Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Appoint Brad Arthur as Head Coach

Who should be our next coach

Joshuatheeel

I don't particularly agree with Anderson being appointed but he was involved in juniors before, that is how he started with the eels. Also I assume Nolan would be responsible for a lot the talent identification.

It just gets funnier and funnier. It's the equivalent of putting retreads on a Ferrari and doing the service yourself.

The appointment of Ando is a square up.
Because he was sacked???

Absolutely laughable, well Fitzy was sacked as well he can't he too far away........

Honestly it is time the NRL stepped in. The place is in the hands of infants without a f**kiing clue. BS had to be the man for the job and has worked with Taylor before.

Kornstar

How exciting, a coach and GM that fans don't want, this will end well.....

For the record, I'm happy with JT and willing to give Anderson a go. It is the first time since late 2010 that I'm happy with who has been appointed!

How exciting, a coach and GM that fans don't want, this will end well.....

For the record, I'm happy with JT and willing to give Anderson a go. It is the first time since late 2010 that I'm happy with who has been appointed!
I have no problems with JT, not sold on Ando at all. His weaknesses as coach is sort of what he will be asked to do. So i don't understand the appointment where this is the sort of role Smithy would excel in. and if the reasons he was brought back was true it shows how clueless these amateurs are that are running our club.

Snoochies

At the end of the day, if they can get the best out of our players and improve on the last couple of years, I'll be happy. I couldn't care less who was GM and Coach as long as it works.

mrt_spec

Anderson and JT or Kearney and Osbourne.

Yeah I think we are better off now, thanks for your concern 3P Unlimited.

Joshuatheeel

Don't forget when Anderson was coach he was only in charge of the top side, so yes he should have focused on the club as whole but really it may have not been his responsibility. Or he could have had restrictions on what he could do.

As GM Anderson will have no excuses, he will be totally responsible for the whole club from the juniors to the nrl side , so he will have to focus on the bigger picture or he won't be doing his job. Also Taylor I reckon will have an interested in the junior structures so he will also be pushing Anderson to do his job properly. Also it is not like Anderson is responsible for junior identification that would still be Nolan's role.

Anderson also has some pretty good experience - rarely does a person get to be an nrl coach that has never really played the game (not even a playing career in country footy) - so he aren't no dummy.

So while he aren't my first choice, I don't think it will necessarily be a disaster. It could actually work. It is also most likely Anderson's last chance of some sort of career within the nrl, so I doubt he will be trying to do a shit job.

Just hope the 4 year contract aren't true which doesn't make sense, since Taylor may only get a 2 year contract.

How has DA failed at juniours? He wasnt given a chance at parra.
And no offense but too many poly's in a team isnt a good thing.Personaly i wouldnt want more than 6/7.Thats not beeing racist.Unfortuantely we have more than the warriors team

Kornstar

I have no problems with JT, not sold on Ando at all. His weaknesses as coach is sort of what he will be asked to do. So i don't understand the appointment where this is the sort of role Smithy would excel in. and if the reasons he was brought back was true it shows how clueless these amateurs are that are running our club.

The St Helens owner was quite happy with his systems in place for development etc. he was sorry to lose him. Surely his time at Parra last time was murky, not just of his doing?

Anderson is one of the main reasons we are such a mess and we bring the myth back

You are right, all those rumours that he was a dead man walking from day one of 3P were false but all the shit after he left is true......

who is a 3P fan?

anyone who thinks Anderson is a disaster?

I'm willing to give him a go when he is put in the position by people who want him there, then he can be judged!

he can be judged from the report that was done before he was sacked

he can also be judged about his time at the Warriors

Look we're at least employing people that care about the club. It's a significant improvement on Ricky Stuart who clearly did not give a f**k.

JT has a Sterlo/Joey type footy brain. I respect him for that.

Ando loves the club and with Nolan's counsel, I see no reason why they cannot build great depth and systems.

IFR33K

The report carried out by the club sponsor, wanting his mate to get the top job. Laughable???

I asked a question several weeks ago, no merkin was able to answer. If members organized an independent report of the admin of the club under roys watch, what would the report find???

jury is still out for me, ask me after 12 rounds next year. I can just see it now "eels head coach and football manager at logger heads, one has to go"