Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gallen's post game speech

Joker's Wild

You can't have it both ways fella.

On the one hand you berate Queensland supporters for showing their displeasure at the ongoing and ridiculously unsporting behaviour of an opposing captain. Using your example of setting an example for your child was faux-righteousness in the extreme. It doesn't hide your hypocrisy I'm afraid.

Because on the other you see justification in the way Gallen treats the officials. No matter how frustrated a man gets, he's no right to carry on towards referees in the fashion he does. I hope your child doesn't get the lesson of respecting officialdom from your state captain.

At any rate, the 'frustration' line is difficult to swallow. It is evident that Gallen's antics were a premeditated strategy anyhow, a ploy to put as much influence on the refs as possible. This makes the behaviour even more abhorrent and galling.

So we'll continue to boo him, and I'll take great delight in knowing that my children and yours are seeing a poor sport receive such treatment, deserving as it is.

Oh FFS mate, are you deliberately twisting my words or am I not making myself clear enough? Its tough to tell.

Let me break it down:
- I hate bad sportsmanship of any kind, from any source. Full stop
- Gallen carried on too much and needed to let it go. He was wrong in doing this and is rightly critisised for it
- Do I feel the mans frustration at wanting to win for his state but not being able to? God yes and while not an excuse for his on field behavior, it certainly is a contributer.
- RL players have 100x the guts and ability of us mortals and its high arrogance to think we have any right to take it on ourselves to disrespect them by booing them after a match. Before and during is all fair game but after a result, its just shitty character.

I hope your kids look to the Qld players to see how supposed "bad sports" should be treated. Winning is the best revenge and showing class sets you above the pack mentality. As much as I hate Cam Smith he showed how a true champion wins, not by disrespecting the opposition but by putting himself above the self indulgent bullshit.

Joely01

Love it. Yep that's right, all you need to do is get a fair share of the ref calls and NSW will win. Keep believing that and don't change a thing about your selection policy or game plan :lol:

:lol: When we stuck to the game plan we had you guys covered, but then ofcourse the refs would come to save the day for QLD and find a way to give a penalty to get you out of trouble. The whole series our game plan when stuck to has worked, we dont need to change it at all.

Hutty1986

I did like the respect shown between Gal & Smith after the game.. just two warriors after one f**king hell of a battle out there

Frank_Grimes

:lol: When we stuck to the game plan we had you guys covered, but then ofcourse the refs would come to save the day for QLD and find a way to give a penalty to get you out of trouble. The whole series our game plan when stuck to has worked, we dont need to change it at all.

Bitter bitter tears. Nut up and admit your team wasn't good enough.

Springs

If he's sooking to the ref constantly and whinging about calls (which he did to the media last year repeatedly) do you expect the opposition to give him a round of applause?

Don't expect him to get booed while he's giving a speech. Cameron Smith and Darren Lockyer only ever praised NSW efforts, why can't the Queensland crowd have the same respect? It's poor character for any crowd to boo the players after a match.

Frank_Grimes

Don't expect him to get booed while he's giving a speech. Cameron Smith and Darren Lockyer only ever praised NSW efforts, why can't the Queensland crowd have the same respect? It's poor character for any crowd to boo the players after a match.

Do you honestly think it has only ever happened in Brisbane?

Desert Qlder

- Gallen carried on too much and needed to let it go. He was wrong in doing this and is rightly critisised for it

You are all twisted up fella. I'm reading your posts alright but your arguments seemed to bend like a reed in the wind.

Not once in your previous efforts have you made this point, yet suddenly it is all you believe. What the forum was getting from you is that Gallen's behaviour is justified, be it because he is trying to win for his team or he is just a bad sport. Of course, my point about it being a premeditated plan was lost on you.

As to booing after a game, some like it, some don't. My personal feeling is that it is an acceptable part of the discourse between player and fan. It is a collective showing of dislike for an opponent. It is hard to temper this in Origin because we are bred as fans to maintain ultimate rage for the opponent. Not just before or during the contest, but year round. To expect it to not happen is just playing with yourself.

Now you may not agree with my stance on that but I'm bloody well consistent about. You roaches can boo Queenslanders in Sydney until you're hoarse for all I care, and you won't here a word of complaint from me.

Didgi

It's ok. Karma always comes back to visit Brent for being an utter merkin.

The spinal problems, the knee blow outs. He is about due for another season ending injury.

Always been an amazing playing talent but always been a merkin

:lol::lol: As I asked in the other thread, what's Tate's long history of grubbiness? Pointing his chin angrily at a few blokes?

Stay classy NSW fans.

Except 30 years of whinging because Wally once got booed in Sydney........:roll:

Good call re Smith though. He and Myles delivered gracious words. Light years better than your puppet coach BTW.

Desert Qlder

Except 30 years of whinging because Wally once got booed in Sydney........:roll:

Very different. He was your skipper that day and you still booed him.

Any wonder we roll our eyes when a roach starts to pontificate about good sportsmanship.

Joker's Wild

You are all twisted up fella. I'm reading your posts alright but your arguments seemed to bend like a reed in the wind.

Not once in your previous efforts have you made this point, yet suddenly it is all you believe. What the forum was getting from you is that Gallen's behaviour is justified, be it because he is trying to win for his team or he is just a bad sport. Of course, my point about it being a premeditated plan was lost on you.

Which is precisely why I clarified it in my last post mate. I didnt think I was justifying anything Gal did, just expressing my sympathy for the mans frustrations. You were the one who inferred the connection and got the wrong impression.

It wasnt lost on me mate. Fact is you cant be sure it was predetermined, that's just your opinion, one that I dont happen to share btw.

do we have any more misunderstandings here or are we ready to move on?

Karl

I don't understand why the refs don't just penalise them or walk them another 10 f0r dissent.

firechild

I don't understand why the refs don't just penalise them or walk them another 10 f0r dissent.

Because whinging to a ref is not necessarily dissent. Go look at the link posted further up the page. The ref didn't even penalise Thurston for dissent despite the number of expletives in his rant.

Frank_Grimes

No, when did I ever say it has? In fact in that same post I said it's poor character for any crowd to boo a player after a match.

No worries. Feel free to quote some of the criticisms you've made about NSW crowds having a lack of respect

Cheers.