Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do we have our own John Sutton?

CarssDragon

Reading some stats on John Sutton, and while I don't necessarily rate him, the contribution he makes for souffs is clear. Reckon having a half playing his style of game put's the defense on the back foot and makes space for the halfback.

After 3 rounds he is averaging:

12.3 runs for 105.3 m (average 8.5m)
20.3 tackles
2 line breaks
6 offloads

This really highlights the problem with our halves, which aren't anywhere near as involved.

Soward
5.7 runs for 47m (average 8.2)
6.3 tackles
0 line breaks
1.3 offloads

Fein
5.3 runs for 25.7m (average 4.8m)
17.7 tackles
0.3 linebreaks
0 offloads

Question is, do we have any players in our squad that could play this role? If so, is this something our coach should be trying? Personally, I would like to see King be given a go. But not holding my breath.

Old_Timer

Our coach is on auto pilot and merely going through the motions in order to receive his remuneration. Price is lots of things but passionate is not one of them.

Slippery Morris

Soward 1.3 offloads? Isn't an offload when you are tackled? I can't remember seing soward tackled yet to give away an offload.

Fein has assisted in 3 tries in the last 2 games and scored one through good back up play. His stats in the last 2 games would be OK. Soward, apart from 1 intercept try has done nothing all season.

As well as Sutton's stats you have Reynolds who also would have pretty good stats. It's only 1 guy in our squad trying hard whilst the other sits at the back and waits for the ball to kick it.

BennyV

Soward 1.3 offloads? Isn't an offload when you are tackled? I can't remember seing soward tackled yet to give away an offload.

Fein has assisted in 3 tries in the last 2 games and scored one through good back up play. His stats in the last 2 games would be OK. Soward, apart from 1 intercept try has done nothing all season.

As well as Sutton's stats you have Reynolds who also would have pretty good stats. It's only 1 guy in our squad trying hard whilst the other sits at the back and waits for the ball to kick it.

I think an offload is counted as passing the bass after a tackle has been attempted...so Soward pushes away from a defender, craps himself and throws the ball to his nearest teammate?

The think about the souffs halves is their cohesion and different roles. Reynolds is the organiser and ball player - He RARELY runs the ball himself (although he is known to pass/kick close to the line) and his job is to steer the team around the park, read the opposition, and use a killer kicking game. Those are his instruction. Sutton is the ball runner - he is effectively the same as a running fullback, he always requires the attention of several defenders because he is fairly strong when running himself, and has a decent short pass/offload when he commits a few defenders!!!

I don't know who we have that could play a running 5/6 - maybe Beale? Oddly enough, when you ask who we have that is big and strong, with good footwork, a great short-pass and offload, and always required the attention of several defenders, there's only 1 dragon who comes to mind...MERRIN!!!

MERRIN FOR PM!

MattYg1

I think an offload is counted as passing the bass after a tackle has been attempted...so Soward pushes away from a defender, craps himself and throws the ball to his nearest teammate?

The think about the souffs halves is their cohesion and different roles. Reynolds is the organiser and ball player - He RARELY runs the ball himself (although he is known to pass/kick close to the line) and his job is to steer the team around the park, read the opposition, and use a killer kicking game. Those are his instruction. Sutton is the ball runner - he is effectively the same as a running fullback, he always requires the attention of several defenders because he is fairly strong when running himself, and has a decent short pass/offload when he commits a few defenders!!!

I don't know who we have that could play a running 5/6 - maybe Beale? Oddly enough, when you ask who we have that is big and strong, with good footwork, a great short-pass and offload, and always required the attention of several defenders, there's only 1 dragon who comes to mind...MERRIN!!!

MERRIN FOR PM!

Was going to suggest Merrin... Stats wise to Suttons stats above he is probably the only person we could get to do the job lol... imagine that... A winger playing centre, a hooker playing half back and a front rower playing half back haha what a team chinless has assembled...

MERRIN FOR CAP'N COACH, FIVE EIGHT, AND PM...

Our coach is on auto pilot and merely going through the motions in order to receive his remuneration. Price is lots of things but passionate is not one of them.

he's not the only one old timer who's going through the motions rumour has it sowards been told he wont be re-signed next year so hes also just collecting a pay cheque at the moment!

BennyV

he's not the only one old timer who's going through the motions rumour has it sowards been told he wont be re-signed next year so hes also just collecting a pay cheque at the moment!

I believe he was told he has 10-12 rounds to secure his future at the club...

hardbaby

Very different style to Sutton. He is your Fittler style of five eight. Soward is more your Lockyer style. In short, we have nobody who plays like that.

I never really rated Sutton but on current form, and given the NSW Origin halves problem, I would be stoked to see a Reynolds/Sutton halves combination. Reynolds is the perfect foil for Sutton whereas Sandow was a disaster.

CarssDragon

Reynolds is the organiser and ball player - He RARELY runs the ball himself (although he is known to pass/kick close to the line) and his job is to steer the team around the park, read the opposition, and use a killer kicking game. Those are his instruction.

I guess I'm just desperate to see the halves play more direct in attack and the souffs style seems a pretty low risk solution. Surely Soward is most suited to playing the Reynolds role.
Anyone think King could get the job done at 5/8? Rarely see his name being thrown around here, but would of thought he's worth a shot. Wouldn't be a massive disruption to the team either.

mmap dragons

Sutton is off contract this year at Souffs with a 1 year option. By all reports he may test himself on the open market. Only problem is he'd be a zillion to one coming to the Dragons considering Larry, Moe and Curly are in charge of recruitment at the club. :crazy:

grouch

Sutton is playing well, but he owes Inglis 80 cents of every dollar in his paycheque

gypsy

We might not have a John Sutton, who I believe is tremendously overrated, but more importantly we don't have a Michael Maguire.
Watching Maguire on NRL360 at the moment, I'm very impressed. He is a leader, our bloke isn't.

CarssDragon

Never intended another 'who could we sign' thread. Just thought there was some merit in our halves playing this simple but effective style of footy. John Sutton was just an obvious example of an average 1st grade payer (mostly backrowers) that has performed this role well.

Slippery Morris

If Soward has been told he will not be re-signed and Price knows this then that is a huge worry indeed. Proves how bad a coach is he. More reason why anyone would blood a junior this year and have him ready for next season.

Quinlan or Shannon Crook should be given a crack in teh halves. Both young but I am sure they will learn. How old was Andrew Johns and JT when they started playing NRL? The coach took a punt and it came off.

BennyV

If Soward has been told he will not be re-signed and Price knows this then that is a huge worry indeed. Proves how bad a coach is he. More reason why anyone would blood a junior this year and have him ready for next season.

Quinlan or Shannon Crook should be given a crack in teh halves. Both young but I am sure they will learn. How old was Andrew Johns and JT when they started playing NRL? The coach took a punt and it came off.

Actually, I didn't think JT was given much of a chance at first - he played off the bench for half a season at the dogs and let go because they wanted to pursue Brent Shirwin as their long term option. Bet they are kicking themselves over that. But I agree, Crook or Quinlan should get a crack at some point this year (this brings to light one problem of having a 2 hooker rotation, it doesn't give much room for a young half to get some experience off the bench). Price may also be waiting for Cummins to get back and use him in some way?

On the topic of Sutton, Saints should be watching this with interest -I imagine Sutton wants to stay a 5/8, IF he is re-signed by Souffs in that position, I can't see young Keary hanging out in NSW Cup for much longer, and we should pounce...