever hear is Origin, Origin Origin. In recent cases, Milford, Mead, Topou, Vidot - all we have heard about is wanting to represent NSW or Qld at Origin. I can't find an instance where these players are saying that it is their ambition or dream to play for Australia - and I read a lot of stuff on this. We hear about having to ditch their country they have played for but not them actually saying they want to play for the Kangaroos out of preference.

It is messy beyond belief.