Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Enough with the negativity - constructive suggestions for a change

Since leaving for my end of season trip to Lithgow this forum has been inundated with the negative ramblings of a motley group of jaded supporters. Undoubtedly, we’re all disappointed with the way things are going, but one thing that I learnt from my days of supporting the Gold Coast (1995-96) and Cowboys (1997-1999) is that you stick with your team through the good and the bad.

Anyway, rather than launching a tirade at the club or a particular individual (as is the norm here), I prefer to offers some constructive advice on how the club can improve from a business perspective.

My 7 yrs experience of running a profitable sausage sizzle for the Oberon Tigers qualifies me on this topic.

anthony.jpg

1. Meanwhile Rusty is out promoting the Rabbitohs brand in India and the US how is the Wests Tigers name faring in Chile? Where is our Chameleon in a fishing vest and dirty beard? The answer isn’t Dawn Fraser (doesn’t own a fishing vest) but Anthony Field, the blue wiggle. Get him in the kids ears- brainwashing them about our stars- Marshall, Morris and co. Wake up Geoff, its time to get to Campbelltown, 3pm to see YOUR Proton Wests Tigers. Its also time we pulled a cross-promotion Rusty stunt.

r44422_114795.jpg

2. If I asked you when was the last time Rhino Hara played a decent game you probably would draw a blank but if I asked you when the last time he threw a decent party you’d answer faster than Anthony Laffranchi…going for his first crack at the try line from dummy half, I was going to say. Fact is O’hara is wasting 220k of our cap and giving us nothing in return. He should be organising the fiestas at his shack, throwing in a bit of free comedy on the side- he does good imitations, and sending all profits back to the club.

Logo_09.gif

3. 1. At Leichhardt oval there is still a high incidence of young people jumping the fences down the bottom of the hill. The problem lies in the fact that they’re no longer using carpets but hoping straight over the wire. It’s a lawsuit waiting to happen when one of them gets injured. The club should call upon its sponsors Cronulla carpets to provide some quality carpets and ensure that nobody gets injured. Council responsibility or otherwise, we can’t afford this type of incident.

4. Why are we wasting the big biscuits on elaborate match day entertainment? Does anybody really want to see some nobody from Macarthur FM parachute from the sky, a fireworks display on par with a primary school bonfire night or Sandra Norie failing to kick the ball beyond 10 metres for the sixth year in a row? Leichhardt Oval has the right idea- parade around the side from 1969 3 times a year and pay them with drink vouchers at the leagues club afterwards. Otherwise, Troy Luff has been doing appearances at every SCG one-dayer for free for years and Thomas Kenealley would recite some more league-themed poetry for a pittance. Trevor of Big Brother-fame, Yahoo Serious and the Beatnixs could also be secured on the cheap.

keneally2-120.jpg

5. sausage sizzles always bring in the bacon.

6. Advertise at Panthers games. It’s no secret that Panthers fans swing like voters and with a bit of gentle coercion I’m sure the club would win over most of their support base. Just after the opera singer finishes his battle cry the club could advertise on the big screen with a simple message- come to Tigers home games and there is a 75% chance you’ll be walking home with your hubcaps. Its fair to say that your car being with the hubcaps is also around a 75% probability as well.

frankpritchard_gallery__470x368.jpg

7. Last year I bought doubles on the main game and got a winger and halfback. What’s happening? Are we a charity?? I say back to the old days when everybody had a pair of props, a prop and a number not listed or a set of smiley faces. The only one with a crack at winning it should be someone within the club.

8. While everybody is complaining about our player recruitment, I say we need to learn a thing about getting rid of the duds we currently have at the club. How many weeks did we advertise Ryan O’Hara in the classified section of the Macarthur daily and we certainly got nowhere by sending signed photos of Brett Hodgson over to English teams. However, the biggest concern remains sending Royce Simmons packing. In regards to this garden gnome we need to think outside the square and onto the ice-skating ring- he would be a hit on dancing with the stars on ice or even as a friend of Humphrey B Bear- they could mumble to each other and exchange sign language until the irate Panthers supporters came home demanding Royce to honour his pledge of having a beer with every supporter.

