Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

FO Kearney

The clubs in an awful spot, blind Freddy can see Kearney isn't up to it in any area, but the look moving him on would be so bad that they are stuck at the moment

The saddest part of the whole thing for me that I realised last night while watching with a couple of mates, was that I now feel sorry for Warriors fans. It used to be great banter with my best mates about the Warriors and Manly, now I don't have the heart to do it to them, because I feel sorry for them and what they have to go through. Same with you guys on here, tbh this is one of the better footy forums I've come across, good group of passionate guys with good opinions so it's why I keep coming back, the discussion is good, but you never see any reward for sticking with them. My mate at work that used to post on here has had enough, started a couple of years back for him but is now at the point where he doesn't care or watch the games, and after the Manu farewell effort he rang sky and got them to take sport off. Been watching him for years get the "how bout them Warriors" first thing on a Monday morning which must wear you down too. And the saddest part of all, is that it is impossible to see an upside in 2018. The Tigers, Knights etc you can see the improvement coming and the climb starting again, while the Warriors cling on with their fingernails at base camp to stop sliding down the slope

Cloudsurfer

The clubs in an awful spot, blind Freddy can see Kearney isn't up to it in any area, but the look moving him on would be so bad that they are stuck at the moment

The saddest part of the whole thing for me that I realised last night while watching with a couple of mates, was that I now feel sorry for Warriors fans. It used to be great banter with my best mates about the Warriors and Manly, now I don't have the heart to do it to them, because I feel sorry for them and what they have to go through. Same with you guys on here, tbh this is one of the better footy forums I've come across, good group of passionate guys with good opinions so it's why I keep coming back, the discussion is good, but you never see any reward for sticking with them. My mate at work that used to post on here has had enough, started a couple of years back for him but is now at the point where he doesn't care or watch the games, and after the Manu farewell effort he rang sky and got them to take sport off. Been watching him for years get the "how bout them Warriors" first thing on a Monday morning which must wear you down too. And the saddest part of all, is that it is impossible to see an upside in 2018. The Tigers, Knights etc you can see the improvement coming and the climb starting again, while the Warriors cling on with their fingernails at base camp to stop sliding down the slope

Tigers, Knights are bottom & second bottom (similar to last year) and a few other teams currently on 18 points and going nowhere fast either but only the warriors are struggling and losing ground?
A 'friend' picks a man up when he's down, no?

vvvrulz

Tigers, Knights are battling it out for the spoon and a few other teams currently on 18 points but only the warriors struggling at the moment?

Tigers and Knights have huge roster & coaching problems to deal with.

The fact that we're being (rightfully) talked about in the same sentence with our stable environment and strong teams is pretty disgusting.

Tigers, Knights are bottom & second bottom (similar to last year) and a few other teams currently on 18 points and going nowhere fast either but only the warriors are struggling and losing ground?
A 'friend' picks a man up when he's down, no?

Let's look at the other teams around them then

Warriors losing plenty and gaining Harris and Pulu, nothing too inspiring there to cover the losses and have shown a soft underbelly which those 2 won't fix

Raiders, not gaining much but a quality roster still, and have lost 6-7 games in the dying minutes, easy to see an upside there

Titans, plenty of injuries this season, no big ins but no big outs either, when they have been close to fully fit they have looked impressive, flogging the Sharks a good example of that, easy to see an upward improvement on the back of Taylor/Elgey

Dogs - playing awful footy, signings of Woods and Foran can at least give them a hope, even though I don't see a huge amount of upside for them either

Souths, in a big hole and much like the Warriors at this stage, nothing coming in to improve them, but talks of Cronk/Maloney may give some hope along with quality young players like Crighton and the centre whose name escapes me

A 'friend' keeps things real with their mates, they don't give them a dog food sandwich and tell them it's steak

vvvrulz

May as well replace the bolded with "Some players don't give a shit"

Sums it up for me. I don't know how good a coach Kearney is yet, or will become, but I'm pretty sure some of the cattle he's working with just aren't up to it.

Great. Then why doesn't Kearney drop them?

I just don't buy it, Kearney chooses who goes out there to play and it's his fault so many under performers are immune.

