Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Darryl Brohman

Captain BF

It was mentioned on 'NRL Tactics' tonight that Darryl "The Big Marn" Brohman has bowel cancer.

Just wanted to wish him all the best in his fight to overcome this disease.

I'm cheering for you mate!

DC_fan

It was mentioned on 'NRL Tactics' tonight that Darryl "The Big Marn" Brohman has bowel cancer.

Just wanted to wish him all the best in his fight to overcome this disease.

I'm cheering for you mate!

According to C.9's news tonight Brohamn as Prostrate Cancer. He will appear on the Footy Show tonight.

Captain BF

According to C.9's news tonight Brohamn as Prostrate Cancer. He will appear on the Footy Show tonight.
Yeah, sorry for the inaccuracy in my post. I was going off memory, which is in short supply tonight unfortunately.

zombie jesus

RUGBY league commentator and character Darryl Brohman has revealed he has prostate cancer and requires surgery.

The 2GB and Channel Nine identity has opened up about his cancer fight, urging other men to have routine check-ups for the life-threatening illness.

Brohman, colloquially nicknamed "the Big Marn" for his large frame and tongue-in-cheek sense of humour, is a regular with the 2GB Continuous Call team and Channel Nine's The Footy Show.

"Hopefully I'll be back at work in 3-4 weeks. It's not as if I'm digging ditches for a living so that's the plan," Brohman said.

"I'm only speaking up about it in the hope other blokes will go and get tested to make sure they stay on top of these types of problems."

Brohman, 54, will undergo surgery next week and doctors expect him to make a full recovery.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nrl/big-marn-brohmans-cancer-scare/story-e6frfgbo-1225898442722

Not good news.

I'm not a fan of CC team, but I've always liked big Darryl, even back to his playing days

I really hopes he gets over this. If he does get over it then he really needs to get into shape if he wants to live to a decent old age.

We're with you big D!!

dont like much on the footy show and the CCT is average at best but both are mildly tolerable thanks to the big man.
I wish him all the best and hope he makes a speedy recovery

Flapper

Yeah I heard him on the radio this morning. Sad stuff. He appeared at a function for our footy club only 2 weeks ago, and he apparently knew then, so it's a tremendous effort on his behalf.

Get well soon you big fat heap.

renouf

Prostate cancer is the most lethal of all cancers (i think).. people often don't survive it.

Charlie124

Bah! the big marn laughs in the face of prostate cancer, then puts it on a hotdog and eats it. All before breakfast.

he'll be right.

Chook Herron

Prostate cancer is the most lethal of all cancers (i think).. people often don't survive it.

From what I've read lung cancer kills more people overall but pancreatic cancer kills the highest ratio of those diagnosed with it.

Anyway, I wish Darryl a speedy recovery.

Firey_Dragon

Terrible news, I've had the pleasure of meeting him a few times away from the media. He is a top bloke and always up for a good chat. I hope he can pull through this and wish him a speedy recovery.

Firey_Dragon

Prostate cancer has one of the highest survival rates, if diagnosed early. Problem is it can be growing for 5 years before you even find out.

Pancreatic cancer has the lowest survival rate within 5 years, it sits at around 4%. Prostate cancer by comparison sits at 98%.

Liver / Bile duct cancer, esophagus, lung and stomach are the next biggest killers. Basically any organ that involves your blood stream is the biggest risk because it means you're at a higher risk of the cancer travelling elsewhere in the body. As soon as it hits your lymph nodes, then it's an almost certain death sentence.