180px-HumphreyBearMed.jpg

9. It seems that the Roosters are onto a good thing. They were going to allow Willie Mason the chance to pursue his dream of boxing if he came to the club and obviously took a pay cut. This has spurred other clubs to make offers to Todd Carney with the proviso that he has unlimited access to the ball boy car. While this option is also available to the Tiges I reckon they should convince a few of the current players to take pay cuts on the condition that they get to pursue their own hobbies while maintaining their commitment to the club. Shannon Mac is a keen model, sprinter and tapdancer, Dean Halatau fancies himself as a singer, TNT would love to eat KFC for a living and Royce Simmons could pretend to be a good defensive coach in his spare time. Whatever makes the players happy and saves money for the club at the same time.

_42276904_masonend_getty.jpg

Hahahhaaha after months in the wilderness CDF returns to form with a vengeance.

If only we could be sure of the Tigers doing the same

Would be far better for all concerned if the club brushed the macarthur FM parachutists in favour of having sizzler, ronald, junior burger, comical cuzzE, tom shines, john morris and ryan o'hara up in the cessna 180 ... with the clubs frugalness meaning each jumped from 10000ft sans parachute. I see only upside

super_coach

CDF--great post and good to see you back. Iam sure camp concord will take all your ideas on board and with the mega bucks they save they may be able pull in a big signing like Brett Firman. Maybe you could become Noyce's advisor.

Just one thing I think your constant attack on sizzler "minister of defence" is over the top. The great man record speaks for itself, he has done marvels for our clubs stats by taking our againsts stats from the low numbers of the junior Pearce days to the the highs they are today. They are shuch a good team sizzler and shines

Not to mention sizzler has the runs on the board in his pamfa days. Sizzler was the first player since Bradman to get a thousand in a year. That Penriff side of 2000-2001 was one of the great sides

tiger_nick

croydon Dog food said:
7. Last year I bought doubles on the main game and got a winger and halfback. What’s happening? Are we a charity?? I say back to the old days when everybody had a pair of props, a prop and a number not listed or a set of smiley faces. The only one with a crack at winning it should be someone within the club.

hahaa i love it, so true!

Gee_Up

Only ONE West Tigers forward averaged more than 100 metres each game this season.. Heighington- there lies your problem. NO GO FORWARD.

super_coach

Big Red, fair dinkum for a big bloke has chicken legs, has as much drive in his legs as a bloke on peg legs, The guy could be a 200g player if he did some work on the pegs, but at the momment the guy just dosnt have the leg drive. Look at Steve price hits the line at the speed of Moody, but powers on through great leg drive, Not our big Red---but their is promise, his contract will be up by than and the chooks will move in

The thing is when he runs hard he makes massive metres. Was speaking to a bloke at my gym who reckons the Hoppa incident just f**ked him. He said the same thing happened to Michael or Matt Davidson (name escapes me) ... the brother of John. his bloke played Flegg with him and he got taken out like Galloway did and was never the same and he reckons he was a much better player than John Davidson who played plenty of first grade

It's all that church going, devil worshipping and satanic rituals those De La Salle Caringbah lot do. Bet cronulla training is like a Jesse Jackson sermon .. all in purple robes praising the lord and asking for forgiveness

smeghead

Galloway admitted himself that it took a long time to get over the Hoppa incident.

We saw glimpses this year. I expect big things from him next year

He just doesn't get angry enough often enough
Anyways being the bible basher he is he should be familiar with `what the lord giveth the lord can take away'. He will do well to remember this round contract time

NonaFiona

croydon Dog food said:
Anyway, rather than launching a tirade at the club or a particular individual (as is the norm here), I prefer to offers some constructive advice on how the club can improve from a business perspective.
Wicked post. Well worth the read.

I have a new respect for sausage sizzles if this is the quality of insight they can provide.