Warriorsoul

Wests tigers gains 2018:2018 Gains:Mahe Fonua (Hull FC, 2019),Tyson Gamble (2019), Tuimoala Lolohea(New Zealand Warriors, 2019), Ben Matulino(New Zealand Warriors, 2020), Chris McQueen (Gold Coast Titans, 2020), Taane Milne (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2019),Russell Packer (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2021), Josh Reynolds (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2021), Corey Thompson(Widnes Vikings, 2019), Alex Twal(Parramatta Eels, 2020), Malakai Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith Panthers, 2018)

Knights 2018 Gains:Herman Ese'ese (Brisbane Broncos, 2020), Aidan Guerra (Sydney Roosters, 2020), Shaun Kenny-Dowall(Sydney Roosters, 2019), Tautau Moga(Brisbane Broncos, 2020), Kalyn Ponga(North Queensland Cowboys, 2021), Connor Watson (Sydney Roosters, 2020)
These are teams that are building.

Us: 2018 Gains:Manaia Cherrington (Cronulla Sharks, 2018), Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm, 2021), Leivaha Pulu (Gold Coast Titans, 2020), Zac Santo (Canberra Raiders, 2018)

Our gains don't even fill the holes our leaving players create, let alone advance our cause.

BTW did we even make a play for Connor Watson?

Cold Roses

Great. Then why doesn't Kearney drop them?

I just don't buy it, Kearney chooses who goes out there to play and it's his fault so many under performers are immune.

Who goes in there instead? Honest question. Who is ready for 80 mins in first grade outside Nicol-Klokstad. Back row is one of our biggest problems, and Bunty is already struggling massively on defence. We don't actually have a lot of first grade ready guys as back up. Hence the Santo and the Fairimu's getting signed.

SpaceMonkey

Ideally it'd be Bellemy or Bennett but they've obviously got a conflict of interest.

I'm half serious, if Mooks aint up to it then he needs some help.

I named a union guy because that's where the real coaching nous is in NZ. And I don't think our issues are so much technical as professional and mental, and that where a guy from Union can make a difference. Instill the same kind of drive and attitude the top Super Rugby sides exhibit, and get a Union skills coach on board they're miles ahead of most of our guys in that department too, look at the ball skills and continuity those sides possess from 1-15 these days. Kearny and Jones can take care of the League specific stuff.

Cloudsurfer

I named a union guy because that's where the real coaching nous is in NZ. And I don't think our issues are so much technical as professional and mental, and that where a guy from Union can make a difference. Instill the same kind of drive and attitude the top Super Rugby sides exhibit, and get a Union skills coach on board they're miles ahead of most of our guys in that department too, look at the ball skills and continuity those sides possess from 1-15 these days. Kearny and Jones can take care of the League specific stuff.

Great post & positive solution. In this country we have the best of the best to call on, who cares if its RU? Bellamy does it all the time with a lot of other codes . Kearney has played for and worked under the best defensive coach in the game whose mantra is character & defense (go hand in hand) and mental toughness is paramount. It's where the Warriors fall down. Kearney is working on the first of those two and trying to sort out (and recruit) guys with the third, problem is he hasn't got the cattle he wants yet and won't be able to until the roster is how he wants it - his hands are tied with who he's got atm & he has to go with that for now unfortunately. Don't underestimate what Storm culture brings - the defense will get to new heights next year (on & off the field).
And with some specific coaching (rugby-wise) cohesion and skills could lift markedly.
I reckon co-captains in 2018 too would help, RTS and a forward (not Luke imo)...I think that would allow RTS to get back to his game while allowing him to retain the mana he obviously has earned off the field...he can grow into it with support

vvvrulz

Kearney is working on the first of those two and trying to sort out (and recruit) guys with the third, problem is he hasn't got the cattle he wants yet and won't be able to until the roster is how he wants it - his hands are tied with who he's got atm & he has to go with that for now unfortunately. Don't underestimate what Storm culture brings - the defense will get to new heights next year (on & off the field).

Um, what?

If any NRL coach can't take this NRL roster into the playoffs they shouldn't be doing this job.
In fact he's cherry picked most of the cream of the Kiwis team, how on earth are his hands tied?

I have also yet to see a shred of evidence that he's brought the Storm culture to the Warriors.
It's been two seasons and the only player worthy of a purple jersey is Simon Mannering.

You play with what you have, no coach has a perfect roster hand made for them.

Reactions: JJ

JJ

Um, what?

If any NRL coach can't take this NRL roster into the playoffs they shouldn't be doing this job.
In fact he's cherry picked most of the cream of the Kiwis team, how on earth are his hands tied?

I have also yet to see a shred of evidence that he's brought the Storm culture to the Warriors.
It's been two seasons and the only player worthy of a purple jersey is Simon Mannering.

