Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Darren Senter cops it in Player Poll

ucantseeme

In the Big League player poll our captain, Darren Senter, was voted the player other players would LEAST like to play alongside.

Can anyone explain why that is? He's seems like a good bloke to me...

To me that's worse than being voted most overrated

brook

This is what I posted in reply to your question in the NRL general topic...

After last years poll the did an interview with one of the melbourne players (forget which one) about Dazza

Whoever it was had recently played city-country with him, the first time he'd ever had a chance to socialise with him.

He said that before that he'd always hated him - he's a fierce competitor and a master sledger on the field and so doesn't exactly endear himself to his opponents. Shane Walker (a good mate of Dazza's) who had been playing with melbourne had been trying to convince him that he was a great bloke but he refused to believe him.

After playing in the same team with him and actually getting to know him he totally changed his tune though - Darren is very popular with his teamates, its only those that have to play against him that have issues ;-)

tigermite

According to Foxsports, Justin Hodges actually took out that award. Senter came in 2nd (I haven't seen Big League so I'm not saying you're wrong, just what they said).

And other Wests Tiger mentions, opposition players hated playing at Campbelltown more than anywhere else, Wests Tigers dropped right down the list of 'the last club they would join' with Souths taking that out (after we won it last year), with Eels and Warriors coming in 2nd and third respectively this year. Campbelltown has the 2nd worse dressing rooms, behind Newcastle, and Karmichael Hunt was rated as the games next superstar ahead of Benji.

Full article found at http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,9791481-23210,00.html

Eddie.

brook said:
This is what I posted in reply to your question in the NRL general topic...

After last years poll the did an interview with one of the melbourne players (forget which one) about Dazza

Whoever it was had recently played city-country with him, the first time he'd ever had a chance to socialise with him.

He said that before that he'd always hated him - he's a fierce competitor and a master sledger on the field and so doesn't exactly endear himself to his opponents. Shane Walker (a good mate of Dazza's) who had been playing with melbourne had been trying to convince him that he was a great bloke but he refused to believe him.

After playing in the same team with him and actually getting to know him he totally changed his tune though - Darren is very popular with his teamates, its only those that have to play against him that have issues ;-)

Robbie kearns

And your 100% correct.

magpiemax

ucantseeme said:
In the Big League player poll our captain, Darren Senter, was voted the player other players would LEAST like to play alongside.

Can anyone explain why that is? He's seems like a good bloke to me...

To me that's worse than being voted most overrated
Sore loser apparently,but who gives a toss,I'd rather that than a gracious loser.Obviously that's what fires Dazza up,who wants someone like Hassan Saleh a *edit- no racial stuff please*with no fire in his belly. :D

Gobbso

Pfff, who cares about the dressing room's. That's what footy is about. Heck, water, ice, dencor rub, strapping tape, the smell of sweat, grass and dirt, mixed in with blood. Now that's what dressing room's should entail. What are these pompus skirt's expecting? 5 star accomodation with a Spa, Sauna and Gym? The game is losing its touch. What happened to the real men that used to play this great game? :roll:

magpiemax

Gobbso said:
Pfff, who cares about the dressing room's. That's what footy is about. Heck, water, ice, dencor rub, strapping tape, the smell of sweat, grass and dirt, mixed in with blood. Now that's what dressing room's should entail. What are these pompus skirt's expecting? 5 star accomodation with a Spa, Sauna and Gym? The game is losing its touch. What happened to the real men that used to play this great game? :roll:
Dallas Donnelly would turn in his grave I reckon. :cry:

Trollhammaren

Darren Senter called me a "f**king legend" when I saw him when I was 15. Since then, he's been MY f**king legend!!

He is a competitor, and very determined. Great player.

Noddz

Gobbso said:

just thought you would like to know, the dressing rooms at leichhard have spas, gym, and also physio rooms, mind you i havnt been in them since 1999, although ill make it a thing to go again this year, as i know some of the balmain board members, and some of the players... but supprisingly enough, apart from the sauna, thats wat is expected in change rooms...

Gobbso

No air-conditioning? No Buffet? No ensuite? Gezzz the dressing room's are certainly below par then at Leichhardt :lol: