Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finally the cancer that has killed Parra this season has gone...

andrew057

Great win. Impressive performances by the young playesr.

The team is so free with Mortimer gone.

He killed any attacking play this season

Sure hes a great person, but a very average player.

Eels brass needs to be held accountable.

Many recruitment options have been stuffed up in the worst way.

Theres absolutely nothing to look forward to next season.

So lets all hope eels can win this year.

oldmancraigy

I agree he's been average this year.

But I think you're writing a revisionist history to say he never played well at all.

He was great in FG last year.
Was excellent in NYC last year and the year before.

You're a bit odd.

andrew057

I agree he's been average this year.

But I think you're writing a revisionist history to say he never played well at all.

(1) He was great in FG last year.
(2) Was excellent in NYC last year and the year before.

You're a bit odd.

(1) He was "good" last season, on the back of a red hot team. This season when the team wasnt firing and he was looked upon to actually create or mhelp the team he went missing badly.

(2) Now thats revisionist history if i have ever seen it. He was never "excellent" in NYC.

andrew057

No fishing intended.

Ive been one of Mortimers biggest critics all season, check my post history.

It was just so refreshing seein g the Eels run around without the shackles tonight ( and in no way Im referencing Shane Shackleton)

Harsh but fair, the kid tries his ring off and plays above his weight. If only Mateo and INU had half the kids heart.

boxhead

He's a great runner of the ball, and whether you like it or not he has been far better than you give him credit for. Him not being there is not the reason we won tonight; it is because we didn't clock off in the second half. Jeff Robson was average at best, the team still looked bad in attack and only through moments of individual brilliance from some players did we score.
FFS you anti Mortimer people who think he is the whole reason this year is lost have no f**king clue, and you obviously can't figure out that even though he has been wearing the number 7. he has been playing his natural game, as a FIVE-EIGHTH.
Robson has been our real halfback for those three wins and for those two terrible losses.
Also, if we had a halfback like Cooper Cronk in the team, guess what, we would still be right where we are on the ladder! Why? Because all of our players have been hugely inconsistent and have not put in the effort required to win.

Whether you f**king well like it or not, he is not the reason we are playing so badly, and even without him there we still were shocking in attack. Fair dinkum, mate; learn to actually pay attention to our team the whole bloody season before laying the blame solely on Mortimer.
I'm getting sick of this....honestly, if you were Parramatta fans, you would be acknowledging he is a great running five-eighth, which is what a lot of great five-eighths simply were (like Kris Keating is as well), and also acknowledging that he is not the sole reason we have been losing games. Our attack would not have improved a slight bit no matter what you did because Mateo was lazy pretty much all season, Jarryd is the only real playmaker in our team (honestly, people saying Humble/Mitchell/Robson etc are better playmakers than Mortimer are off their heads....they are all bloody runners!) that can control the game, something you can't blame Mortimer for when none of the other 'halves' in our team can do it, and also simply because every single one of the players I named will need a dominating or organizing halfback to play well.

Also, you lose pretty much any credibility you have by essentially saying Mortimer was just riding the train last year and that in NYC he was crap. Wow. You are so not biased, and I am so going to listen to your unbiased arguments!
:clap:
You can't even stick up for one of your own players when he is having a bad year. Grow the f**k up.

Schiltzenberger

FFS you anti Mortimer people who think he is the whole reason this year is lost have no f**king clue, and you obviously can't figure out that even though he has been wearing the number 7. he has been playing his natural game, as a FIVE-EIGHTH.
He isn't the whole reason but our team has been like a headless chicken, Morts and Robson are supposed to be that head. There have been some games though where a decent half could've got us over the line.
That bolded part doesn't help your argument in the slightest. A lot of silly people have given him the benefit of the doubt because he had a different number on his back. He has been useless this year, so that's his natural game then.:lol:

Also, if we had a halfback like Cooper Cronk in the team, guess what, we would still be right where we are on the ladder! Why? Because all of our players have been hugely inconsistent and have not put in the effort required to win.
You've got to be joking, if we had Cronk we'd be sitting in the top 4, and Morts probably wouldn't have looked as bad as he has, he would've had far less pressure with Cronk next to him.

I'm getting sick of this....honestly, if you were Parramatta fans, you would be acknowledging he is a great running five-eighth
Great running 5/8? is that what you call a 5/8 that can't kick and throws hospital passes.
He is pretty much a support player, that his main strength. He also tries hard, but that's what was said about Finch, and we could bring any park footy player in to 'try hard'.

simply because every single one of the players I named will need a dominating or organizing halfback to play well.
Well that's obvious. We haven't got one though, so we need Robson and Morts to do more organising and neither can. Robson will keep his spot over Morts though because he at least has an average kicking game.

You can't even stick up for one of your own players when he is having a bad year. Grow the f**k up.
So you've sworn and carried on about someone bagging Mortimer but then admit he is having a bad year, sure he isn't the whole reason but he is playing bad.

Lets just leave everyone in the team, it doesn't matter if they are playing bad, we have to stick up for our players. Lets just cruise to the wooden spoon in the future because we have to stick by our players no matter how their form is.:roll:

Last week Ando was copping crap on here because he hadn't dropped poor performing players, now it's wrong, we should stick by them.

To say Mortimer is a "great person', yet at the same time describe him as a "cancer" in the thread heading? :roll:

For the sake of the kid I hope he isn't subjected to this sort of sh*te talk.

On the actual topic (as opposed to posting a thread for a cheap shot), I hope it does his development the world of good being rested, sent to Wentworthville or whatever happens.

Certainly has potential, as shown last year - not going the best under the spotlight; but not the end of the world as far as his career goes.

An investment worth looking after correctly.

dumbest f**king thread title EVER!

we'll just forget the good games we won this year when Mortimer WAS playing

Last night against the Broncos the TEAM turned up - and the TEAM won

Mortimer hasn't played well this year, but he's had plenty of company there .... at least his non-performances haven't resulted from a bullsh*t lazy attitude that alot of our players seem to drift in and out of .... I hope his spell out of the top grade inspires him to somehow get the form he showed last year back - because last year he WAS one of our best players

Great win. Impressive performances by the young playesr.

The team is so free with Mortimer gone.

He killed any attacking play this season

Sure hes a great person, but a very average player.

Eels brass needs to be held accountable.

Many recruitment options have been stuffed up in the worst way.

Theres absolutely nothing to look forward to next season.

So lets all hope eels can win this year.

thats a pretty cheap shot calling Morts a cancer

fact is its not his fault we are low on halves, he should be in TYC with his mates and still learning

pretty poor call, you're blaming the wrong person

What was that old saying about young hens and counting before birth........

don't let young chickens count rolling stones in the bush???

_shrug__or__dunno__by_crula.gif

fanaticeel

thats a pretty cheap shot calling Morts a cancer

fact is its not his fault we are low on halves, he should be in TYC with his mates and still learning

Umm he can't play NYC as he's 21 but other than that I agree. This kid will become a marquee player. He has the drive and tenacity.

Also I agree with the other comment calling the kid "a cancer"?? Seriously mate pull your head in. :roll:

oldmancraigy

In NYC 2008 and 2009 (a season and a half)

Mortimer had
19 try assists, 12 line break assists (2008 in )
16 try assists, 10 line break assists (in only 9 games in 2009)

He had 15 linebreaks (one every second game) across that span.

And we actually won games in the NYC those years.

That doesn't paint the whole picture at all - but he was far from 'crap' and 'unable to lay on a break or try' in NYC (quite the opposite clearly). And that kind of form he brought into firsts last year.

If he's crud next year I'll be upset - but he's young and learning the toughest position in the NRL - I'll cut him some slack for being hesitant (and crud) this season.

mrpwnd

In NYC 2008 and 2009 (a season and a half)

Mortimer had
19 try assists, 12 line break assists (2008 in )
16 try assists, 10 line break assists (in only 9 games in 2009)

He had 15 linebreaks (one every second game) across that span.

And we actually won games in the NYC those years.

That doesn't paint the whole picture at all - but he was far from 'crap' and 'unable to lay on a break or try' in NYC (quite the opposite clearly). And that kind of form he brought into firsts last year.

If he's crud next year I'll be upset - but he's young and learning the toughest position in the NRL - I'll cut him some slack for being hesitant (and crud) this season.
This. Too many people disregard the fact that he's been forced to become some kind of manufactured halfback to rival Joey Johns. He was great when he played to his strengths and poor when he devolved back to his 'king halfback' crap. IMO the decision to mould him into a halfback was more-so from a lack of confidence in Robson, we do have way too many five-eigths :crazy:

boxhead

He isn't the whole reason but our team has been like a headless chicken, Morts and Robson are supposed to be that head. There have been some games though where a decent half could've got us over the line.
That bolded part doesn't help your argument in the slightest. A lot of silly people have given him the benefit of the doubt because he had a different number on his back. He has been useless this year, so that's his natural game then.:lol:

You've got to be joking, if we had Cronk we'd be sitting in the top 4, and Morts probably wouldn't have looked as bad as he has, he would've had far less pressure with Cronk next to him.

Great running 5/8? is that what you call a 5/8 that can't kick and throws hospital passes.
He is pretty much a support player, that his main strength. He also tries hard, but that's what was said about Finch, and we could bring any park footy player in to 'try hard'.

Well that's obvious. We haven't got one though, so we need Robson and Morts to do more organising and neither can. Robson will keep his spot over Morts though because he at least has an average kicking game.

So you've sworn and carried on about someone bagging Mortimer but then admit he is having a bad year, sure he isn't the whole reason but he is playing bad.

Lets just leave everyone in the team, it doesn't matter if they are playing bad, we have to stick up for our players. Lets just cruise to the wooden spoon in the future because we have to stick by our players no matter how their form is.:roll:

Last week Ando was copping crap on here because he hadn't dropped poor performing players, now it's wrong, we should stick by them.

I can see your points, but the part I've bolded is wrong though. We are where we are because our team has been woefully inconsistent, not because we are lacking a halfback.

Look at the games we won with him, in those games he played bloody good, but you can't blame Morts for the entire team playing like crap for the majority of the year.
Having Cooper Cronk would not have gotten rid of our inconsistency, in my opinion. I don't even know why people believe that we would be in the top 4 this year with him, when clearly our lack of effort and laziness has been the case of the whole team and would have not have been cured by a marquee halfback.

Also agree with the other posts, and why I was so ticked off in my first post in this thread; calling him a cancer is a really low act.

However, Schiltzenberger I respect that you are standing up for your opinion and I understand you don't like the kid. Hell, you do what the TC didn't do and acknowledged Morts would be a whole lot better with someone like Cooper Cronk with him. As I said, I can agree with the majority of the post but I don't think a marquee halfback would have solved our inconsistency and lack of effort.

Springs

I saw Keating kill the attack last night as much as Mortimer has this year. They have the same kind of running game, but are poor at passing. The only difference I could see was that Keating has a bit more pace off the mark, which allowed him to set up Reddy's try.

Anyway saying that we won because Mortimer wasn't there is like saying we won solely because Mitchell was there.