Exactly, WTF with poor Steve not getting the dream roster.

It says something when the best of your last 4 coaches is Elliott. Kearney is in Tony Kemp territory, nice that his Mummy is here to support him, but his 1st grade record speaks for itself with reasonable squads at his disposal

Cloudsurfer

Um, what?

Um, what?

2 seasons - really?
How come every other coach is worth a punt everywhere else but at the warriors its 1st year or FO?
Agree re Simon btw, looking forward to having someone else who's a quality, 80min defence machine to help him.

Warriorsoul

I think the problem with Kearney is that we all saw what he did at Parra. He sold himself to the club as having learnt lessons from that, and has spent the last 21 rounds proving the exact opposite.
Most of our team have gone from needing the best brought out in them to failing in executing the barest basics of rugby league skills, while no attempt has been made to correct the flaws in others. It is baffling that Kata can still not pass, and Kearney still picks him. That a player like CNK plays four games, scores four tries, never seen again, while still performing to the same level in reserve grade that brought him into the firsts.

We can only defend on our tryline, our midfield line waits for the opposition to come.to them instead of moving up with giant holes everywhere. Our tackling is feeble, without Mannering we would've stuffed in that regard. The players don't seem to care.

The dressing room at half time on Friday had all of the intensity of an Exclusive Brethren happy hour, while Kearney wandered around muttering occasionally, forehead creased in confusion. RTS at the presser looked like he was just reciting party lines.

Kearney is a fraud, plain and simple. He cannot coach players to win. Its not even his philosophy. Anyone who thinks Bellamy or Bennett (the benchmarks) just want to see weekly improvement in the players throughout a season journey need their head read. His job is to prepare the side to win from the outset. He got given a bloody good side, and if he couldn't adapt his approach to use them and motivate them into a semblance of a COMPETITIVE side then he has failed, failed, failed. And given that not one of the players in the squad has improved, and most have gone backward, then there is nothing whatsoever to indicate next year will be any different.

Who goes in there instead? Honest question. Who is ready for 80 mins in first grade outside Nicol-Klokstad. Back row is one of our biggest problems, and Bunty is already struggling massively on defence. We don't actually have a lot of first grade ready guys as back up. Hence the Santo and the Fairimu's getting signed.

Can't name anyone, BUT the issue is not to with being ready, but wanting to be there and accountability.
If you know you or others are not dropped for your efforts, or lack there of, still get paid, it creates a lazy culture.
Why should I do the work if no one else is? Why should I get up from the tackle and get back in the line, why should I chase the break away? Captain doesnt turn and chase after his mistake, why should I?

Attitude and ability are two different things, and I would choose those with the better attitude than ability.
Those guys may cost us game now, but will produce in the future.

Outside of Mannering, Gavet seems to want it, most of the rest fade in and out, Fus put in last night on a couple of runs.

Blair

Maguire's gonna be shown the door at Souths, surely? Would he fit the bill here?

I warmed to Kearney once he was appointed but it hasn't worked out. The man's not up to it. We can't waste another year, with a poorer squad. Next year I can see us losing consistently, like this year, but we could cop real hidings as well.

Thankfully, that didn't happen in 2017, yet.

Maguire's gonna be shown the door at Souths, surely? Would he fit the bill here?

I warmed to Kearney once he was appointed but it hasn't worked out. The man's not up to it. We can't waste another year, with a poorer squad. Next year I can see us losing consistently, like this year, but we could cop real hidings as well.

Thankfully, that didn't happen in 2017, yet.

We can't sack Kearney for an unproven coach, that is for sure.
A NRL premership winning coach is a requirement if he is to be sacked. We can use the excuse of someone of this caliber knocking at our door, we couldn't refuse.

Problem is Kearney is setting up his Kiwi born based squad, for someone to walk into and fix.

WellsNZ

Um, what?

I don't agree about the roster. This roster is really not all that flash, particularly with that forward pack they're a fringe eight team, I definitely don't think they'd be some playoff certainty under another coach.

I had them outside the eight before the season started for this very reason. There's at least 10 rosters I would take in the NRL over the Warriors.

Kearney seems dopey as f**k, but the coaching carousel keeps putting a bandaid over this issue. The roster keeps getting excused because the coaches keep getting the blame. This roster has one of the worst forward packs in the comp, heading into next year with the Tigers and Knights bolstered I might even go so far as to say the worst.

I can't be bothered thinking about it too in depth right now, but I really can't think of a forward pack I wouldn't take over the Warriors group for next year.