Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

End nears for suburban NRL grounds

Pete Cash

Seems the single blokes that in or near the city think this is a great idea and those who actually have families that they would like to take to the footy generally think it's a pretty bad idea, especially when coupled with the fact that 6 out of the 8 games each week are now played at night. As an example, in 2013 Manly play a total of 3 Sunday afternoon games (to round 20), 1 of which is in Auckland. If centralised staiums were already in use, Manly fans with families would be pretty long odds to get to many games at all.

I live in the inner west and have no children and I think its a stupid idea that will hurt the game.

Lockyer4President!

Like I said
If they made the sharks play out of the SFS on a permanent basis
I would not go.

No f**king way.

I love my teams home ground
I love it when they win there
I love driving past it during the off season.
I love having a beer in the club before and after games
I love that I can get my misses to drop me out the front and come back and pick me up.
I love watching fans from other clubs having no idea where to park their cars.

If they moved I would watch it on foxtel
And I would not be alone.

It is fine for city based teams to use a centralised stadium
Away games for us are not that big a deal.
A couple here and there are fine.
But not travelling into the city almost every week .

Crowds would die off dramatically.

Pathetic and lazy.

You're no better than that Dragons 'fan' who said he'd give up the game if the Illasox moved to the SFS yet he has no problems watching the Swans at the SCG.

gronkathon

If at the end of this financial year if we make the 7 figure profit we've projected and made a profit for the 4th year in a row, something no other Sydney club has even come close to doing, will you acknowledge our stadium deal is financially more beneficial than a suburban stadium. Or maybe our money has appeared out of thin air...

You guys have some pretty major loans which would nullify your profits.

newman

Pathetic and lazy.

You're no better than that Dragons 'fan' who said he'd give up the game if the Illasox moved to the SFS yet he has no problems watching the Swans at the SCG.

Absolutely not. I know for a fact that Carch wouldn't go to watch AFL.

And its got nothing to do with laziness. Its preference. We love shark park. We love our beers before the game in the club, having the kids play footy on the hill. We love our sneaky "locals only" can bar with no queue. Move the Sharks from Toyota and I wind down my interest in the NRL by about 80%.

Pathetic and lazy.

Lazy and pathetic for following them my entire life ?
Never seeing them win the f**king thing.
Sitting in the rain year after year.
Being a season ticket holder every f**king year ...knowing full well they were not going to win a thing.
Encouraging my kids to follow in my moronic footsteps.
Buying every stinking jersey change they have ever had ...that includes members jerseys ...( that I have not even worn)
Standing by them through all the shit.
Driving around with the stickers on my car.
Playing in bands with the stickers on my guitars.
Organizing overseas trips around the grand final just in case the unthinkable ever happens.
Following the team to arsefark joints to watch them play arsefark teams.

If that makes me lazy and pathetic then so be it.

Panfas

I think $150mil for any upgrade or redevelopment of a suburban ground would be paying significant overs
Exactly. If there were to be a redevopment of Centrebet stadium for example, most of the infrastructure is already there. All we need is a stand over the family hill (space permitting) and the ground is golden. Extra cover also would not go astray.

To say it will cost $150m is overkill. When you compare that to the total of $20m since 2005 spent to extend & enhance the western stand, fit out the eastern stand with better facilities and to re-do the southern hill. Another $20m tops for the family hill.

I mean f**k me they only spent $27m at WIN Wollongong.

Comparing the upgrade of Cronulla and Penrith to the likes of NIB and Hunter is ludicrous. Brookvale on the otherhand could fetch that price considering the amount of work they have to do

Diesel

Who pays for the upgrade to the privately owned Shark Park? NSW Govt, the developers or the Sharks out of the massive dollars from the development?

WayneBennett

Like I said
If they made the sharks play out of the SFS on a permanent basis
I would not go.
No f**king way.

I love my teams home ground
I love it when they win there
I love driving past it during the off season.
I love having a beer in the club before and after games
I love that I can get my misses to drop me out the front and come back and pick me up.
I love watching fans from other clubs having no idea where to park their cars.

If they moved I would watch it on foxtel
And I would not be alone.

It is fine for city based teams to use a centralised stadium
Away games for us are not that big a deal.
A couple here and there are fine.
But not travelling into the city almost every week .

Crowds would die off dramatically.

This whole post reads like Asian poetry

Who pays for the upgrade to the privately owned Shark Park? NSW Govt, the developers or the Sharks out of the massive dollars from the development?
developers.
in short - sharks take a cut of rental and sales after it is done.

WayneBennett

Sooner they bulldoze Shark Park and merge / relocate / die it will be beneficial for rugby league and generally for life as a whole

newman

Depends what upgade you are talking about. The upgrade slated in the development is very minimal (a couple of tiers of terraces attached to the ends of the Peter Burns grandstand) which will be payed for out of the money for the redevelopment of the leagues club (as the PB stand is part of the leagues).

In a seperate project I believe the club is attempting to secure funding (obviously not from the state govt) to get some cover on that stand aswell, which is needed. As far as upgrades go, thats all they are looking at. Shark Park has plenty of fixed seating, more corporate facilities than any other suburban ground, electronic ticketing, a modern facade, good disabled access and new broadcast and medical facilities. Apart from going all seater, what else is there to do?

Sorry Bunniesman but you're talking out your arse again. Your revenue is a set figure. The Bunnies and Dogs get no more $$$ out of a 50,000 crowd than they do a 20,000 crowd. Another thing you have not taken into account is the loss of revenue at the leagues club both before and after the game on game days. You can hardly move in Sharks leagues after a game....this would be lost if you took your games to Homebush along with the atmosphere of a full house at a suburban ground. Give me Leichardt...Win....Kogarah or Brookie anyday. I never bother with Homebush unless its SOO or semi-final time.

The nostalgia of being at the leagues club before and after the game aside, I can’t see this being a big issue for any leagues club. The life blood of a club these days in NSW is pokies revenue; I doubt a spike in customers 12 days per year is going to make much of a difference to a club. Regardless, Sharks leagues has other issues which make it an undesirable place to go in general, not least of which is its lack of public transport, it’s size and it’s competition in the shire with the likes of Tradies, Club Menai etc.

newman

attachment.php

This is the only drawing available of the stadium upgrade and it hardly looks set in stone. Top left.The weird looking grey box is The Peter Burns stand. You can also see the new terraces (on angles) from the overhead drawing.

Diesel

Thanks for that. After all the talk of getting out of debt I was interested to see who'd pay for the upgrade. So partly developers and partly the Sharks and/or private investment.

MARSHALL ZHUKOV

so i figure from this they will be upgrading and modernising - Football Stadium/ Olympic Standium/ Parramatta Stadium/Hunter Stadium only- if only three grounds were to be used the following could be how it would work- that doesnt mean that clubs cannot play at either of the three grounds if the match warrants a larger stadium.

Parramatta Stadium- Parramatta/Penrith
Football Stadium- Roosters/Sharks/Manly/Dragons
Homebush- Dogs/Souths/Wests Tigers

BunniesMan

so i figure from this they will be upgrading and modernising - Football Stadium/ Olympic Standium/ Parramatta Stadium/Hunter Stadium only- if only three grounds were to be used the following could be how it would work- that doesnt mean that clubs cannot play at either of the three grounds if the match warrants a larger stadium.

Parramatta Stadium- Parramatta/Penrith
Football Stadium- Roosters/Sharks/Manly/Dragons
Homebush- Dogs/Souths/Wests Tigers
I reckon this is a pretty spot on description of where the NRL in sydney will be in about 2025.