Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Graham, give this team an all black jersey each !!

ozbash

What a weekend ! the mighty mooloo men teach the wellingtonians (and ma'a) the rudiments of rugby,,,,

the mighty, mighty steamers give it to the lowly maggies

and of course, my new fav team :D , harbour, absolutely cream the cantabs and take the shield off them for good measure.

those over rated has beens, the aucks, tried to impress everyone by downing an understrength otago side but we know better than to be sucked in by the pretenders.

after this weekend graham henry must be sending some jerseys off to the sign writers,,, kieth robinsons name must be on top of the list closely followed by rua.

SpaceMonkey

Good to see Robinson back in business, always raqted the bloke. Did Jonah get a decent run with Harbour and if so how did he go?

he went well for an total time of zero minutes.

now wants a cool half million dollars and a super 14 contract.

Jonah wants $500,000 to sign up
24 September 2006
By DAVID LONG

Jonah Lomu's dream to play for the All Blacks again is still alive.

But Sunday News understands he is demanding $500,000 to re-sign with the NZRU for 2007.

Lomu has played four games for North Harbour this season and says he is still confident of playing for the All Blacks.

During his battle with a crippling kidney disease, daily blood transfusions that left him barely able to walk and a string of injuries, it was the possibility of playing in the black No 11 jersey again that kept him going.

In an exclusive interview with Sunday News Lomu says he's still striving towards a return to the All Blacks.

"You've got to have goals like that," Lomu said. "It doesn't matter how far it is, or if it's reachable or not, you've got to have goals and dreams.

"That's where it all starts from and from there you know in which direction you need to go."

But Sunday News has been told Lomu's manager/wife Fiona met with NZRU bosses two weeks ago to inquire about Lomu's chances of a Super 14 contract.

And a source said last night Fiona has said it will cost the NZRU a cool half a million dollars to keep him in New Zealand.

"The only way that will happen is if (the NZRU) can secure some other corporate deals for Lomu," the source said.

Lomu, 31, spoke about the injury setbacks he's had since recovering from the kidney transplant in August 2004.

"It's frustrating because it becomes stop-start and I go back to zero, get myself right then have to start all over again," he said.

"Things were starting to come right (at Cardiff) and then I broke my ankle, I came back a little bit early. That's when I played the club game.

"Now I'm pretty confident about having a go. I was a bit hesitant at first in terms of going into contact, but now it's basically knuckle down and get into the job."

Lomu's first two appearances for Harbour were 20-minute stints off the bench but things stepped up a notch when he started against Manawatu two weeks ago.

Although he failed to score, he was a constant threat to the Turbos' defence and often found two defenders covering him.

He also showed he was now physically up to playing for 80 minutes.

"It was good to get that under the belt," Lomu said. "I need to keep pushing where I need to be and where I want to get to. Now I've just got to knuckle down and keep pushing these two young guys (Viliame Waqaseduadua and Rudi Wulf).

"My No 1 priority at the moment is to hook into it and put these two boys under a bit of heat."

from stuff.co.nz

ozbash

jonah should be in the world cup squad i reckon, the 1/2 mill would be a good investment just for getting bums on seats in france.

and, he has earnt a spot in the squad.

ozbash

you are not right.

what harm would it cause naming jonah in the squad and giving him a run in a few of the group games ?

poor bugger has nearly lost his life, fought back and is now playing rep footy once again. he even put conditions on where his new kidney should be placed so it wouldnt be damaged in a tackle. all in the name of retaining his beloved number 11 black jersey.

he,s earnt it more than any other player i can think of.

Sanchez

sorry mate totally disagree. off field issues have no influence what so ever in sporting selections no matter how sad it is

Scott

Until Jonah strings some games together for Harbour then he shouldn;t even get a Super 14 contract. Having him in the World cup squad is laughable.

He has done so well to get this far, but he still needs to keep improving.

Scott

Keith Robinson - yes. If he plays well for the remainder of the AirNZ Cup, then put him on the plane to Europe at the end of the year.

Rua Tipoki - No. Very very good player. Not an All Black though. Same as Sione Lauaki. Just my opinion though.

Iafeta

Yep, Jonah going to the Cup as a marketing tool for the Frogs is a joke. Shouldn't be considered anything other. He should only get there on form. Nothing more, nothing less. The second the All Blacks give out charity guernsey's in that vain is the second the mana of the All Blacks is over, as well as any chance they have at the Cup.

He shouldn't get in ahead of a well performed player like Sivivatu or Rico Gear or even Doug Howlett who still knows his way to the T R Y line. You earn your stripes, he's got a lot of work to do.

ozbash

well it may be a joke but its a joke the nzrfu have played before.
jonah was signed up with the nzrfu as an ambassador while he was unable to play due to his illness. charity ? maybe but the nzrfu can also see the value of jonah's profile in a marketing sense. he is the biggest name in rugby union, bar none and his presence would do more for the all black "mana" than his non appearance.

sivi,, yea. rico and handbag , you must be joking.

Sanchez

other way round oz. howlett and rico yes, sivi ha all he can do is dive over the line he doesnt do anything else

Iafeta

I conceed. Definitely, we need blokes in there on name value only. That'll add to the mana of the jersey.

Given that, Graham Henry has the pleasure of announcing the starting 15 for the next test match

15 Don Clarke
14 John Kirwan
13 George Nepia
12 Joe Stanley
11 Jonah Lomu
10 Grant Fox
9 David Kirk
8 Zinzan Brooke
7 Michael Jones
6 Brian Lochore
5 Kel Tremain
4 Colin Meads
3 Olo Brown
2 Sean Fitzpatrick (captain)
1 Wilson Whineray

Certainly no joke factor in that. Their name all has that mana attached to it, so they should be gifted jerseys straight off the bat.

Testify. Amen. Praise the lord.

I concur sanchez, Sivi is great with ball in hand going forward, he's got some defensive deficiences though that are far more pronounced than Howlett or Gear. But as long as he scores the pretty tries, it'll be ok for those who only watch the game when the ball is spun through the hands (I.E., 4 seconds of an 80 minute game in between scrums, line outs, time out for cramp to the loosehead prop after 14 seconds, and kicking backwards and forth like aerial ping pong).

SpaceMonkey

ozbash said:
well it may be a joke but its a joke the nzrfu have played before.
jonah was signed up with the nzrfu as an ambassador while he was unable to play due to his illness. charity ? maybe but the nzrfu can also see the value of jonah's profile in a marketing sense. he is the biggest name in rugby union, bar none and his presence would do more for the all black "mana" than his non appearance.

sivi,, yea. rico and handbag , you must be joking.

Sending him as an ambassador is one thing, giving him a jersey is another.